Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Asian Rare Book Collection: Gesaku 戯作

886+ vols. The Asian Collection consists of material dating from the 14th to the 20th centuries.

Chinsetsu Yumiharizuki

Title: Chinsetsu Yumiharizuki v. 1-30 椿説弓張月

Author: Takizawa, Bakin 瀧澤馬琴 著; Katsushika, Hokusai (illus.) 葛飾北斎 画

Published: Edo 江戸:Hirabayashi Shogoro 平林 庄五郎, 1807-1811 文化4-8

Call Number: PL798.4 .C5 1807

Subject: Minamoto, Tametomo 源為朝

Shunshoku Eitai Dango

Title: Shunshoku Eitai Dango 春色英對暖語

Author: Tamenaga, Shunsui 為永春水 著; Utagawa, Kuninao (illus.) 歌川國直 画; Seisai, Eiichi (joint illus.) 静斎英一.

Published: n.p.:1838 天保9.

Call Number: PL798.6 .T3

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Yamagiwa Collection

Myochikurinwa Shichi Henjin

Title: Myochikurinwa Shichi Henjin 妙竹林話七偏人

Author: Baitai, Kinga 梅亭金鵞 編次; Umenomoto Osai (illus.) 梅の本 鶯斎 画

Published: Tokyo 東京: Okawa, Jokichi 大川錠吉, 1883 明治16

Call Number: PL799 .B25

Subject: Japanese wit and humor -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: Kokkeibon  滑稽本

Yamagiwa Collection

Taketori Monogatari

Title: Taketori Monogatari v. 1-17 (missing vol. 18) 竹取物語

Author: Santo, Kyozan 山東京山 作; Utagawa, Kunisada 歌川國貞; Utagawa, Toyokuni (illus.) 歌川豊國 画

Published: Edo :森屋治兵衛, 1838-1856 天保9-安政3

Call Number: PL799 .S2

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Tokai Miyage Tokuhyoejima

Title: Tokai Miyage Tokuhyoejima v. 1-2  渡海苞徳兵衛嶋 上・下

Author: 

Published: n.p.:1771 明和 8

Call Number: PL793 .T58

Subject:

Note: Ao-hon 青本.  Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Sakura Zoshi Gonichi Bundan

Title: Sakura Zoshi Gonichi Bundan  櫻荘子後日文談

Author: Namiki, Goryu 並木舎五柳 綴;錦朝棲芳虎画 (illus.)

Published: Edo 江戸: Kinkyodo 錦橋堂, 1861 文久1

Call Number: PL799 .N27

Shinpen Suiko Gaden

Title:  Shinpen Suiko Gaden 新編水滸畫傳 90v.

Author: Takizawa, Bakin 滝澤馬琴; Katsushika, Hokusai 葛飾北斎;

Takai, Ranzan 高井蘭山 

Published: Osaka 大阪: Kawachiya, Mohe  河内屋茂兵衛, 1807 文化4

Call Number: PL2694.S51807

Subject: Chinese fiction--Translations into Japanese.

Temariuta Sannin Musume 毬唄三人娘

Title: Temariuta Sannin Musume 毬唄三人娘 

Author: Shotei, Kinsui 松亭金水 作; Sansantei Arindo  山々亭有人 補綴

Published: 東都: 1862-1865    文久2- 慶応元

Call Number: PL799.S52

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: 人情本

Yamagiwa Collection

Shunshoku Edo Murasaki 春色江戸紫

Title: Shunshoku Edo Murasaki 春色江戸紫

Author: Sansantei, Arindo  山々亭有人 著; Utagawa, Yoshitora (illus.) 歌川芳虎 (猛斎)画

Published: Edo 江戸: 江戸亥永堂, 1864-1871 元治1-明治4

Call Number: PL799 .S23

Subject: Japanese fiction--Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: Ninjo bon 人情本

 Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Kinpira Shitenno 金平四天王

Title:Kinpira Shitenno 金平四天王

Author: 

Published: Japan: s.n.,18--

Call Number: PZ49.3 S49

Subject:

Note: Kurohon 黒本 

Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shuten Doji 酒呑童子

Title: Shuten Doji 酒呑童子 3v.

Author: 

Published:n.p.

Call Number: PZ49.3 S491

Subject: Japanese fiction -- 1185-1600.

Note: Kurohon 黒本 

Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Sato no Ikiji 廓意気地

Title: Sato no Ikiji 廓意気地

Author: Jippensha, Ikku 十返舎一九

Published: n.p.:1802 享和 2

Call Number: PL791.6 .T7 M29

Subject:

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Ichiji Senkin 一事千金

Title: Ichiji Senkin  一事千金

Author: Tanishi, Kingyo 田螺金魚 

Published: n.p.: s.n., 1778 安永7

Call Number: PL795.T3

Subject:

Note: Sharebon 洒落本

 Handwritten note with note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

 

Subject Guide

Rare Book and Manuscript Library's picture
Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Contact:
346 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-3777
Website
Subjects:Rare Books