Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Japanese Studies for EALC Grad Students: Regional Collections

Japanese studies research resources and library guide for graduate students in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures.

Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.

CRL's deep and diverse collections are built by specialists and experts at the major U.S. and Canadian research universities, who work together to identify and preserve unique and uncommon documentation and evidence, and to ensure its long-term integrity and accessibility to researchers in the CRL community.

CRL is based in Chicago, Illinois, and is governed by a Board of Directors drawn from the library, research and higher education communities.

Japanese Collections at CRL:

https://www.crl.edu/collections/topics/japan

 

Corporate Annual Reports

Eigyo hokokusho shusei.
Publisher : Yushodo Fuirumu Shuppan
Temporal Coverage: 1890-1945

GUIDE: Eigyo hokokusho shusei. [Dai 1-shu] : maikurofuirumuban : kaisetsu shurokusho somokuroku. B-34624 Eigyo hokokusho shushi sosakuin : Dai 1-shu-dai 4-shu : maikurofuirumuban. B-34628 These are collected annual reports of 917 companies in Japan, 1890-1945.

Eigyo hokokusho shusei.
Publisher : Yushodo Fuirumu Shuppan
Temporal Coverage: 1890-1945

GUIDE: Eigyo hokokusho shushi. Dai 2-shu : maikurofuirumuban : kaisetsu shurokusho somokuroku. B-34625 Eigyo hokokusho shushi sosakuin : Dai 1-shu-dai 4-shu : maikurofuirumuban. B-34628 This second series includes annual reports of 304 companies before 1945, and supplements to 150 companies in the first series.

Eigyo hokokusho shusei.
Publisher : Yushodo Film Publications

GUIDE: Eigyo hokokusho shushi. Dai 3-shu : maikurofuirumuban : shurokusho somokuroku. B-34626 Eigyo hokokusho shushi sosakuin : Dai 1-shu-dai 4-shu : maikurofuirumuban. B-34628 These are collected annual reports of major companies in Japan, including the reports of 831 companies; this series contains supplements to the first and second series.

Eigyo hokokusho shusei.

GUIDE: Eigyo hokokusho shushi. Dai 4-shu : maikurofuirumuban : shurokusho somokuroku. B-34627 Eigyo hokokusho shushi sosakuin : Dai 1-shu-dai 4-shu : maikurofuirumuban. B-34628 This series includes reports of 3,057 companies.

Education

Gakan Kumamoto kyoiku no hensen.
Publisher : Daiichi Shobo
Gunma-ken Kitakanra-gun kyoikushi
Publisher : Daiichi Shobo
Hokkaido Sapporo Shihan Gakko gojunenshi.
Publisher : Daiichi Shobo
Hyogo-ken kyoiku shi : hangaku, gogaku, shijuku, terakoya hen
Publisher : Daiichi Shobo

Government Documents

British Foreign Office : Japan correspondence
Publisher : Scholarly Resources
Temporal Coverage: 1856-1945

Includes content from PRO class FO 46 (1856-1905) and FO 371 (1930-1940, 1941-1945).

Choya-kyubun hoko.
Publisher : Yushodo Film Publications

This is a collection of 1,083 documents and other historical materials covering the foundation of Tokugawa feudal government, the origins of Ieyasu's family and the events leading to the establishment of the Shogunate and to Ieyasu's death.

GUIDE: Choya-kyubun hoko. Kan'ei shoka keizuden kaisetsu saimoku sakuin. [Annotation, guide and index for Choya-kyubun hoko and Kanei shoka keizuden.] B-22856

Fuken tokei
Publisher : Yushodo Film Publications
Temporal Coverage: 1873-1912

This is the Collection of the statistical annuals of the respective prefectures in Japan for Meiji era, 1873-1912. The collection of annuals for the Taisho and Showa eras is continued in Taisho Showa nenkan fuken tokeisho shusei.

GUIDE: Meiji nenkan fuken tokeisho shusei : maikurofuirumuban : shurokusho somokuroku. B-34673

Gifu-ken kyoiku gojunenshi
Publisher : Daiichi Shobo
Japan. Dajo ruiten.
Publisher : Kindaishiryokenkyukai
Temporal Coverage: 1867-1885

GUIDE: Japan. Dajo ruiten, Kobun ruiju somokuroku. [Table of contents for the Classified compilation of the Cabinet's archives of Japan, 1867-1885.] B-2493 This set reproduces 1,172 volumes of the classified and indexed compilation of the day-by-day journal of the Meiji government from 1867-1885. The documents cover official developments relating to politics, economy, agriculture, commerce and industry, education, and religion, including decisions, decrees and details of the deliberations.

