Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Illinois library has nearly 10,000 comics and graphic novels in its collection. About 4,000 of those are from countries other than the U.S., with about 1400 English titles. The word cloud to the right highlights some of the most common subject terms for international comics in the catalog. Illinois has a particularly rich collection of South Asian comics, with over 1600 titles. Visit the South Asian Comic Collection LibGuide to learn more.
Use the map below to explore the international comics collection. To browse comics in the catalog, do an advanced subject search for “comic books, strips, etc.” OR “graphic novels,” then use the links at the right of the page to filter by country, language, genre, and subject.
Doing research? In addition to the resources listed below, the Library has several international bibliographies of comics and comics scholarship. The comics tabs in the area studies sections above highlight resources and comics from those areas.
Use these terms in subject searches in the library catalog or databases, plus the country, language, or region you're interested in:
- Graphic novels
- Graphic fiction
- Graphic nonfiction
- Comic books, strips, etc.
- Comic book novels
- Caricatures and cartoons
Journals and Web Sites
Underground and Independent Comics Volume I, II
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books, comix, and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
International Journal of Comic Art
International and multidisciplinary in scope, IJOCA aims to publish scholarly and readable research on any aspect of comic art, defined as animation, comic books, newspaper and magazine strips, caricature, gag and political cartoons, humorous art, and humor or cartoon magazines.
Comiclopedia (web resource)
A compendium of over 13,000 comics artists and authors, maintained by the international comics store Lambiek, located in Amsterdam.
Comics As a Nexus of Cultures Essays examine how comic books and graphic narratives affect various media, merging youth and adult cultures and popular and high art. Articles feature perspectives on comics and graphic novels published in the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Portugal, Germany, Turkey, India, and Japan. Topics range from film adaptation, to journalism in comics, to the current manga boom.
Call Number: 741.59 C7351
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
The Essential Guide to World Comics by Arranged geographically, this book assesses the medium in every major area of the world, discussing the history of the genre, the comics and characters, the publishers, creators and artists. Regions covered include the UK and United States, central Europe (France, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Italy), Eastern Europe, Scandinavia, Japan and Asia, Africa, India, Central and South America, and Australasia. Including key feature spreads and a wealth of colour images - many of them unseen - this book is the first of its kind to provide a global picture of an often-underrated art form.
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Comics by Comics, manga, bandes dessinées, fumetti, tebeo, historietas... no matter the name, they have been a powerful medium across four continents for decades. This is the history of comics around the world from the late 1960s to the dawn of the 21st century. An unprecedented collection includes around 260 expertly chosen illustrations, many reproduced in full-page format for more sophisticated analysis.
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
Visions of the Future in Comics by This collection of new essays explores the creative processes in comics production that bring plausible futures to the page. The contributors investigate portrayals in different stylistic traditions--manga, bande desinees--from a variety of theoretical perspectives.
Publication Date: 2017-07-14
Map created by Sarah Sahn for IS590DH, Digital Humanities, in Spring 2018, using data from the University of Illinois Library catalog and open source software. The data was cleaned and visualized using OpenRefine. The data visualizations were created in Tableau Public. The word cloud was created using Voyant.