It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
In addition to searching by country and language (which will get you the most specific resources), you can try these geographic terms to narrow your subject searches in the catalog. Add these terms after your seach terms (e.g., Popular Culture - Middle East)
Pop Culture in North Africa and the Middle East by Andrew HammondIdeal for students and general readers, this single-volume work serves as a ready-reference guide to pop culture in countries in North Africa and the Middle East, covering subjects ranging from the latest young adult book craze in Egypt to the hottest movies in Saudi Arabia.
Publication Date: 2017-05-22
Resistance in Contemporary Middle Eastern Cultures by Karima Laachir (Editor); Saeed Talajooy (Editor)This study highlights the connections between power, cultural products, resistance, and the artistic strategies through which that resistance is voiced in the Middle East. Exploring cultural displays of dissent in the form of literary works, films, and music, the collection uses the concept of 'cultural resistance' to describe the way culture and cultural creations are used to resist or even change the dominant political, social, economic, and cultural discourses and structures either consciously or unconsciously.
Ana Lily Amirpour's 2014 A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night is "the first Iranian Vampire Western," and was featured in the "Next" program at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival. Critics have lauded the film's genre-bending sensibilities and fresh take on the trope of the vampire love story. Stream the whole film for free on Kanopy (University of Illinois login required), and explore other feature films and documentaries from the Middle East and North Africa.
Films and Research Resources in the Library:
To find films in the Library catalog, do a subject search for feature films + country. The countries most represented in the library collection include Iran, Israel, Algeria, Egypt, and Turkey.
The Cinema of North Africa and the Middle East contains twenty-four essays, each concerning an individual film from Morocco all the way to Iran. The volume explores not only the established film cultures of Turkey, Egypt, and Israel, but also the nascent cinemas of Palestine and Syria. Selected films include Cairo Station (Egypt, 1958), The Runner (Iran, 1989), Once Upon a Time, Beriut (Lebanon, 1994), Ten (Iran, 2002), and Uzak (Turkey, 2003).
Iranian Cinema and Globalization seeks to broaden readers' exposure to other dimensions of Iranian cinema, including the works of the many prolific filmmakers whose films have received little outside attention despite being widely popular within Iran. Combining theories of globalization and national cinema with in-depth, interdisciplinary analyses of individual films, this volume expands the current literature on Iranian cinema with insights into the social, and religious political contexts involved.
This one volume work illuminates a variety of cinema which is little known outside its own area. Each chapter covers the history and major issues of film within that area, as well as providing bibliographies of the leading films, directors and actors. The areas covered are: Central Asia; Egypt; Iran; Israel; Lebanon; Syria; Iraq; Kuwait; Libya; The Magreb; Palestine; and Turkey.
Includes film clips and previews, information about film festivals, classes, and youth programs in Qatar.
Hip hop has had a strong influence in the Middle East and North Africa, with the art form influencing social movements across the Arab world. The short film Hip Hop and the Tunisian Revolution, below, explores how Tunisian musicians have used the genre as a way to protest the government and spread their message.
Palestinian rappers are highlighted in the documentary feature Slingshot Hip Hop. Watch the trailer below, and check out the DVD from the library.
Learn more about popular music in the Middle East and North Africa:
Journalist and lifelong heavy metal fan Orlando Crowcroft spent six years penetrating the rock and metal scene in the Middle East, reporting on it and interviewing bands for Rolling Stone, Esquire, and the Atlantic. In Rock in a Hard Place, we meet young men and women making music in the back rooms of shabby houses in al-Zarqa and al-Qatif, Nazareth and Cairo. Alongside Crowcroft, we rock out at illegal shows in Tehran and Riyadh, and we listen to the songs that helped oust a dictator in Cairo. With this book, Crowcroft offers a different voice, one that is at odds with the view of the Middle East mired in violence, extremism, and war.
This provocative volume features sixteen new essays examining these issues, especially televised music and the controversial new genre of the music video. Authors address the key issues of contemporary Arab society - gender and sexuality, Islam, class, economy, power, and nation - as refracted through the culture of mediated music. Interconnected by a web of recurrent concepts, this collection transcends music to become an important resource for the study of contemporary Arab society and culture.
Throughout centuries of European colonial domination, the bodies of Middle Eastern dancers, male and female, move sumptuously and seductively across the pages of Western travel journals, evoking desire and derision, admiration and disdain, allure and revulsion. This profound ambivalence forms the axis of an investigation into Middle Eastern dance--an investigation that extends to contemporary belly dance. Stavros Stavrou Karayanni, through historical investigation, theoretical analysis, and personal reflection, explores how Middle Eastern dance actively engages race, sex, and national identity.