Japan. Gaimusho. Archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945.
Temporal Coverage: 1868-1945

This is a selection from the archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, chosen on the basis of relevance to events leading to the Pacific War. 

  • BM series: Biographical material. 6 reels.
  • MT series: Correspondence and communications between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and its officials, 1868-1926 (Meiji-Taisho period). 804 reels.
  • P series: Papers of Parliamentary Vice-Minister Tadeo Matsumoto. 76 reels.
  • S series: Correspondence and communications between the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and its officials, 1926-1945 (Showa period). 722 reels.
  • SP series: Special studies. 185 reels.
  • TEL series: Telegrams. 164 reels.
  • TR reels: Treaties. 13 reels.
  • UD series: Unindexed documents. 52 reels.
  • WT series: Documents of the International Military Tribunal. 94 reels

GUIDE: Uyehara, Cecil H. Checklist of Archives in the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tokyo, Japan, 1868-1945, microfilmed for the Library of Congress, 1949-1951. D-9464

Japan. Kokkai. Sangiin. Kokkai kaigiroku.
Japan. Kokkai. Shugiin. Kokkai kaigiroku.
Temporal Coverage: 1947-1972

These are the Proceedings of the National Diet of Japan, 1947-1972. The set includes the proceedings of the House of Representatives and Councilors for the 1st through the 69th sessions.

Japan. Teikoku Gikai. Kizokuin. Kizokuin tsujokai giji sokkiroku.

GUIDE: Reference Folder #55 Kizokuin tsujokai giji sokkiroku is the Proceedings of the Imperial Diet of Japan, 1890-1947. These proceedings are filmed with Shugiin tsujokai giji sokkiroku. Together, these comprise the proceedings of the House of Peers and the House of Representatives for the 1st-92nd sessions of the Diet. An index to the proceedings appears on reel 86.

Japan. Teikoku Gikai. Shugiin. Shugiin tsujokai giji sokkiroku.

These proceedings are filmed with Kizokuin tsujokai giji sokkiroku. Together these are the proceedings of the House of Peers and the House of Representatives for the 1st-92nd sessions of the Diet.

Taisho Showa nenkan fuken tokeisho shusei.
Publisher : Yushodo Film Publications
Temporal Coverage: 1913–41

Microfilm reproductions of approximately 4,550 vols. of statistical annuals of the prefectures of Japan during the Taisho and Showa eras (covering 191341).  Titles in this series are organized by individual prefectures (Aichi, Hokkaido, Kyoto, Tokyo, etc.).

Government Publications - U.S.

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : Japan [1914-1941].
Publisher : University Publications of America
Temporal Coverage: 1914-1941

GUIDE: Lester, Robert. Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records. Japan [1914-1941] : guide. B-39290

Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United States and Japan, 1910-1929.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1910-1929

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications. There is also a descriptive pamphlet for this set.

Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1910-1929.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1910-1929

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications. There is also a descriptive pamphlet for this set.

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1930-1944.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1930-1944

GUIDE: U.S. Dept of State. Guide to Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1930-1944 : decimal file 894. D-16669 Guide to Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1930-1949 : decimal file 894. E-8127

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1945-1949.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1945-1949

GUIDE: Guide to Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1930-1949 : decimal file 894. E-8127

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1950-1954.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1950-1954

GUIDE: Guide to Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Japan, 1950-1954 : decimal file 794, 894, and 994. E-8126

U.S. Dept. of State. Diplomatic instructions of the Department of State, 1801-1906.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1801-1906

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

U.S. Dept. of State. Notes to the foreign legations in the United States from the Department of State, 1834-1906.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1834-1906

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications.

U.S. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between China and Japan, 1930-1944.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1930-1944

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications

U.S. Dept. of State. Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between Japan and other states, 1910-1929.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1910-1929

GUIDE: Diplomatic records : a select catalog of National Archives microfilm publications. There is also a descriptive pamphlet for this set.

Great Britain. Parliamentary Papers

British parliamentary papers: Japan
Publisher : Irish University Press

This reprint set includes a selection of 19th century papers and reports dealing with Japan. Committee reports and Command papers are included as well as House of Lords committee reports that were communicated to the House of Commons.

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Confidential print, Japan, 1859-1957
Publisher : Public Record Office
Temporal Coverage: 1859-1957

International Military Tribunal for the Far East

Court papers, journal, exhibits, and judgments of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East.
Publisher : U.S. National Archives
Temporal Coverage: 1900-1948

This set covers the period 1900-1948. Reel contents and introductory note at beginning of each reel.

Newspapers

Asahi shinbun. (Tokyo, Japan)
Temporal Coverage: Sept. 1940-