Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Japanese Studies for EALC Grad Students: Digital Library

Japanese studies research resources and library guide for graduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures.

Japanese Collection & Resources

For more information on Japanese Collection at UIUC and Japanese Studies resources, see Japanese Collection page.

Get Research Help From a Librarian!

Get Individualized Research Help from a Librarian & Make an Appointment

Now you can request individualized research consultation with a librarian via online form. To make an appointment, please click on the link below and fill out the form:

Schedule an Online Research Consultation

 

Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan Kindai Degital Library

NDL Digital Library from Meiji and Taisho Era

国立国会図書館 近代デジタルライブラリー

明治・大正時代刊行図書の資料本文をデジタル画像で閲覧できるサービスです。現在、約15万冊が収録されています。

 

"Digital Library from Meiji and Taisho Era," (in Japanese) National Diet Library:

provides digitized images of books published during the Meiji and Taisho eras (1868-1926). About 150,000 volumes are currently available.

 

Kokuritu Kobun Shokan (National Archives of Japan)

National Archives of Japan, Digital Archive

国立公文書館デジタルアーカイブ

This searchable database contains digitized images of documents, photographs and maps held at the National Archives.

Search in English

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)

国立公文書館 アジア歴史資料センター

" JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents—dating from the Meiji era through 1945—of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. In an effort to share history as it has been documented, JACAR's archives showcase the original records, including full images of the documents, all in digitized form, on an unprecedented scale." -JACAR website

Search in English

Histographical Institute, University of Tokyo

Historiographical Institute, University of Tokyo

東京大学資料編纂所

Provides access to many databases, including: Komonjo Full-Text Database, Dai Nihon Shiryo Unified Database, Databases of images, as well as useful tools like Database of Kuzushi-ji, Online Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms.

 

To search in Japanese, click on "データベース検索" tab on the top of the page. 

Search in English is also available.  Click on on the "Database" tab on the top of the screen.

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library is "an international community of research libraries committed to the long-term curation and availability of the cultural record.  Through their common efforts and deep commitment to the public good, the libraries support the teaching and learning activities of the faculty, students or researchers at their home institutions, and the scholarly needs of the broader public as well."

HathiTrust has a large collection of Japanese materials with over 200,000 items.  Click here to begin searching: http://tinyurl.com/hathi-nihongo