Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Dislocation: Iran: Bibliographic Resources

This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology

Specialized Guides

Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia.

Indiana University Uralic and Altaic Series, Volume 160, Part I-III. Bregel, Yuri. Bloomington, Indiana: Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies, 1995.

UIUC Call Number: Central Asian Reference 016.958B746b

v. 1-3. ISBN: 0933070-357. Part I: History; Religion; Culture. Part II: Descriptions and travel; Written sources for Central Asian history; Ethnography; Folklore: Folk entertainments; Physical anthropology. Part III: Archeology; Numismatics; Architecture; Visual arts; Auxiliary historical disciplines; Historical geography; Historiography; Bibliography; Addenda; Indexes. Indices: Index of names (authors, translators, editors, reviewers), pp. 2103-2219; Index of titles (anonymous works, and bibliographical entries, in which the name of author does not precede the title), pp. 2220-2276.

Published in 1995, this bibliography is divided into three parts: "pre-Islamic Central Asia", "Islamic Central Asia before the establishment of communist regimes in Russia and China," and "Islamic Central Asia under the communist regimes." In his introductory remarks, Dr. Bregel cites these sources as the basis for this compiled work: Soviet bibliographical annals; other general bibliographies; general, regional and topical bibliographies of Central Asia; Lists of publications of individual scholars; entire sets of periodicals and encyclopedias. The compiler has limited the scope of this bibliograpy to history, "with all its auxiliary fields and related disciplines, like archeology and ethnography." This bibliography is subdivided into sixteen sections and includes the following: "monographs and articles in periodicals and collective volumes in all languages, except Chinese and Japanese, published from the 17th century A.D. to 1988 (please see footnote 31 for additional comments). The entries for monographs are listed first and followed by articles. Due to the complexities assoicated with transliteration systems, the compiler lists the names of the authors as "they appear in the original." Morever, "...any variant spellings of an author's name... are listed separately in the index, with other spellings cross-referenced." Researchers can browse the extensive ethnography section through subheadings or individual ethnic groups (Section VIII, Volume II, pp. 1081-1381).

Bibliografiia po Sredneĭ Azii: ukazatel' literatury po kolonial'noĭ politike tsarizma v Sredneĭ Azii.

Vitkind, N. IA. Series: Trudy Nauchno-issledovatel'skoi assotsiatsii pri kommunisticheskom universitete trudiashchikhsia vostoka, vyp. 4. Cambridge: Oriental Research Partners, 1971. Note: reprint of the 1929 edition.

This annotated guide to Central Asia and Russian colonial politics addresses the period from mid-nineteenth century up to the revolution of 1917. This bibliography contains approximately 1271 entries. Originally published in 1929, this bibliography is organized numerically and divided into three main sections: bibliographies, pp. 9-15; monographs, pp. 16-94; journal articles, pp. 95-152. In addition to these sections, the compiler has included the following: a systematic index, alphabetical list of reviewers, a list of serials, handbooks, and dictionaries.

_______________________________

Bibliograficheskii ukazatel’ po TSentral’noi Azii, mezhdunarodnym otnosheniiam i geopolitike / M E Shaikhutdinov;  M T Laumulin 

Almaty: In-t mirovoi ekonomiki i politiki pri Fonde Pervogo Prezidenta Respubliki Kazakhstan, 2008.  ISBN: 9786017079154 6017079158

Accession No: OCLC: 298928974

Bibliographies

Bibliografiia Irana: literatura na russkom iazyke (1917-1965 gg.).  Akademiia Nauk SSSR. Institut Narodov Azii.  Moskva: Izdatel'stvo "Nauka," 1967.   Period of coverage: 1917-1965

Author: Sverchevskai︠a︡, A. K.
Title: Bibliografii︠a︡ Irana. Literatura na rus. i︠a︡z. (1917-1965 gg.) Sost. A.K. Sverchevskai︠a︡. Pod red. N.A. Kuznet︠s︡ovoĭ.
Published: Moskva : "Nauka,", 1967.
Physical Description: 391 p. 22 cm.
Includes: Bibliography: p. 325-[326].
Subject (LCSH): Iran --Bibliography.
Notes: At head of title: Akademii︠a︡ nauk SSSR. Institut narodov Azii.
LC Card Number: 68117430
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=3026971

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Slavic Ref [non-circulating]
Call Number: 016.9155 SV26BText me this call number
Copy: 1
Status: Available

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Title: Iranis bibliograpʻia : istoria / G. Żnelaże.
Published: Tʻbilisi : Mecʻniereba, 1981.
Physical Description: 364 p. ; 20 cm.
Subject (LCSH): Iran --History --Bibliography.
Other Title: Bibliografii︠a︡ Irana.
Notes: Title on added t.p.: Bibliografii︠a︡ Irana.
Includes indexes.
Georgian and Russian.
On leaf preceding t.p.: Sakʻartʻvelos SSR mecʻnierebatʻa akademia. Akad. G. Ceretʻelis saxelobis aġmosavletʻmcʻodneobis instituti.
Persistent link to this page: https://i-share.carli.illinois.edu/uiu/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&v1=1&BBRecID=774551

Institution: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library
Location: Slavic Ref [non-circulating]
Call Number: 016.955 Z7IText me this call number
Copy: 1
Status: Available

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website