English Literature at UIUC Library
The Literatures and Languages Library, located on the second floor of the Main Library in room 200, The Reading Room, has a robust collection of materials for English literature of all periods.
English History: Reference Sources
English Literature: Reference Resources
A Companion to Medieval English Literature and Culture C. 1350 - C. 1500 by ISBN: 9780470996355Publication Date: 2007
Associations, Institutes and Societies
Literature Databases
Article Databases
In addition to the general databases listed under Articles in the Starting Research section, you should consult the following:
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new windowThe annual bibliography of English language and literature (ABELL) lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920-1999. The bibliography consists of 80 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually. A number of items published between 1892 and 1919 have been indexed retrospectively.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Use MLA International Bibliography in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowPart of Gale Literature Criticism Online. The database presents literary criticism on the works of classical and medieval philosophers, poets, playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians, and writers from other genres. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, and scholarly papers. Criticism includes early views from the author's lifetime as well as later views, including extensive collections of contemporary analysis.
Other Databases
- British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new windowAn extensive digital archive, comprising more than 400,000 manuscript pages, includes complete facsimile copies of poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence and other manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era. Sources libraries include the British Library, the Folger Shakespeare Library, the National Library of Scotland, Princeton University, and the National Art Library at the Victoria and Albert Museum.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowReproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, online via ProQuest Direct.
- Early English Prose Fiction This link opens in a new windowContains 211 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700.
- Past Masters This link opens in a new windowInteLex Corporation’s Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics.
Subject Headings
English History
England - Civilization - 1066-1485
Great Britain - History - Medieval period, 1066-1485
English Literature
Civilization, Medieval, in Literature
Epic poetry, English (Old) - History and criticism
Literature and Society - England - History - To 1500
Literature, Medieval - History and criticism
Manuscripts (see Manuscripts section for more)
Manuscripts, Medieval - England - London
Topics
Community life - Europe - History - To 1500
Emotions in Literature Human Body in Literature
Human body - Social aspects - Europe - History - To 1500
Human body - Symbolic aspects - Europe - History - To 1500
Identity (Psychology) - Europe - History - To 1500
Individuality - Europe - History - To 1500
Love in Literature
Skin in Literature
Journals
Old English/ Anglo-Saxon Literature
Subject Headings
Beowulf
Epic poetry, English (Old) - History and criticism
Christian literature, English (Old) - History and criticism
Chaucer Studies
Subject Headings
Chaucer, Geoffrey, -1400 - Criticism and interpretation
Chaucer, Geoffrey, -1400. Canterbury tales
Chaucer Online
Renaissance English Literature
A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture by ISBN: 9780631216681Publication Date: 2001
