Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Asian Rare Book Collection: Maps & Travel

886+ vols. The Asian Collection consists of material dating from the 14th to the 20th centuries.

Japanese Maps at RBML

Shiogama Matsushima no Zu 

陸奥国塩竈松島図 

Sakuma, Yoken 佐久間容軒

1728 享保13

RBML Homepage

Click here to go to Rare Book and Manuscript Library Homepage

or see  other finding aids for collections in Rare Book Library

Nagasaki Bunkenroku

Title:  Nagasaki Bunkenroku  長崎聞見録 v. 1-5

Author: Hirokawa, Kai  廣川懈

Published: Osaka 大阪:Okada, Shinjiro 岡田新治郎, 1800 寛政12

Call Number: DS805.H52

Subject: Nagasaki-shi (Japan)--Social life and customs.; Nagasaki-shi (Japan)--Foreign population.

Yamagiwa Collection

Naniwa Maru Komoku

Title:  Naniwa Maru Komoku   難波丸綱目 v. 1-7

Author: Shidagaki, Yosuke  志田垣与助

Published: Osaka: Naniwa Shorin 浪華書林, 1748 延享 5

Call Number: DS805 .S48

Subject: Heraldry

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shiogama Matsushima no Zu

Title:  Shiogama Matsushima no Zu  陸奥国塩竈松島図

Author: Sakuma, Yoken 佐久間容軒

Published: 1728  享保13

Other Author Name (s): Sakuma, Dogan 佐久間洞巌

Call Number: DS805.S23

Subject: Tohoku (Japan)--Guidebooks.

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Tokaido Bunken Ezu

Title:  Tokaido Bunken Ezu    東海道分間絵図

Author: Ochikochi, Doin 遠近道印 作; Hishikawa Moronobu (illus.) 菱川師宣 画

Published: Osaka: 1690 元禄3

Call Number: DS895.K32O26 1690

Subject: Tokaido (Japan)--Pictorial Works.

Yamagiwa Collection

Edo Suzume

Title:  Edo Suzume v. 8  江戸雀  8 巻

Author: HIshikawa Motonobu (illus.) 菱川師宣 画

Published: Edo 江戸: Tsuruya Kiemon 鶴屋喜右衛門, 1677 延宝5

Call Number: DS896.3.E3   

Subject: Tokyo (Japan)--Guidebooks.

Yamagiwa Collection

Nihon Ganoko

Title:  Nihon Ganoko 日本鹿子 15 v.

Author: Isogai, Shūya 磯貝舟也 著; Ishikawa, Tomonobu (illus.) 石川流宣 画

Published: Edo, Japan: 升屋五郎右衛門, 1716 正徳6

Call Number: G101.I8

Subject: Japan--Description and travel--Early works to 1800. 

      Japan--History, Local.

Yamagiwa Collection

Hizen Nagasaki Zu

Title:  Hizen Nagasakizu  肥前長崎図

Author: 

Published: Nagasaki, Japan: Bunkindo 文錦堂, 1802 享和2

Call Number: G7964.N3

Subject: Nagasaki-shi (Japan)--Maps, pictorial

Yamagiwa Collection

Echigo no Kuni Saiken Zu

Title:  Echigo no Kuni Saiken Zu 越後國細見圖

Author: 

Published: 17--.  n.p.

Call Number: G7964.N6E2   

Subject: Niigata-ken(Japan)---Maps.
Shows province of Echigo, which is now Niigata.

Yamagiwa Collection

Zushu Shimoda Minato no Zu

Title:  Zushu Shimoda Minato no Zu Kan  豆州下田港之圖 完

Author: 志都迺屋藏梓

Published:Nihonbashi Yamashiroya, Sahei.  日本橋 山城屋佐兵衛, 1855 安政2 

Call Number: G7964.S5Z8

Subject: Shimoda-shi(Japan)--History--Pictorial works

Shows Harbor of Shimoda

Yamagiwa Collection

Oedo no Ezu

Title:  OEdo no Ezu 御江戸之絵図(江戸大絵図)

Author:

Published: Edo 江戸:Hyoshiya, Ichirobe. 表紙屋市良兵衛, 1682 天和2

Call Number: G7963.T7E3

Subject: Tokyo (Japan) --Maps.

Yamagiwa Collection

Koei O-Edo Ezu

Title:  Koei Oedo Ezu 紅英御江戸絵図

Author: Kitagawa, Socho.  喜多川草鳥

Published: Tokyo 東京: 紅英堂蔦屋吉蔵, 1853

Call Number: G7964.T7K5 

Subject: Tokyo (Japan) --Maps.

Shows city of Edo.  Shows location of all daimyo estates.

Kairiku Dochu Gafu

Title:  Kairiku Dochu Gafu 海陸道中画譜 v.1 (contents: Osaka 大阪-Shimonoseki 下関)

Author: Hashimoto, Gyokuransai (illus.) 橋本玉蘭斎 画

Published: Toto 東都: Kinkodo 金華堂, 1864

Call Number: G7980 .H31

Subject: Maps.

Shows from Osaka to Shimonoseki.

Yamagiwa Collection

Fujimi Jusanshu Yochi no Zenzu

Title:  Fujimi Jusanshu Yochi no Zenzu 冨士見十三州輿地之全図

Author: Akiyama, Nagatoshi 秋山永年

Published: Edo 江戸: Shuseido 象星堂, 1842 天保 12

Call Number: G7982 .K3 A38   

Subject: Kanto-Region (Japan)--Maps.

Shows provinces from which Mt. Fuji can be seen.

Yamagiwa Collection

Subject Guide

Rare Book and Manuscript Library's picture
Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Contact:
346 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-3777
Website
Subjects:Rare Books