Stream underground music from the Middle East and North Africa in your browser or with desktop and mobile apps (available for iOS and Android). The mission of this site is "to bridge barriers of faith and geography to unite people committed to fostering constructive discourse in the region through music."
Includes information about classical and contemporary Arab music, music and Islam, dance, and a series of articles about different popular music genres in the Arab world.
The 2008 documentary Zanzibar Soccer Queens follows a group of women in the Muslim nation who fight restrictive gender norms to play soccer. Check out the trailer below and then watch the whole film, available to stream via Alexander Street Press (link goes to the Library catalog).
Shifting Sands: Essays on Sports and Politics in the Middle East and North Africa is a compilation of essays that constitute a first stab at exploring the importance of sports in general and soccer in particular in the political, social and cultural development of the Middle East and North Africa since the beginning of the 20th century. In doing so, the book provides a new, fresh and unique perspective that contributes to understanding the turbulence sweeping the region that is fundamentally changing its geopolitics and political and social structures.
The book presents an overview of current research into constructs of gender, the role of religion and the importance of situation, and looks closely at what Islam has to say about women's participation in sport and what Muslim women themselves have to say about their participation in sport. It highlights the challenges and opportunities for women in sport in both Muslim and non-Muslim countries, utilizing a series of extensive case-studies in various countries which invite the readers to conduct cross-cultural comparisons.
James M. Dorsey introduces the reader to the world of Middle Eastern and North African football - an arena where struggles for political control, protest and resistance, self-respect and gender rights are played out. Politics was the midwife of soccer in the region, with many clubs beingformed as pro- or anti-colonial platforms and engines of national identity and social justice. Football fans and players are shown to be a major political force.
This text tells the story of Marjane Satrapi's life in Tehran from six to 14, years that saw the overthrow of the Shah's regime, the triumph of the Islamic Revolution & the devastating effects of war with Iraq. Satrapi paints a portrait of daily life in Iran & of the bewildering contradictions between home life & public life.
The Arab of the Future, the #1 French best-seller, tells the unforgettable story of Riad Sattouf's childhood, spent in the shadows of 3 dictators--Muammar Gaddafi, Hafez al-Assad, and his father. In striking, virtuoso graphic style that captures both the immediacy of childhood and the fervor of political idealism, Riad Sattouf recounts his nomadic childhood growing up in rural France, Gaddafi's Libya, and Assad's Syria--but always under the roof of his father, a Syrian Pan-Arabist who drags his family along in his pursuit of grandiose dreams for the Arab nation.
When Shehab, a young software designer, runs afoul of a loan shark, all avenues of escape in Mubarak's corrupt, chaotic Egypt seem to be closed to him. A powerful businessman offers assistance, but the next day Shehab sees him being stabbed in an alley--and the man's dying words suggest a conspiracy extending to the upper reaches of the regime. Angry and broke, Shehab enlists his friend Mustafa in a bank heist--and falls into a vortex of financial and political corruption.
Street Art and Revolution in the Middle East
This interview with Christane Gruber, Associate Professor of Islamic Art and Visual Culture at the University of Michigan and curator of "Creative Dissent," an exhibit that put street art on display at the Arab American National Museum in Dearborn, Michigan in 2013, and Nazeer, an Egyptian street artist whose work was featured in the show, explores the political and creative dimensions of street art. Click on the title above to access a transcript and see a slide show of art from the exhibit.
Comprehensive resource with links to sources on the Arab Spring in the Illinois Library.
Revolution Graffiti by Mia GröndahlThe Egyptian Revolution that began on 25 January 2011 immediately gave rise to a wave of popular political and social expression in the form of graffiti and street art, phenomena that were almost unknown in the country under the old regime. From the simplest hand-written messages, through stencils and martyr portraits, to the elaborate murals of Mohamed Mahmoud Street, the messages on the walls are presented in themed sections - Revolution and Freedom, Egyptian and Proud, Cross and Crescent, Martyrs and Heroes - punctuated by interviews with some of the individual artists whose work has broken fresh ground.
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
Political Graffiti on the West Bank Wall in Israel/Palestine by Steven T. OlbergCatalogues images of graffiti in Israel and Palestinian territories. Based on field research conducted by the author in 2008, this book consists of a careful examination of graffiti written on both the Palestinian and Israeli sides of the Israel-built separation wall; and interviews with college students on both sides about the graffiti.