Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Dislocation: Kazakhstan: Bibliographic Resources

This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology

Specialized Guides

Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia.

Indiana University Uralic and Altaic Series, Volume 160, Part I-III. Bregel, Yuri. Bloomington, Indiana: Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies, 1995.

UIUC Call Number: Central Asian Reference 016.958B746b

v. 1-3. ISBN: 0933070-357. Part I: History; Religion; Culture. Part II: Descriptions and travel; Written sources for Central Asian history; Ethnography; Folklore: Folk entertainments; Physical anthropology. Part III: Archeology; Numismatics; Architecture; Visual arts; Auxiliary historical disciplines; Historical geography; Historiography; Bibliography; Addenda; Indexes. Indices: Index of names (authors, translators, editors, reviewers), pp. 2103-2219; Index of titles (anonymous works, and bibliographical entries, in which the name of author does not precede the title), pp. 2220-2276.

Published in 1995, this bibliography is divided into three parts: "pre-Islamic Central Asia", "Islamic Central Asia before the establishment of communist regimes in Russia and China," and "Islamic Central Asia under the communist regimes." In his introductory remarks, Dr. Bregel cites these sources as the basis for this compiled work: Soviet bibliographical annals; other general bibliographies; general, regional and topical bibliographies of Central Asia; Lists of publications of individual scholars; entire sets of periodicals and encyclopedias. The compiler has limited the scope of this bibliograpy to history, "with all its auxiliary fields and related disciplines, like archeology and ethnography." This bibliography is subdivided into sixteen sections and includes the following: "monographs and articles in periodicals and collective volumes in all languages, except Chinese and Japanese, published from the 17th century A.D. to 1988 (please see footnote 31 for additional comments). The entries for monographs are listed first and followed by articles. Due to the complexities assoicated with transliteration systems, the compiler lists the names of the authors as "they appear in the original." Morever, "...any variant spellings of an author's name... are listed separately in the index, with other spellings cross-referenced." Researchers can browse the extensive ethnography section through subheadings or individual ethnic groups (Section VIII, Volume II, pp. 1081-1381).

Bibliografiia po Sredneĭ Azii: ukazatel' literatury po kolonial'noĭ politike tsarizma v Sredneĭ Azii.

Vitkind, N. IA. Series: Trudy Nauchno-issledovatel'skoi assotsiatsii pri kommunisticheskom universitete trudiashchikhsia vostoka, vyp. 4. Cambridge: Oriental Research Partners, 1971. Note: reprint of the 1929 edition.

This annotated guide to Central Asia and Russian colonial politics addresses the period from mid-nineteenth century up to the revolution of 1917. This bibliography contains approximately 1271 entries. Originally published in 1929, this bibliography is organized numerically and divided into three main sections: bibliographies, pp. 9-15; monographs, pp. 16-94; journal articles, pp. 95-152. In addition to these sections, the compiler has included the following: a systematic index, alphabetical list of reviewers, a list of serials, handbooks, and dictionaries.

_______________________________

Bibliograficheskii ukazatel’ po TSentral’noi Azii, mezhdunarodnym otnosheniiam i geopolitike / M E Shaikhutdinov;  M T Laumulin 

Almaty: In-t mirovoi ekonomiki i politiki pri Fonde Pervogo Prezidenta Respubliki Kazakhstan, 2008.  ISBN: 9786017079154 6017079158

Accession No: OCLC: 298928974

Bibliographies

Slavic Research Guide: Kazakh National Bibliography

BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliografiia bibliografii Kazakhstana: ukazatel'.

Tsarev, G.P.; Andronnikov, V.V. & Galiev, V.Z., Alma-Ata : "Kazakhstan", 1982.
[Held at Library of Congress and Harvard]

Qazaq bibliografiiasynyng bibliografiiasy : bibliografiialyq kȯrsetkīsh (1917-1980 zhzh.) = Bibliografiia kazakhskoi bibliografii (1917-1980) : bibliograficheskii ukazatel'.

Dusmailova, B. & Dzhumadilova, S., Alma-Ata : Gos. kn. palata KazSSR, 1986.

