Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Asian Rare Book Collection: Fiction

886+ vols. The Asian Collection consists of material dating from the 14th to the 20th centuries.

Ise Monogatari

Title:  Ise Monogatari いせ物語

Author: 

Published: Japan: s.n., 1494 明應 3

Call Number: PL787.I8 1494

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Document Type: Manuscript

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Ise Monogatari

Title:  Ise Monogatari 伊勢物語 2 v.

Author: 

Published: 1671 寛丈 11

Call Number: PL787.I8  1671

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Utsubo Monogatari

Title: Utsubo Monogatari  うつぼ物語 20 v.

Author: 

Published: n.p. 1677 延賓5 

Call Number: PL787.U8 1677

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period.

Genji Monogatari

Title:  Genji Monogatari 源氏物語

Author: Murasaki, Shikibu 紫式部

Published: n.p., 16-- 30v.

Call Number: PL788.4. G3 16--

Subject: Princes--Japan--Fiction.

Aristocracy (Social Class)--Japan--Fiction.

Japan--Social Life and Customs--794--1185--Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Gengo Hiketsusho

Title: Gengo Hiketsusho 源語秘訣抄

Author: Ichijo, Kaneyoshi 一条兼良

Published: n.p. 1680  延宝 8

Call Number: PL788.4 .G3 I2

Subject:

Yamagiwa Collection

Gikeiki

Title: Gikeiki (Shinpan Gikeiki) 義経記

Author: 

Published: n.p. 1697 元禄10

Call Number: PL790.G5 1697

Subject: Minamoto, Yoshitsune, 1159-1189 -- Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Taketori Monogatari

Title: Eiri Taketori Monogatari 繪入り 竹とり物語

Author: 

Published:185-

Call Number: PL787.T3

Subject: Japanese fiction--Heian period, 794-1185.

Note: Handwritten note on value of book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Taketori Monogatari

Title: Taketori Monogatari v. 1-17 (missing vol. 18) 竹取物語

Author: Santo, Kyozan 山東京山 作; Utagawa, Kunisada 歌川國貞; Utagawa, Toyokuni (illus.) 歌川豊國 画

Published: Edo :森屋治兵衛, 1838-1856 天保9-安政3

Call Number: PL799 .S2

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Heiji Monogatari

Title: Heiji Monogatari 平治物語

Author: 

Published: n.p: ca.1630

Call Number: PL790 .H38 1630

Subject: Japan--History--Hogen and Heiji Insurrections, 1156-1159--Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Kokon Chomon Shu

Title: Kokon Chomon Shu 古今著聞集

Author: Tachibana, Narisue 橘成季 

Published: n.p.:n.d.

Call Number: PL792 .T2

Subject:Japanese prose literature -- 1185-1600. ; Japanese literature -- 1185-1600. ; Japanese fiction -- 1185-1600.

Note: Ms. 写本

Yamagiwa Collection

Sato no Ikiji

Title: Sato no Ikiji 廓意気地

Author: Jippensha, Ikku 十返舎一九

Published: n.p.:1802 享和 2

Call Number: PL791.6 .T7 M29

Subject:

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shinpen Suiko Gaden

Title : Shinpen Suiko Gaden 新編水滸畫傳 90v.

Author: Takizawa, Bakin 滝澤馬琴; Katsushika, Hokusai 葛飾北斎;

Takai, Ranzan 高井蘭山 

Published: Osaka 大阪: Kawachiya, Mohe  河内屋茂兵衛, 1807 文化4

Call Number: PL2694.S51807

Subject: Chinese fiction--Translations into Japanese.

Subject Guide

Rare Book and Manuscript Library's picture
Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Contact:
346 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-3777
Website
Subjects:Rare Books