What do we get and how much does it cost?

It can be a little difficult to find out if we subscribe to a particular journal. 

If a journal has an open PO in Alma, that's great! But a lot of our journals come in packages and don't have individual POs or individual prices in Alma.

If I can't figure out how we get something or how much it costs in Alma, I check in EBSCOnet, Harrassowitz, or the invoices folder directly.

How do we get ejournals?

We order many ejournals direct from their publishers. Others we order through the subscription agents EBSCO (using their online management system, EBSCOnet) and Harrassowitz (their online systems is called Fokus). To get a login to EBSCOnet or Fokus (which you can use to look up prices, formats, etc.), ask George Gottschalk. We get over 4,500 journals through EBSCO. We only get ~250 subscriptions from Harrassowitz, but they tend to be better for international publishers and standing orders. We also have journal deals with consortia: BTAA, CARLI, CRL, GWLA.

The following lists our big deals, consortial deals, and other arrangements by publisher.

American Chemical Society (ACS)

• Through CARLI
• All Publications package

American Institute of Physics (AIP)

• "Complete frontfile"

American Physical Society (APS)

• APS All Package

American Phytopathological Society

• Crop Protection & Management Collection: includes Plant Disease Management Reports and Plant Health Progress

American Psychological Association (APA) 

• From ProQuest on APA PsycNet via ProQuest
• We do NOT have access on the APA publisher site (no preprints)

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

• ASABE Online Technical Library

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)

• ASME Package 9, which includes
  • Package 2: All Transaction Journals
  • Package 3: All Conference Proceedings
  • Applied Mechanics Review
• Package purchased through EBSCO

Annual Reviews

• Through NERL via CRL: Annual Review of Economics
• All the rest: direct

BioOne Complete

• licensed through GWLA

Brill

• Brill Biology Journal Collection: 

Title	ISSN Print	ISSN Online
Amphibia-Reptilia	0173-5373	1568-5381
Animal Biology	1570-7555	1570-7563
Art & Perception	2213-4905	2213-4913
Behaviour	0005-7959	1568-539X
Contributions to Zoology	1383-4517	1875-9866
Crustaceana	0011-216X	1568-5403
Folia Primatologica	0015-5713	1421-9980
IAWA Journal	0928-1541	2294-1932
Insect Systematics & Evolution	1399-560X	1876-312X
International Journal of Wood Culture	2772-3186	2772-3194
Israel Journal of Ecology and Evolution	1565-9801	2224-4662
Israel Journal of Plant Sciences	0792-9978	2223-8980
Multisensory Research	2213-4794	2213-4808
Nematology	1388-5545	1568-5411
Tijdschrift voor Entomologie	0040-7496	2211-9434
Timing & Time Perception	2213-445X	2213-4468

 

Cairn

• Through CRL
• "Journals Bouquet General" - all titles. Download the Bouquets de Revues list to see the list.

Cambridge

• We purchase a big deal of all Cambridge titles through EBSCOnet
• Pricing comes from the BTAA; Wendy communicates it to EBSCO and we then we renew the package
• This is also a Read & Publish agreement

Chronicle of Higher Education

• site license, licensed through CARLI
• subscription period is 7/1-6/30

CSIRO

• read & publish billed through EBSCO; 11 titles

Duke

• through CARLI
• e-Duke Scholarly Collections - expanded collection
• title list

East View

China Academic Journals & Century Journals Project (title lists for CAJ; title list for CJP):

• Series F: “literature/history/philosophy"
• Series G: "politics/Military affairs/law"
• Series H: “Education/social sciences”
• Series J: “economy & management”

Electrochemical Society

• ECS Digital Library (billed through BTAA)
• Titles hosted on IOP

Elsevier

• Joint agreement with UIC and UIS; we manage with Elsevier
• Big deal: "Freedom Collection," Cell Press, Societies, Clinics, and other assorted titles

Emerald

• Library & Information Sciences eJournal Collection
• Emerald Engineering eJournal Collection
• ICE Current Engineering Journals Collection
• various individual titles

Institute of Physics (IOP)

• IOPScience Extra
• 2018 title list

Karger

• We purchase a big deal of all Karger journals through Harrassowitz

Microbiology Society

• Read & publish billed through BTAA (was EBSCO through 2023); 4 titles:
  • Microbiology
  • International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology
  • Journal of General Virology
  • Journal of Medical Microbiology

