French Studies at UIUC Library
The Literatures and Languages Library, located on the second floor of the Main Library in room 200, The Reading Room, has a robust collection of materials for French Studies.
French Arthurian Literature
Resources for French Arthurian literature can be found in the Arthurian Literature section.
Online Resources
- ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Marie de France
Subject Headings
Marie, de France
Marie, de France, active 12th century - Criticism and interpretation
Marie de France, 12th century. Lais.
Reference Resources
Print Bibliographies
Associations, Institutes and Societies
Subject Headings
French literature - To 1500 - History and criticism.
Courts and courtiers in literature
Reference Works
Select Authors
A companion to Alain Chartier (c. 1385-1430) : father of French eloquence by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9004290141Publication Date: 2015
Trobadours
Christine de Pizan
Guillaume de Machaut
Guillaume de Machaut the Complete Poetry and Music of Guillaume de Machaut - The Debate Poems by ISBN: 9781580442527Publication Date: 2016
Article Databases and Print Bibliographies
Key Online Databases
- Bibliographie de la littérature française This link opens in a new window
- Klapp-Online This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Other Possibilities
- IBZ Online - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Print Bibliographies
French Literary Manuscripts
Roman de la Rose
Subject Headings
Guillaume, de Lorris, fl. 1230. Roman de la Rose
Jean, de Meun, d. 1305? - Criticism and interpretation.
Reference Resources
Manuscripts
- Roman de la Rose Digital LibraryThe Roman de la Rose Digital Library is a joint project of the Sheridan Libraries of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. The creation of this resource and the digitization of manuscripts from the BnF was made possible by generous support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. We currently have digital surrogates of more than 130 Roman de la Rose manuscripts, and our collection continues to grow.
