Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements.
Japan is prone to several natural disasters and it is important to be prepared. Visit Japan's Emergency Procedure Guide to know what to do in the case of a natural disaster. The guide is available in English and outlines emergency procedures for Japan's most common natural disasters:
- Earthquakes: Japan is one of the most earthquake-prone countries in the world. Be sure to be aware of the nearest evacuation shelter and route. Cooperate with local authorities.
- Typhoons: Japan goes through seasons of heavy rains, especially between June-July and September-October. During a typhoon, avoid going outside and pay close attention to weather reports.
- Heavy Snow: Japan can experience heavy snow accumulation between December and March, especially in the Ishikawa and Hokuriku regions. Avoid driving when possible and carry a shovel with you when you do drive.
The Japan Meteorological Agency provides an English website that has the most up-to-date natural disaster advisories.
Finding More Resources in the Library Catalog
To find more information about the educational system of Japan, try these tips for searching the library catalog to find books, magazines or journals, DVDs, and many other resources:
- Start with our local online library catalog to search the 14 million volumes we have on this campus.
- In addition to these resources, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois using the I-Share catalog and request books be sent to you.
Here are some keywords that may be useful in your search:
- Education -- Japan
- Education, higher -- Japan
- Education -- curricula
- Curriculum planning
- Curriculum evaluation
Japan Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
The Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology is Japan's Ministry of Education. Their website provides many useful resources. The website can easily be viewed in English by choosing "English" on the top of the page.
Learn about the policies that guide the Japanese educational system, as well as the infrastructure of the school system. Detailed descriptions of each level of schooling is also provided. You can also learn more about the history of Japan's modern educational system here
View a variety of different statistics, including number of schools, students, and teachers, as well as enrollment and advancement rate and percentage of new graduates entering employment.
Peruse an assortment of resources for higher education topics, including reports on higher education policies. View a pamphlet
that breaks down higher education systems, statistics, and policies.
Visit Japan Student Services Organizations to find resources specifically for international students studying in Japan. An English guidebook
provides important information about the Japanese Educational System, living costs and prices, immigration procedures, employment, statistics, and more for prospective international students.
Background Information on Education System
For a brief overview of Japan's educational system and related topics, try these articles available through the library's collections. The first article is available in print in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library's reference collection, and the second is available online.
- Ness, D., & Lin, C. (2013). “Japan.” In Daniel Ness and Chia-ling Lin (Eds.), International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems, Volume 2 (424-431). Armonk, New York: M.E. Sharpe.
- Tsuneyoshi, R. (2010). "Cultural Diversification and Japanese Education: Social Constructions of the New Diversity." In Penelope Peterson, Eva Baker, and Barry McGaw (Eds.), International Encyclopedia of Education (782-792). Oxford: Elsevier
These reports available from the UNESCO and the CIA also provide useful background information about Ecuador and its educational system:
- World Data on Education: Seventh Edition 2010-2011
This publication from UNESCO's International Bureau of Education provides detailed information on the education systems of 163 countries worldwide, with an emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.
- CIA World FactBook: Japan
For more general information about the country of Japan, try the CIA World Factbook. This resource provides information about the geography of the country, including natural hazards. Some educational information is included underneath the "People and Society" section.
The following books from the library's collection may provide further useful information:
For information about cultural norms and traveling in Japan, try these resources:
To find more resources in the library catalog, try searching using the following keywords:
- Japan -- social life and customs
- Japan -- guidebooks
- Etiquette -- Japan
- Visitors, Foreign -- Japan
- Immigrants -- Japan -- Life skills guides
- Intercultural communication