Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Collection & Resources
For more information on Japanese Collection at UIUC and Japanese Studies resources, see Japanese Collection page.
Illinois Newspaper Databases
Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun, from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.
Maisaku (Mainichi Shinbun Online Database)
The Mainichi Shimbun is the one of 3 major Japanese newspapers and the oldest daily newspaper. Provides the following: Mainichi Shimbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Can also browse today’s news and breaking news.
Japan Times Digital Archive, The
The Japan Times Digital Archive features the best, easy-to-use interface available for discovering deep archive content of any Japanese newspaper (English or Japanese). The online search tools allow users to search the Main newspaper, Extra issues, Supplements or All issues by Imperial Period (Meiji, Taishō, Shōwa, Heisei), publications dates, and keywords.
Kikuzo II Visual
The Kikuzo II Visual is an online database of the Asahi Newspaper company, featuring articles, advertisements, and images. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.
Kobe University Library Digital Archives
Get Research Help From a Librarian!
Get Individualized Research Help from a Librarian & Make an Appointment
Now you can request individualized research consultation with a librarian via online form. To make an appointment, please click on the link below and fill out the form:
Schedule an Online Research Consultation
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies