Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Dislocation: Catalogs

This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology

UIUC Classic Catalog

Vufind

  • Library Catalog

    Find items by title, author, subject heading,  or keywords.  Includes all items found in the Classic catalog.  Note: no call number search and no limiting to UI unit libraries.

 

VuFind:

  • A single simple search box
  • Refine search by subject, title, topic, language, format, and more
  • Search the U of I library catalog or all I-Share libraries at once, including item status and location information
  • Request UIUC and I-Share items
  • Create your own username and password
  • Connect to your "My Account" page
  • Zotero-compliant for saving and tagging records
  • Social networking tools, such as leaving comments and tagging
  • Previews in Google Book Search

National Library of Kazakhstan

Qazaqstan Respublikasy Ulttyq Kitapkhanasy. Elektrondyq katalogy. =

Natsional'naia Biblioteka Respubliki Kazakhstana. Elektronnyi katalog. =
National Library of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Electronic catalogue.
http://cat.nlrk.kz/ (catalog)
http://www.nlrk.kz
(library homepage)

Founded in Vernyi (now Almaty) in 1910 as the Vernyi Municipal Library, the National Library has been the depository library for monographs, regional and national periodical publications, newspapers, dissertations, avtoreferaty of dissertations, government documents, maps, musical works, audio-visual materials and other materials published in Kazakhstan since 1931. As of early 2007, it held over 5.5 million printed volumes in 100 languages, over 1,000 current journal subscriptions (including about 140 to Kazakh-language journals), over 1,000 current newspaper subscriptions (60 Kazakh), and about 25,000 rare books and manuscripts.

Three catalogs containing a total of about 500,000 bibliographic records were available online as of early 2008. These are entitled "Kazakhstanika" (containing 100,000+ records), "Kazakhstan: proshloe i nastoiashchee (rus)" (200,000+ records, all for Russian-language works), and "Kazakhstan: proshloe i nastoiashchee (kaz)" (225,000+ records, all in Kazakh). While this represents only a fraction of the library's holdings, these catalogs give valuable access to one of the major strengths of the Kazakh National Library's collection (namely, of course, the breadth and depth of its Kazakh-related material).

Sample entries from the National Library of Kazakhstan's "Kazakhstan: proshloe i nastoiashchee (kaz)" database

Also, the latter two catalogs, like many of the national library catalogs in Eastern Europe, contain large numbers of bibliographic records for individual newspaper articles, journal articles, papers from conference proceedings, and other types of works rarely found in Western library catalogs. Many of these are for items published quite recently. The "Kazakhstanika" catalog appears to exclude articles. The three catalogs can be searched together or separately.

Sample entries from the National Library of Kazakhstan's "Kazakhstan: proshloe i nastoiashchee (rus)" database

The National Library's website also features a small collection of digitized texts relating to Kazakh history (most from before 1917) in its Elektrondyq Sandyq Muraghat/Tsifrovoi Elektronnyi Arkhiv/Digital Electronic Archive. Additional online catalogs (of rare books, etc.) may be available on site in Almaty. For more (if potentially outdated) information, see the CD-ROM published by the National Library of Kazakhstan on the occasion of its 90th anniversary in 2000 (Natsional'naia biblioteka Respubliki Kazakhstan = National Library of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Almaty, 2000) (held at the University of Washington). Note: Annotations by Kit Condill.  See: Kazakh National Bibliography. 

Integrated Catalogs

The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog KVK is a meta search interface which allows you to access library and book trade catalogs online via Internet. KVK starts a simultaneous search in the catalogs and gives you a standardized hit list. As the Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog does not have a own database it depends on the availability of the target systems.

__________________________

The European Library is a free service that offers access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.) and bibliographical . Quality and reliability are guaranteed by the 48 collaborating national libraries of Europe.