Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Dislocation: Databases

This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology

Russian National Bibliography Database

EastView Russian National Bibliography: contains all 8 of the Russian National Bibliographic Publications, some retrospective to 1994

Russia/NIS Statistical Publications Database

EastView Russia/NIS Statistical Publications: full text of numerous statistical publications from Russia and the republics of the former Soviet Union

Russian Social Science & Humanities Journals Database

EastView Russian Social Science & Humanities Journals: 75 journals of the Russian Academy of Science on a variety of scholarly topics

ABSEES

Publisher description: American Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1989-present.

MLA

Publisher Description: MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles, with full journal names standardized and ISSNs attached. MLA International Bibliography also contains nearly 11,000 subject names and terms. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.

INION - Институт научной информации по общественн�...

INION

 1.  Public View -

INION catalogues (РОССИЙКАЯ АКАДЕМИЯ НАУК ИНСТИТУТ НАУЧНОЙ ИНФОРМАЦИИ ПО ОБЩЕСТВЕННЫМ НАУКАМ]. (Coverage: Early 1980s --), which contains approximately ~13.5 million records for materials in the social sciences. The institute's databases provide abstracts, keywords, subject headings, and author-title information for social sciences publications (approximately 140 languages). Researchers can freely access and search the institute's databases.  List of journals indexed by INION.  

Inion_description_image


2.  UIUC Electronic Resource (subscription based):

INION Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies - Identifies material in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Coverage includes books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. Author-title information is given in the original language of publication; abstracts and keywords are in Russian; subject headings are in both Russian and English.  Note: This database combines all the catalogues  listed in the public platform.  Researchers can view citations for articles, monographs, etc., in a single search. 

ISI Emerging Markets

ISI Emerging Markets

Publisher description:  Identifies data, news and analysis from emerging market countries from both government and private sources.  Full Description:Includes news, company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa, from the local markets and from over 16,000 publications. Provides current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis. Updated daily. Sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a customizable interface. The service supports 18 languages. 

 

Letopis Zhurnal'nykh Statei online (1956-1975)

The Indiana University Digital Library Program presents Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei, a digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975.

The paper version, in publication since 1926, covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, and it also covers the popular periodical literature.

Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei provides access to the periodical literature of an essential time in modern Russian history, beginning with the period of the Khrushchev "Thaw" following the 20th CPSU Congress and continuing through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation". Virtually any student or scholar studying Russian political science, literature, or history between 1956-1975 will find Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei to be an invaluable resource.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts:

Publisher description:

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.

 

  • Comparative politics
  • Developing nations
  • Disarmament
  • Economic policy
  • Electoral systems
  • Environmental policy
  • Government/Political systems
  • History and theory of political science
  • International relations/trade
  • Labor relations
  • Military policy
  • Methodology and research technology
  • Political behavior
  • Political economy
  • Political psychology
  • Politics and law
  • Politics and communication
  • Politics and religion
  • Politics and society
  • Public administration
  • Security and defense
  • Welfare systems