Guillaume de Machaut
Books:
Scores:
- Musikalische Werke (Musical Works) byPublication Date: 1954
- 4 Ballads: For 3 Voices or Instruments byPublication Date: 1993
Recordings:
- Guillaume de Machaut Motets and Music From the Ivrea CodexPublication Date: 1999
- Motets byPublication Date: 2004
Hildegard of Bingen
Books:
Scores:
Symphonia Harmoniae Caelestium Revelationum : Dendermonde St.-Pieters & Paulusabdij ms.cod.9 by ISBN: 9068530518Publication Date: 1991
Recordings:
- Vision: The Music of Hildegard von BingenPublication Date: 1994
- The Complete Hildegard Von Bingen Vol. 3: O nobilissima viriditasPublication Date: 2002
Reference Resources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
Subject Headings
General Headings:
Music--500-1400--History and criticism
Music and literature--History--To 1500
Genre/Form Headings:
Antiphons (Music)
Ballades (Polyphonic chansons)
Chansons de geste
Gregorian chants
Liturgical dramas
Madrigals
Masses
Motets
Part songs
Polyphonic chansons
Rondeaux (Polyphonic chansons)
Troubadour songs
Trouvère songs
Virelais (Polyponic chansons)
Introductory Texts
Giving Voice to Love: Song and Self-Expression From the Troubadours to Guillaume de Machaut by ISBN: 9780199757244Publication Date: 2011-11-28- ISBN: 9780521608619
Troubadours, Trouvères, and Courtly Love
Books:
Scores:
- Les Chansonniers des Troubadours et des Trouvères: Publiés en Facsimilé et Transcrits en Notation Moderne byPublication Date: 1964-1970
Recordings:
- The Art of Courtly LovePublication Date: 1996
- Nuits Occitanes : Troubadours' SongsPublication Date: 2014
- Troubadour and Trouvère SongsPublication Date: 1994
Databases
- Music Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Music Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage: 1864 - current - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers nearly one and a half million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
Online Resouces
Recordings
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts and Scores