Optical Society of America 

• Big deal

Oxford

• We get most of our Oxford journals through EBSCO but order the following direct:
  • Biometrics (starting 2024)
  • Evolution
  • IMA Journal of Mathematical Control and Information (Institute of Mathematics & its Applications)
  • FEMS (Federation of European Microbiological Societies) journals:
    • FEMS Microbiology Ecology
    • FEMS Microbiology Reviews
    • FEMS Microbiology Letters
    • FEMS Yeast Research
    • Pathogens and Disease
  • Journal of Applied Microbiology
  • Journal of Bone and Mineral Research (starting 2024)
  • Journal of Evolutionary Biology (starting 2024)
  • Journal of Leukocyte Biology
  • Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series A: Statistics in Society
  • Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series B: Statistical Methodology
  • Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series C: Applied Statistics
  • Letters in Applied Microbiology
  • Linnean Society journals:
    • Biological Journal of the LS
    • Botanical Journal of the LS
    • Zoological Journal of the LS

Project Euclid Prime Select

• Through BTAA
• Hosted by Duke University
• Math journals from various publishers

Royal Society of Chemistry

• "Gold excluding archive"
• Title list for RSC Gold

SAGE

• Through BTAA: big deal: SAGE Premier
• direct: IMechE Journals Collection (18 titles)

Science/AAAS journals

• Through CARLI
• Includes the following titles:
  • Science
  • Science Immunology
  • Science Robotics
  • Science Signaling
  • Science Translational Medicine

SIAM (Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics)

• All journals ("Academic Membership Option D")

Springer-Nature (including Palgrave)

• Springer: big deal direct with Springer. We do not get transfer titles/new starts and have not since 2015. The box to the left underneath the site contents includes a spreadsheet of our current Springer subscriptions our rep shared in August 2022.
• Nature
  • Through BTAA:
    • Acta Pharmacologica Sinica
    • Bone Marrow Transplantation
    • British Journal of Cancer
    • Cancer Gene Therapy
    • Cell Death & Differentiation
    • Cell Research
    • Cellular & Molecular Immunology
    • European Journal fo Clinical Nutrition
    • European Journal of Human Genetics
    • Evidence Based Dentistry
    • Eye
    • Gene Therapy
    • Genes & Immunity
    • Heredity
    • Hypertension Research
    • International Journal of Impotence Research
    • International Journal of Obesity
    • ISME Journal
    • Journal of Antibiotics
    • Journal of Exposure Science & Environmental Epidemiology
    • Journal of Human Genetics
    • Journal of Human Hypertension
    • Journal of Perinatology
    • Lab Animal
    • Laboratory Investigation
    • Leukemia
    • Modern Pathology
    • Molecular Psychiatry
    • Mucosal Immunology
    • Nature
    • Nature Astronomy
    • Nature Biomedical Engineering
    • Nature Catalysis
    • Nature Ecology & Evolution
    • Nature Electronics
    • Nature Human Behaviour
    • Nature Machine Intelligence
    • Nature Reviews Chemistry
    • Nature Sustainability
    • Neuropsychopharmacology
    • Oncogene
    • Pharmacogenomics Journal
    • Polymer Journal
    • Prostate Cancer & Prostatic Diseases
    • Scientific American
    • Spinal Cord
    • Spinal Cord Series and Cases
  • Direct:
    • Nature Cancer
• Palgrave
  • Through BTAA:
    • American Journal of Psychoanalysis
    • BioSocieties
    • Development
    • Eastern Economic Journal
    • Geneva Papers on Risk & Insurance: Issues and Practice
    • International Politics & International Politics Reviews
    • Journal of International Business Studies
    • Journal of Public Health Policy
    • Latino Studies
    • postmedieval

Wiley

• Through BTAA
• Big deal which includes some author publishing charges for OA; we also get any new titles/transfers
• Includes text mining: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/library-info/resources/text-and-datamining

In addition to those listed above, the following packages/titles are split with UIC and/or UIS. These include :

• EIU
• IEEE
• Journal of Immunology
• LWW/Ovid
• Mary Ann Liebert
• New England Journal of Medicine

We can look up many journal prices in EBSCOnet or elsewhere, but others require us to request quotes. If you have any questions about a journal's price, format options, or availability, please ask Wendy Shelburne or Amy Fry

To order a new journal, please use the Serials Order Form on the Acquisitions webpage. You will need to include the fund code on which to bill the journal.

You can include a desired start date, but keep in mind that journal subscriptions run on the calendar year. If you place an order in early spring, we will start it in the current year. If you place it later, we will generally choose to start it the following January.

If you would like to cancel a journal, fill out the Serial Cancellation Form on the Acquisitions webpage. You can fill out this form any time, but cancellations for journals ordered through EBSCO and Harrassowitz must be received before the renewal is processed in August. All cancellations will take effect the following January 1.

You cannot cancel journals we get as part of big deals or as consortial packages.

When print journals we order through EBSCO or Harrassowitz become available as online-only subscriptions, we may want to flip from print or print plus electronic to electronic only. We investigate all titles available to flip each year and will send a list of potential flips and prices to selectors.