Map of Indonesia
Travel Information
- Indonesia International TravelThe U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements.
Indonesian Ministry of Education and Culture
- Indonesian Ministry of Education and CultureOversees and organizes early childhood education, elementary education, secondary education, and community education affairs.
- Ministry of Research and Technology of the Republic of IndonesiaHigher education affairs are overseen by the Ministry of Research and Technology of the Republic of Indonesia. Their website is available in English and may provide some useful resources, such as information about the Ministry's policies and programs and a variety of statistics. Website unavailable and under review as of February 2022.
Indonesia Academy of Sciences
- Indonesia Acdemy of SciencesAn independent organization that brings together Indonesian scientists to conduct research and provide advice to the government and society on the acquisition, development, and application of science and technology. Their website is available in Indonesian, but some reports may be available in English, and may be useful for researching how science is used and taught in Indonesia.
Natural Disasters and School Emergency Drills
Information about school emergency drills such as fire drills or drills for other natural disasters may not be available online. However, another way to be prepared is to be aware of some of the common natural disasters that occur in Indonesia:
- Earthquakes: Indonesia sits on a region in the Pacific Ocean known as the "Ring of Fire." Due to tectonic plate movements, a large number of earthquakes occur in this area.
- Tsunamis: Major earthquakes may trigger tsunamis that could occur very quickly after the earthquake.
- Indonesia Tsunami Early Warning SystemIssues tsunami warnings when a potential tsunami with significant impact is imminent or expected.
- Volcanoes: There are many volcanoes in Indonesia which can erupt without warning.
- International Volcanic Health Hazard NetworkPamphlets from the International Volcanic Health Hazard Network provide information about the potential health hazards of volcanic ash and offer advice on how to prepare and cope with ashfall.
- Flooding: Heavy rainfalls can cause flash flooding and landslides, even in urban areas.
Finding More Resources in the Library Catalog
To find more background information about the educational system of Indonesia, try these tips for searching the library catalog:
Here are some keywords that may be useful in your search:
- Education -- Indonesia
- Education -- Asia
- Education, higher -- Indonesia
- Early childhood education -- Indonesia
- Multicultural education -- Indonesia
- Education -- curricula
- Curriculum planning
- Curriculum evaluation
Background Information on Education System
For a brief overview of the Indonesian education system and related topics, try the articles on Indonesia available through the library's collections. These articles are available in print in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library's reference books:
International Education by Call Number: Q. LB15 .I565 2013 SSHEL Reference Non-circulatingISBN: 9780765620491Publication Date: 2013-02-26
International Encyclopedia of Education by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780080448947Publication Date: 2010
The following online publications may also prove useful in your research:
- NelitiNeliti is a free collection of over 300,000 articles, books, datasets, and more published in Indonesia which are available both in English and Bahasa Indonesian. Users can search using keywords or browse by institution or journal.
- UNESCO Sustainable Goals for EducationData from UNESCO's Institute of Statistics provides detailed information on education, literacy, funding, and more for each country.
- World Education News and Reviews (WENR): IndonesiaWorld Education News and Reviews (WENR) is a news and information source published by World Education Services for professionals in international education. This article focuses on Indonesia and provides information about educational challenges and academic mobility as well as a detailed overview of the country's educational system.
- CIA World Factbook: IndonesiaFor more general information about the country of Indonesia, try the CIA World Factbook. This resource provides information about the geography of the country, including natural hazards. Some educational information is included underneath the "People and Society" section.
Try looking at the following library resources for further information:
Creating Multicultural Citizens: A Portrayal of Contemporary Indonesian Education by Call Number: LC1099.5.I5 R35 2014 (Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library)ISBN: 9780415844147Publication Date: 2013
Early Childhood Education and Development in Poor Villages of Indonesia by Call Number: LB1139.3.I6 E37 2013 (Oak Street)ISBN: 9780821398364Publication Date: 2013- Teacher Reform in Indonesia byCall Number: LA1271 .A745 2014 (Oak Street)ISBN: 9780821398296Publication Date: 2013
Educational Sovereignty and Transnational Exchanges in Post-Secondary Indonesian Education by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9783319539850Publication Date: 2017
Education in Indonesia by ISBN: 9789264230750Publication Date: 2015-03-25This report provides guidance on how Indonesia can consolidate gains in access to basic education and develop an education system that will support an economy in transition towards high-income status.
Cultural Norms
For information about cultural norms in Indonesia, try these resources:
The Global Etiquette Guide to Asia by Call Number: HF5389 .F67 2000 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 0471369497Publication Date: 2000
Balinese Food: The Traditional Cuisine and Food Culture of Bali by Call Number: 641.5959862 K939b (Funk ACES)ISBN: 9780804844505Publication Date: 2014
To find more resources, try searching using the following keywords:
- Etiquette -- Indonesia
- Etiquette -- Asia
- Culture shock -- Indonesia
- Visitors, Foreign -- Indonesia
- Indonesia -- social life and customs
- Asia -- social life and customs
If you know the specific island or region of Indonesia to which you will be traveling, it may also be helpful to search for general guidebooks on the area.
General Asia-Pacific Education Journals
There are many journals focused on various aspects of education in the Asia-Pacific region. The following journals are available online through the library's website and can be searched for relevant articles:
- The Asia-Pacific Education ResearcherThe Asia-Pacific Education Researcher (TAPER) is an international journal of original research presenting empirical and theoretical studies in education, with an emphasis on successful educational systems in the Asia-Pacific region and the national educational systems in the region that up to now have been underrepresented in the research literature. Available from 2013 online.
- Asia-Pacific Education ReviewThe Asia Pacific Education Review (APER) covers all areas of educational research, with a focus on cross-cultural and comparative studies in a broad Asian-Pacific context. It aims to stimulate research, encourage academic exchange, and enhance the professional development of scholars and other researchers who are interested in educational and cultural issues in the Asia-Pacific region. Available from 2000 online.
- Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher EducationThis journal promotes rigorous research that makes a significant contribution to advancing knowledge in teacher education across early childhood, primary, secondary, vocational, and higher education. Available from 1996 online. Most recent 18 months not available.
- Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative EducationThe Asia-Pacific Journal of Cooperative Education publishes peer-reviewed original research, topical issues, and best practice articles from throughout the world that deal with Cooperative Education (Co-Op) and Work Integrated Learning/Education (WIL). Available from 2000 online.