What do we have?

Our ebooks can be found in Primo.

look here: G:\VoyagerFundReports\FY04 to FY20 Fund Reports

We have the following ebook agreements:

American Phytopathological Society (APS) 

• "New Online Books" 2024

American Society for Microbiology

• through BTAA
• all Handbooks

CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International)

• all front list titles
• billed by Marston Book Services

Cambridge

• all front list titles EXCEPT the Companions series
• through the BTAA and billed through GOBI
• begins in 2023 with 2023 imprints and goes for 3 years
• Cambridge Histories - purchased spring 2023

De Gruyter

• custom life science ebook package

Duke University Press

• eDuke Scholarly Expanded Collection (CARLI)

Elsevier

• Through BTAA
• All front list ebooks, all subject book series, Methods in Enzymology
• Book series:
  • Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry
  • Handbook of Numerical Analysis
  • Handbook of Statistics
  • Handbook on the Physics and Chemistry of Rare Earths
  • Handbooks in Economics

GeoScienceWorld

• All front list titles

IEEE

• Artech ebooks library
• eLearning frontlist 2023
• MIT Press frontlist
• IEEE-Wiley frontlist
• Wiley Telecommunications frontlist
• We also have a read & publish agreement with them run by Grainger

IGI Global

• Business Science Reference
• Engineering Science Reference
• Information Science Reference
• Medical Information Science Reference

Institute of Physics (IOP)

• through BTAA
• All front list titles

JSTOR

• JSTOR EBA: we do not own these ebooks, but we renew our EBA every year and can choose to buy titles in it at any time. Titles are from a variety of scholarly publishers and not newer than 3 years old. These will be in the catalog with links that say JSTOR EBA
• University of Illinois Press ebooks: all U of I Press ebooks published from 2015 to June 2025 (purchased by CARLI)

Karger

• through Harrassowitz
• All front list titles

MIT Press

• We became a supporting library for the Direct to Open (D2O) program at MIT since fall 2021 and therefore got one year of access to the entire MIT Press monograph backfile (including books published in 2021). 

Oxford Scholarship Online

• We purchase all frontlist Oxford titles in all subjects through our approval budget.
• Oxford Handbooks Online - 2025 Collection - Music (purchased by Kate Lambaria Feb. 2025)

Project MUSE

• We purchased four subject collections in 2021: 2020 Literature Collection, 2020 Film, Theater and Performing Arts Collection, 2021 Art and Architecture Collection, and 2021 Literature Collection. 745 titles total; title list at g - collections info - Project MUSE ebooks
• We did an EBA with Project MUSE that ended in 2015/16

ProQuest

• DEI ebook package; through BTAA agreement beginning 2022

Rittenhouse (R2)

• We purchased 203 single-user titles on R2 in fall 2019. We pay $1,200/year for hosting. We can purchase more on the platform either directly or through GOBI. 

SPIE (Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers)

• SPIE ebooks collection (1989-present)

Springer

• through BTAA
• STM Collections: 2019 onwards unless otherwise marked
  • Artificial Intelligence (added 2025)
  • Biomedical and Life Science
  • Chemistry and Materials Science
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Energy
  • Engineering
  • Intelligent Technologies and Robotics
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mechanical Engineering (added 2025)
  • Medicine
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Professional and Applied Computing
• HSS Collections
  • Behavioral Science & Psychology
  • Business & Management
  • Economics & Finance
  • Education
• Synthesis Collection of Technology

Taylor & Francis

• EngNetBase - we purchase these
• two Math NetBases - these are subscription
• Taylor & Francis Humanities & Social Sciences EBA: we have access to ALL T&F frontlist books in the humanities & social sciences, and all backlist titles going back to 2010. These should show as being in the EBA in GOBI. We do not own these books, but can buy them at any time.

University of Michigan

• through BTAA
• on Fulcrum platform
• purchased 2021, 2022 and 2023 imprints
• leased all other titles through end of 2023
• More information: https://www.press.umich.edu/librarians

Wiley 

• through BTAA
• All front list

Selectors can order ebooks individually through GOBI on the following platforms:

• Bloomsbury
• Brill
• Cambridge
• de Gruyter
• EBSCO
• Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
• IGI Global
• JSTOR
• Manchester University Press (manchesterhive)
• Oxford Clinical Psychology Online
• Oxford Medicine Online
• Oxford
• Project MUSE
• ProQuest Ebook Central
• SAGE Knowledge
• Taylor & Francis
• World Scientific Publishing Company

Which vendor is preferred?

We always prefer a DRM-free,* unlimited-user copy if reasonable,** and usually the most reasonable option for this will be directly from the publisher. Other good options are JSTOR and Project MUSE. De Gruyter tends to be more expensive. EBSCO and ProQuest have the widest selection but are NOT DRM-free platforms and may only offer limited simultaneous users.

*What is DRM? 

DRM stands for Digital Rights Management software. Platforms with DRM have limits on how much of a book can be downloaded or printed and usually require additional logins or software to do things other than read on-screen. DRM-free platforms usually offer chapters or even full books in pdf format, making them easy to download, print and save.

**What is reasonable?

Up to $125 is eminently reasonable for a DRM-free, unlimited user book. If the unlimited-user edition starts at $250 and the book is unlikely to have a large audience, it might make sense to get 3 seats instead. Never limit the number of seats just to save a few bucks unless the audience is extremely limited. The University of Illinois has over 54,000 students and thousands of faculty and staff. 

Overdrive

We can purchase ebooks and e-audiobooks on OverDrive. Several selectors have logins to OverDrive marketplace which they can use to make shopping carts. Someone in ACS will have to finalize the purchases made in OverDrive ("check out" your cart). We will default to books with the format "One Copy/One User" (OC/OU). We do not have the ability to buy more than one user per copy but can buy multiple copies if we want more seats. We add $4,250 to a deposit account with OverDrive every summer from account cli9 (Comparative Literature) that originally came from the Undergraduate Library's budget. Purchases will be billed against PO 1207001.

You can browse our instance of OverDrive online. As of April 2022 we own 785 e-audiobooks (purchases from a former platform, RB Digital, that was bought by OverDrive) and 5 ebooks.

KinoDen (Kinokuniya Digital Library)

We can purchase academic ebooks from the Japanese bookseller Kinokuniya on their online purchasing portal, KinoDen. You can browse our instance of KinoDen online. Currently, only Steve Witt has a login to shop in KinoDen.

EBSCO ECM

We can purchase ebooks on the EBSCOhost platform instantly through EBSCO ECM (Ebscohost Collection Manager) and also use this to upgrade any single-user EBSCO ebooks to more seats (if available). 

ProQuest LibCentral

We can also purchase ebooks on the ProQuest Ebook Central platform instantly through LibCentral. 

R2 (Rittenhouse)

We can purchase ebooks on R2.