Middle East & North Africa related databases
Below is a listing of some of the most prominent and well documented databases pertaining to the Middle East and North Africa.
* indicates that that database is free and open to the public. The rest of the databases require affiliation with UIUC
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
- Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
More information can be found at the Middle East and North Africa Studies Library and on the MENA Library's database page. The database page offers brief descriptions of the various databases listed above.
Information on the following subjects can be found on the website:
- Online News Sources
- Reference E-Resources
- Country Specific E-Resources
- Islamic History Sourcebook
- Religion & Culture
Databases, Online Catalogs, Reference Tools
The UIUC Library has access to hundreds of online databases and online catalogs comprising everything from specific interests to general subject searches.
Databases are collections of computer records that have a common format and content, organized for rapid search and retrieval. The databases used in libraries for information retrieval most often locate individual articles and provide information about items contained in larger sources, such as periodicals (magazines, journals, and newspapers).
General Information about databases at UIUC can be found at the following links:
Common databases available at UIUC are:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search Online Journals & Databases for all the available online databases and journals. Or try Journal and Article Locator
Online catalogs differ from databases in that online catalogs provide information describing resources owned by a specific library. UIUC's Online Library Catalog provides access to materials owned by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, including books, movies, journals, magazines, newspapers, sound recordings, music scores, maps and government documents. Link here to learn more about which catalog is best for you.
University of Illinois Catalogs:
Other available library catalogs:
Reference Tools:
- General information about the Online Reference Collection
- Biography
- Dictionaries
- Encyclopedias
- RefWorks