Intended as complementary works, these two bibliographies attempt to include citations to the vast majority of bibliographic works published in or about Kazakhstan prior to 1976/1981. About 4,000 Russian-language bibliographies compiled between 1850 and 1975, including unpublished typescripts held at the Kazakh National Library, are covered by Bibliografiia bibliografii Kazakhstana. Entries are annotated and organized by subject, with additional access provided by means of personal name and geographical indexes. Nearly 3,000 Kazakh- and Uighur-language bibliographies held in the Kazakh Book Chamber's Arkhiv Pechati, at the Kazakh National Library, and at other Kazakh libraries are indexed in Qazaq bibliografiiasynyng bibliografiiasy, with personal name and title indexes. Both works include not only bibliographies published in monographic form, but bibliographic material that appeared in periodical publications. Bibliographies relating to Kazakhstan but published outside its borders are also included.

____________________________________________________________________________

Qazaqstan Respublikasynyng bibliografiialyq qūraldar kȯrsetkīshī = Ukazatel' bibliograficheskikh posobii Respubliki Kazakhstan.

Almaty : Ūlttyq memlekettīk kītap palatasy, 1994-

UIUC Call Numbers: 

Central Asian Reference 015.5845 Q11 1992
Central Asian Reference 015.5845 Q11 1991
Central Asian Reference 015.5845 Q112 1990

This irregularly-published source provides citations to bibliographic material (broadly defined) that was received at the Kazakh/Kazakh SSR Book Chamber in a particular year (or group of years) between 1981 and 1996.  Bibliographies published in monograph form, individual issues of serially-published bibliographies, monographs and journal articles with accompanying bibliographic material, and lists of authors' works included in avtoreferaty of dissertations are included.  Annual issues from the early 1990s contain several hundred entries, the majority of which are citations to individual journal and sbornik articles that contain some sort of bibliography or list of sources, which are often quite brief--most consist of fewer than 15 citations, with a minimum of 9 (see sample page below, from the Economics section of the 1992 volume).  The vast majority of works cited are in Russian, with only a handful in Kazakh.  Presumably because of differing publishing conventions, many more works are cited from the physical sciences than from the social sciences and humanities.

Sample entries from the Economics section of the volume for 1992

The material is organized by subject according to the standard Soviet version of Universal Decimal Classification.  Individual issues end with a name index, a title index, a list of sources used to compile that issue, and a table of contents.  Annual issues covering 1987 to 1992 were published between 1988 and 1994, preceded by a two-part volume covering the years from 1981-1985, and followed by two issues covering 1993/1994 and 1995/1996.  It appears that no issue was published for 1986, and no library appears to hold any issue beyond the one for 1995/1996

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The ethnic groups and empires

An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of the Russian and Soviet Empires.

Olson, James S. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1994. UIUC Call Number: Slavic Reference 305.800947 Et38. ISBN: 0-313-27497-5. Includes: Appendices: Appendix A: Major ethnic groups of the Soviet Union by republic, 1990; Appendix B: Ethnic populations of the Soviet Union, 1926-1989; Appendix C: A brief history of Islam, with speical reference to Russia and the Soviet Union; Appendix D: A Chronology of the Russian and Soviet Empires; Appendix E: Major political subdivisions of the Soviet Union in 1990; Appendix F: Nationality, language loyalty, and religion in the Soviet Union, 1989; Appendix G: Soviet residence patterns by major nationality group, 1989; Appendix H: Ethnic composition of the autonomous unites of the Soviet Union in 1991.

Published in 1994, this ethnohistorical dictionary "...includes entries on over 450 ethnic groups." Edited by James S. Olson, An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of the Russian and Soviet Empires is intended "...to serve as a ready reference work for students, reserachers, librarians trying to sort out the political and social struggles in that part of the world. The editor has consulted previous ethnographic handbooks to compile this definitive ethnohistorical dictionary. The entries are cross-referenced, enabling the user to grasp the historical controversies, spelling variations, and the complexities associated with group idenity. Mr. Olson's edited work provides an ethnopolitical overview for each ethnic group, followed by a list of references for further study.