Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

IDEALS: Finding Materials

This guide has information on how to deposit and access IDEALS materials for individuals and collection administrators.

Logging In

For student, staff, or faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign:

You can log into IDEALS using just your NetID and password. This provides you access to any items restricted to users from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. You can subscribe to email alerts for specific collections at My Profile, where you can also edit your personal information.

Undergraduate student work may be submitted through the sponsorship of a faculty member as long as it meets the General Deposit Guidelines and Collection Policy.

 

If you are not a student, staff, or faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign:

Anyone can register with IDEALS! Once logged in, you will be able to subscribe to email alerts for specific collections at My Profile and edit your personal information there. If you have permission to view content restricted to a particular community or collection, logging in will give you access to that content.

Structure of IDEALS

IDEALS content is organized around communities which generally correspond to scholarly or research units such as schools, departments, labs and research centers. Communities can be organized into sub-communities, often used for narrower research units, or collections. A collection can contain deposited items. A full list of communities, subcommunities, and collections is available to browse.

IDEALS allows scholarly or research units to manage their own communities; for more information on this, visit the "IDEALS Administrators" tab.

Collections and Communities Screenshot

Finding Content

You can browse content in IDEALS by title, author, contributor, subject, and date. All of these options are available on the left navigation bar. Within a community or collection, you can browse using the options in the second left navigation bar and on the right side of the screen.

To search all of IDEALS, use the search bar at the top right corner of the page. This will search all metadata fields and the full text of any item that can be indexed by the software (most pdfs, powerpoint documents, word documents, plain text documents, etc.).

To limit your search to a specific community or collectionnavigate to that community or collection and select "This Community/This Collection" by the search bar in the top right corner of the page.

For more information, including "Search Hints," please visit the IDEALS Wiki page.

 

Permissions

Unless otherwise indicated, you do not have to ask permission to use IDEALS materials for your own scholarship and/or non-commercial work due to fair use. If you would like to use materials for commercial work, please contact the author. The IDEALS team does not retain the contact information of the author, nor do we give permission on behalf of the author.