Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Map of Singapore
The U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements.
Singapore National Institute of Education
The National Institute of Education is affiliated with the Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. Scholars can access education-related training resources and publications through their research page. Resources include articles from journals and research bulletins such as the Asia Pacific Journal of Education, Learning: Research and Practice, ReEd (Research in Education), and the NIE Working Paper Series.
LIBRIS Library and Information Services Centre
Established in 1950 as a Teachers' Training College library and located at Nanyang Technological University, the Library and Information Services Centre (LIBRIS) is the largest education library in Singapore. Researchers can search the library's entire collection of resources through the main search interface. Note that due to licensing restrictions, students who are not affiliated with the Nanyang Technological University may not be able to access the databases, e-books, and e-journals in this search interface. However, the NIE Digital Repository contains many open access materials that may be useful in your research.
Natural Disasters and School Emergency Drills
Information about school emergency drills such as fire drills or drills for other natural disasters may not be available online. However, another way to be prepared is to be aware of some of the common natural disasters that occur in the region to which you will be traveling.
That being said, Singapore is well-known for not having many natural disasters. It is not near any major fault lines, and so does not have earthquakes or volcanoes. Additionally, it is protected from tsunamis by other land masses in Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines.
However, Singapore does receive quite a bit of rain during the wet season (from September through February) and flooding may be possible in some areas.
Finding More Resources in the Library Catalog
To find more background information about the educational system of Singapore, try these tips for searching the library catalog:
- Start with our local online library catalog to search the 14 million volumes we have on this campus.
- In addition to these resources, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois using the I-Share catalog and request books be sent to you.
Here are some keywords that may be useful in your search:
- Education -- Singapore
- Education -- Asia
- Education, higher -- Singapore
- Education, primary -- Singapore
- General education -- Singapore
- Teacher-student relationships -- Singapore
- Education -- curricula
- Curriculum planning
- Curriculum evaluation
Singapore Ministry of Education
The Singapore Ministry of Education is a governmental website available in English that provides information about the country's educational system and curriculum standards.
- Education: This part of the website gives an overview of the educational system, including outlining developmental outcomes for each stage of the educational system.
- Education System: This webpage provides a brief overview and infographic outlining the stages of Singapore's educational system, and is a good place to start to get a basic overview of the structure of the educational system.
- Syllabuses: This section of the Ministry website provides links to the syllabuses or curriculums for various subject areas.
Background Information on Education System
For a brief overview of Singapore's educational system and related topics, try this article available from the library's online collection:
Publications from UNESCO and the CIA may also provide useful background information:
- World Data on Education: Seventh Edition 2010-2011: This publication from UNESCO's International Bureau of Education provides detailed information on the education systems of 163 countries worldwide, with an emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.
- CIA World Factbook: Singapore: For more general information about the country of Singapore, try the CIA World Factbook. This resource provides information about the geography of the country, including natural hazards. Some educational information is included underneath the "People and Society" section.
Try looking at the following library resources for further information:
For information about cultural norms in Singapore, try these resources:
To find more resources in the library catalog, try searching using the following keywords:
- Etiquette -- Singapore
- Etiquette -- Asia
- Etiquette -- Southeast Asia
- Culture shock -- Singapore
- Singapore -- social life and customs
- Asia -- social life and customs
- Intercultural communication
General Asia-Pacific Education Journals
There are many journals focused on various aspects of education in the Asia-Pacific region. The following journals are available online through the library's website and can be searched for relevant articles:
The Asia-Pacific Education Researcher
The Asia-Pacific Education Researcher (TAPER) is an international journal of original research presenting empirical and theoretical studies in education, with an emphasis on successful educational systems in the Asia-Pacific region and the national educational systems in the region that up to now have been underrepresented in the research literature. Available from 2013 online.
Asia-Pacific Education Review
The Asia Pacific Education Review (APER) covers all areas of educational research, with a focus on cross-cultural and comparative studies in a broad Asian-Pacific context. It aims to stimulate research, encourage academic exchange, and enhance the professional development of scholars and other researchers who are interested in educational and cultural issues in the Asia-Pacific region. Available from 2000 online.
Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education
This journal promotes rigorous research that makes a significant contribution to advancing knowledge in teacher education across early childhood, primary, secondary, vocational, and higher education. Available from 1996 online. Most recent 18 months not available.
Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative Education
The Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative Education publishes peer-reviewed original research, topical issues, and best practice articles from throughout the world that deal with Cooperative Education (Co-Op) and Work Integrated Learning/Education (WIL). Available from 2000 online.