Medieval Latin Literature at UIUC Library
The Classics Library Collection of the Literatures and Languages Library, located in 225 Main Library, is home to one of the world's greatest collections of Latin texts, not only from Classical Antiquity, but extending to all periods of the Middle Ages and into the Renaissance. Series of texts that are of import to medievalists and are housed in their entirety in 225 Main Library include Corpus Christianorum, the Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Shrétiennes, the Dumbarton Oaks Medieval Library, Oxford Medieval Texts, Oxford Early Christian Texts, and the I Tatti Renaissance Library. The Classics Library Collection is also home to a wide assortment of reference works and secondary studies pertaining to Latin literature in the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Reference Resources
Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World by Call Number: 870 B769ISBN: 9789004265721Publication Date: 2014With its striking range and penetrating depth, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World traces the enduring history and broad cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. An invaluable resource for both the advanced scholar and the graduate student.
Felici Curiositate. Studies in Latin Literature and Textual Criticism from Antiquity to the Twentieth Century by Call Number: 281.1 In71 v.72ISBN: 9782503570136Publication Date: 2017-02-15The papers collected in this Festschrift in honour of Rita Beyers, Professor Emerita of Latin at the University of Antwerp and Director of the Corpus Christianorum, Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis, focus on ancient (especially Christian) Latin literature and its influence in the Middle Ages and beyond.- A Handlist of the Latin Writers of Great Britain and Ireland Before 1540 byCall Number: 016.875 Sh24hPublication Date: 1997
Incipitarium Ovidianum: a finding guide for texts in Latin related to the study of Ovid in the Middle Ages and Renaissance by Call Number: 871 O8.VcISBN: 2503507859Publication Date: 2000Finding guide for scholars interested in the medieval and renaissance tradition of accessus, biographies, commentaries and Summae memoriales on the poetic corpus of Ovid. The Incipitarium lists alphabetically by their opening words all of the extant texts related to the study of Ovid from 400 to 1600. All known manuscript witnesses to the text as well as the early incunabula, modern printed editions and studies are provided. An appendix lists manuscripts which transmit glosses to the individual works.- Incipits of Latin Works on the Virtues and Vices, 1100-1500 A.D.: Including a Section of Incipits of Works on the Pater Noster byCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1979
Repertorium edierter Texte des Mittelalters by Publication Date: 2011- The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 0198662629Publication Date: 2010Online version of the 4 volume original.
Subject Headings
Databases
- Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new windowThis database allows users to search the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices; Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers and references for scholars are also included.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new windowIncludes Latin texts from antiquity, late antiquity, medieval and modern Latin consisting mainly of scholia, texts of grammarians, and lexicon articles.
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowThe Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies are multidisciplinary bibliographies of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The bibliographies comprise 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
- Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new windowCLCLT is the world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas a Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
- Mirabile: Digital Archive for Medieval Latin Culture This link opens in a new windowMirabile is an online content aggregator of Medieval resources. It contains extensive databases of medieval studies resulting from collaboration between the Societ{grave}a Internazionale per lo Studio del Medioevo Latino (SISMEL) and the Fondazione Ezio Franceschini (FEF) and their journals published by SISMEL - Edizioni del Galluzzo.--Agostino Paravicini Bagliano, President, Societ{grave}a internazionale per lo studio del Medioevo latino.
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new windowA selection of texts from all five divisions of Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, Antiquitates).
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowThe Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Journals
- Neulateinisches Jahrbuch: Journal of Neo-Latin Language and LiteratureCall Number: 478 N397Publication Date: 1999-date
- Traditio: Studies in Ancient and Medieval History, Thought and ReligionCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 1943-date