Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Marketing Research

This web page has been created for Business Administration 322 and 529

Looking For Associations

Google Search:

Industry description + "association"

E.g. "publishing" + "association"

Result: Association of American Publishers

Associations on the Net

Associations on the Net

This page has links to over 2000 Internet sites providing information about a wide variety of professional and trade associations, cultural and art organizations, political parties and advocacy groups, labor unions, academic societies, and research institutions. Abstracts summarizing information about each association and its site are provided. Maintained by the Internet Public Library Consortium.

Associations Unlimited

BCC Research

BCC Research

Provides objective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports. Offers analysis of growth opportunities, market sizing, technologies, applications, supply chains and companies.

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education

A must read on issues concerning the administration of colleges, community colleges, and universities.  It contains articles about controversies as well as trends in the higher education industry.   Each year there is a salary survey of administrators and ranks of professors throughout the US.  Also available via EBSCO Academic Search Premier.

National Center for Education Statistics

NACES

NACES is a center within the US Department of Education and publishes a database entitled "Projections of Education Statistics." According to the website, it provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary public and private schools, as well as enrollment and degrees conferred at postsecondary degree-granting institutions. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2020.

Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac

Plunkett's Entertainment & Media Industry Almanac 

Available via Ebrary, this guide provides an overview of major trends and business intelligence about the entertainment and media industries, including publishing, performing arts, TV, radio, cable stations, gaming (casino), and amusement parks.  It is useful as a general data resource and introduction to the industry as well as for strategic planning or company research. 

The directory is divided between profiles of 406 leading companies and industry-specific data and analysis, focused on the U.S. but including global firms.

Each company profile includes financial data and profits (if publicly traded), key contacts, industry codes, information about top executive compensation, and estimates about advancement for women and minorities. The companies are also ranked according to different criteria, such as which are the most profitable or the largest employers.

The industry-wide resources include analysis of major trends, statistical tables, market research, and professional association contact information.

Note: you cannot download the book or the pages within the book, but you can read online and print pages as needed. 

Plunkett also has a brief video introduction to the entertainment industry, available here: http://www.plunkettresearch.com/video/entertainment/

Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac

Plunkett's InfoTech Industry Almanac 

Available via Ebrary, this guide provides an overview of major trends and business intelligence about the information technology industry, including the firms that provide consulting and Internet services and products including computer hardware, software, networking equipment, and emerging technologies. This resource is not designed to be comprehensive or as detailed as the Gartner Research or Frost & Sullivan reports, but is handy for quick data, an introduction to the industry, and for strategic planning or company research. 

The directory is divided between profiles of the top 468 companies and industry-specific data and analysis, focused on the U.S. but including global firms.

Each company profile includes financial data and profits (if publicly traded), key contacts, industry codes, information about top executive compensation, and estimates about advancement for women and minorities. The companies are also ranked according to different criteria, such as which are the most profitable or the largest employers.

The industry-wide resources include analysis of major trends, statistical tables, market research, and professional association contact information.

Note: you cannot download the book or the pages within the book, but you can read online and print pages as needed. 

Plunkett also has a brief video introduction to the information technology industry, available here: http://www.plunkettresearch.com/video/infotech/

Plunkett's Investment & Securities Industry Almanac

Plunkett's Investment & Securities Industry Almanac 

Available via EBSCO E-books, this guide provides an overview of major trends and business intelligence about the investment and securities industry, including banking, assets management, financial services, brokerage, mutual funds, and employee benefits. It is useful as a general data resource and introduction to the industry as well as for strategic planning or company research. 

The directory is divided between profiles of 357 leading companies and industry-specific data and analysis, focused on the U.S. but including global firms.

Each company profile includes financial data and profits (if publicly traded), key contacts, industry codes, information about top executive compensation, and estimates about advancement for women and minorities. The companies are also ranked according to different criteria, such as which are the most profitable or the largest employers.

The industry-wide resources include analysis of major trends, statistical tables, market research, and professional association contact information.

Note: portions of the book are downloadable as PDFs. 

Plunkett also has a brief video introduction to the investment and securities industry, available here: http://www.plunkettresearch.com/video/investment/

Richard K. Miller's Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook

Richard K. Miller's Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook

Richard K. Miller's Retail Business Market Research Handbook

Richard K. Miller's Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook

Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)

Ward's Automotive Yearbook