Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Map of Hong Kong
The U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements.
Dictionaries and Translation Tools
It is useful to have access to a good dictionary or translation tool when traveling in a country where you do not speak the native language. Check out the resources below, recommended by an American student who taught in rural China:
- Pleco: This Chinese dictionary app is available for both iOS and Android. The basic version of the app can be downloaded for free, with in-app upgrades available for purchase.
- Microsoft Translator: This translator app is available for both iOS and Android and supports both simplified and traditional Chinese.
- Baidu Translate: This easy-to-use translator website supports classic, simplified, and traditional Chinese.
Natural Disasters and School Emergency Drills
Information about school emergency drills such as fire drills or drills for other natural disasters may not be available online. However, according to an American student teaching abroad in rural China, her school has evacuation procedures for fires that are reviewed at least once per term, and occasionally the local fire department is brought in to do demonstrations, similar to many U.S. schools.
Another way to be prepared is to be aware of some of the other common natural disasters that may occur in Hong Kong aside from standard school fire drills:
- Typhoons: Typhoon season runs from April through October. These storms may cause flooding and landslides.
Finding More Resources in the Library Catalog
To find more background information about the educational system of Hong Kong, try these tips for searching the library catalog:
- Start with our local online library catalog to search the 14 million volumes we have on this campus.
- In addition to these resources, you can connect to over 70 other libraries in Illinois using the I-Share catalog and request books be sent to you.
Here are some keywords that may be useful in your search:
- Education -- China -- Hong Kong
- Education -- Asia
- Education, higher -- China -- Hong Kong
- Education, primary -- China -- Hong Kong
- General education -- China -- Hong Kong
- Teacher-student relationships -- China -- Hong Kong
- Education -- curricula
- Curriculum planning
- Curriculum evaluation
Hong Kong Education Bureau
The Hong Kong Education Bureau is the official government body overseeing educational matters in Hong Kong. Their website, which is available in English, features an extensive collection of resources and information. Particularly relevant sections of the website are highlighted below, but there may be useful other information found elsewhere on the site.
About the Education Bureau
This page compiles general information about the Hong Kong Educational Bureau and is a good place to start to get a general overview of the education system.
Education System and Policy
This page contains links to information about the Hong Kong education system, and is another good starting point for getting an overview of the education system.
Figures and Statistics
This page compiles statistics on kindergarten, primary, secondary, and special education, as well as general information on education in Hong Kong.
This page contains links to the Report on the Fourth Strategy on Information Technology in Education (August 2015) and the Report of the Task Force to Review Learning and Teaching Materials (December 2011), both of which are available in English.
Student and Parent Information
While this section of the website is mainly directed at students and parents, it contains some information on safety matters and crisis management that may be useful to review.
Background Information on Education System
There are many library resources that provide background information on educational issues in Hong Kong. Try these articles available through the library's collections. The first article is available in print in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library's reference collection, and the second is available online.
- Wong, Rose, Mian Wang, and Hsiu-Zu Ho. (2013). “China, People's Republic of.” In Daniel Ness and Chia-ling Lin (Eds.), International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems, Volume 2 (398-407). Armonk, New York: M.E. Sharpe.
- Lau, T. C., T. K. Tse, and Y. W. Leung (2016). "Dynamics of Chinese Nationalistic Education in Hong Kong from 1945 to 2012." Oxford Review Of Education, 42(6), 677-691.
This article provides information about how national values are conveyed through China's education system. For similar articles, try searching keywords and phrases such as Study & teaching of nationalism, Cultural education, and Chinese national characteristics.
Online publications from the OECD and UNESCO may also provide useful information:
China - Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for information on the state of education around the world. This link to the 2019 edition of this resource allows you to access both the entire resource as well as the specific chapter containing information about education in China.
World Data on Education: Seventh Edition 2010-2011
This publication from UNESCO's International Bureau of Education provides detailed information on the education systems of 163 countries worldwide, with an emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.
Try looking at the following library resources for further information:
In the Classroom: Teaching Tips
Before you leave, review these teaching tips from a student who is teaching English in China. Her teaching experience is in a rural school, which may have a different environment than Hong Kong, but there still may be some similarities:
- Students tend to be very eager and willing to participate in classroom activities. Any resistance to participating usually comes from being shy or not fully understanding what is being asked of them. Take time to really explain activities, providing examples of what you are asking them to do.
- Students can be very shy and unwilling to talk at first. To help them relax in the classroom, let them get to know you by showing them pictures of your friends and family and by being silly and animated as you explain vocabulary. Always be sure to encourage them for speaking up and participating in the classroom.
- The students aren’t used to fun lessons using games, videos, and songs, but they really enjoy them. These fun activities are a good way to get students excited about learning.
- In terms of personal space, it is acceptable to pat your students on the back, give them high fives, and lean over their shoulder to help them with work. Personal “bubbles” in China are way smaller than in the United States, so students won’t think it is strange or feel like you are intruding. Many times students will hold the teaching assistant's hand before or after class.
- Classes tend to be well behaved, but if you do face any disciplinary problems, be very gentle. “Loosing face” in China is a big deal, so it is important not to embarrass students.
Cultural Norms and Etiquette
For information about cultural norms in Hong Kong, try these resources:
River Town by
Call Number: DS796.F855 H47 2002 (Undergraduate Library)
Publication Date: 2002
This powerful memoir about a young American teacher living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates cultural and social upheaval is recommended by a student who read the book before traveling to teach in rural China.
It's All Chinese to Me by
Call Number: Request through I-Share
Publication Date: 2009
This resource is a fun, graphic-novel inspired introduction to China and its culture and people. This comprehensive introduction to Chinese culture provides firsthand tips, background information, and illustrations that allow you to get a feel not only for what it's like, but how to survive the cultural differences. The resource is not available at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, but can be requested from another library's collections through I-Share.
To find more resources in the library catalog, try searching using the following keywords:
- Etiquette -- China -- Hong Kong
- Etiquette -- Asia
- Culture shock -- China -- Hong Kong
- Hong Kong (China) -- social life and customs
- Asia -- social life and customs
- Intercultural communication
It may also be helpful to review these cultural tips from a student who is teaching English in China. Her experience is in a rural area, which may have a different environment than Hong Kong, but there still may be some cultural similarities:
- It is considered arrogant and rude to say "thank you" when someone gives you a compliment. Instead, you should politely refute it (e.g., saying “No, no, I’m too tall and ugly” when someone says you are pretty). It may feel strange but it is the culturally proper response to a compliment.
- It is common for people to ask to take photos with foreigners, and it is up to you whether you say yes.
- Personal bubbles in China are much smaller than in the United States, so don't be surprised when strangers or acquaintances touch you or sit, stand, or walk very close to you. Friends of the same gender, including men, in China are also affectionate with each other, including sitting very close to each other, holding hands, and laying on each other.
- Smoking is very common for men and they will smoke anywhere, even in restaurants and around babies. Men may be asked if they want to smoke, but you do not have to accept. However, women don’t smoke in public, only at home or in bars.
- China is a highly patriarchal society. This likely won’t have a huge impact on your day-to-day life but it may be good to keep in mind as you witness and take part in cultural interactions.
- Elders are very highly respected, so remember to always be very courteous to them.
- At least in rural China, many toilets are squatters and need to be manually flushed. There also usually isn’t toilet paper in public restrooms, so you may want to keep some with you.
- People are generally kind and helpful, especially if they can tell you are a foreigner, so don’t be afraid to talk to them and ask for help if you need it, even if you don't speak Chinese. Most people will be patient if you need to use a translation app to ask questions.
General Asia-Pacific Education Journals
There are many journals focused on various aspects of education in the Asia-Pacific region. The following journals are available online through the library's website and can be searched for relevant articles:
The Asia-Pacific Education Researcher
The Asia-Pacific Education Researcher (TAPER) is an international journal of original research presenting empirical and theoretical studies in education, with an emphasis on successful educational systems in the Asia-Pacific region and the national educational systems in the region that up to now have been underrepresented in the research literature. Available from 2013 online.
Asia-Pacific Education Review
The Asia Pacific Education Review (APER) covers all areas of educational research, with a focus on cross-cultural and comparative studies in a broad Asian-Pacific context. It aims to stimulate research, encourage academic exchange, and enhance the professional development of scholars and other researchers who are interested in educational and cultural issues in the Asia-Pacific region. Available from 2000 online.
Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education
This journal promotes rigorous research that makes a significant contribution to advancing knowledge in teacher education across early childhood, primary, secondary, vocational, and higher education. Available from 1996 online. Most recent 18 months not available.
Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative Education
The Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative Education publishes peer-reviewed original research, topical issues, and best practice articles from throughout the world that deal with Cooperative Education (Co-Op) and Work Integrated Learning/Education (WIL). Available from 2000 online.