Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Asian Rare Book Collection: Literature

886+ vols. The Asian Collection consists of material dating from the 14th to the 20th centuries.

Japanese Illustrations at RBML

Sakura Zoshi Gonichi Bundan  櫻荘子後日文談

Namiki, Goryu 並木舎五柳: 錦朝棲芳虎 画 (illus.)

1861 文久1

RBML Homepage

Click here to go to Rare Book and Manuscript Library Homepage

or see  other finding aids for collections in Rare Book Library

Ise Monogatari いせ物語

Title:  Ise Monogatari いせ物語

Author: 

Published: Japan: [unknown], 1494 明應 3

Call Number: PL787.I8 1494

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Document Type: Manuscript

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Ise Monogatari 伊勢物語

Title:  Ise Monogatari 伊勢物語 2 v.

Author: 

Published: Japan: [unknown], 1627 寛永6

Call Number: PL787.I8 1627

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Ise Monogatari 伊勢物語

Title:  Ise Monogatari 伊勢物語 2 v.

Author: 

Published: Japan: [unknown], 1671 寛文 11

Call Number: PL787.I8  1671

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Ise Monogatari Kashiragaki Sho 伊勢物語 首書抄

Title:  Ise Monogatari kashiragaki sho 伊勢物語 首書抄

Author: Sakado, Sanun 坂門山雲 注

Published: Kyoto 京都: Shorindo 書林堂; 1674 延宝2

Call Number: PL787. I8 1674

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book

Yamagiwa Collection

Ise Monogatari い勢物がたり

Title: Ise Monogatari い勢物がたり

Author:Kondo Kiyoharu (illus.) 近藤清春画

Published: Edo 江戸: Urokokataya  うろこかたや ,1725 享保14

Call Number: PL787. I8 1725

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Taketori Monogatari 繪入り 竹とり物語

Title: Eiri Taketori Monogatari 繪入り 竹とり物語

Author: 

Published:185-

Call Number: PL787.T3

Subject: Japanese fiction--Heian period, 794-1185.

Note: Handwritten note on value of book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Taketori Monogatari 竹取物語

Title: Taketori Monogatari v. 1-17 (missing vol. 18) 竹取物語

Author: Santo, Kyozan 山東京山 作; Utagawa, Kunisada 歌川國貞; Utagawa, Toyokuni (illus.) 歌川豊國 画

Published: Edo 江戸 : Moriya Jihei 森屋治兵衛, 1838-1856 天保9-安政3

Call Number: PL799 .S2

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period, 794-1185.

Yamagiwa Collection

Gikeiki 義経記

Title: Gikeiki (Shinpan Gikeiki) 義経記

Author: 

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1697 元禄10

Call Number: PL790.G5 1697

Subject: Minamoto, Yoshitsune, 1159-1189 -- Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Genji Monogatari 源氏物語

Title:  Genji Monogatari 源氏物語 30v.

Author: Murasaki, Shikibu 紫式部

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 16--

Call Number: PL788.4. G3 16--

Subject: Princes--Japan--Fiction.

Aristocracy (Social Class)--Japan--Fiction.

Japan--Social Life and Customs--794--1185--Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Gengo Hiketsusho 源語秘訣抄

Title: Gengo Hiketsusho 源語秘訣抄

Author: Ichijo, Kaneyoshi 一条兼良

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1680  延宝 8

Call Number: PL788.4 .G3 I2

Subject:

Yamagiwa Collection

Heiji Monogatari 平治物語

Title: Heiji Monogatari 平治物語

Author: 

Published: n.p: ca.1630

Call Number: [unknown]: [unknown] ,H38 1630

Subject: Japan--History--Hogen and Heiji Insurrections, 1156-1159--Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shinpan Heiji Monogatari 新版平治物語

Title: Shinpan Heiji Monogatari 新版平治物語

Author: 

Published: Kyoto 京都: Yasuda, Jubei 安田十兵衛, 1657 明暦 3

Call Number:  PL790.H38 1657

Subject: Japan--History--Hogen and Heiji Insurrections, 1156-1159--Fiction.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shinpan Heike Monogatari 新版平家物語

Title: Shinpan Heike Monogatari 新版平家物語 v.1-12

Author: 

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1682 天和2

Call Number: PL790.H4 1682

Subject: Japan--History--Gempei Wars, 1180-1185--Fiction

Yamagiwa Collection

Senjusho 撰集抄

Title: Senjusho 撰集抄

Author: Saigyo 西行

Published: Kyoto 京都: Murakami Heirakuji 村上平楽寺, 1651 慶安4

Call Number: PL787.S4

Subject:

Yamagiwa Collection

Utsubo Monogatari うつぼ物語

Title: Utsubo Monogatari  うつぼ物語 20 v.

Author: 

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1677 延賓5 

Call Number: PL787.U8 1677

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Heian period.

Horai no Makimono 蓬萊の巻物

Title: Horai no Makikono 蓬萊の巻物

Author:Horai Monogatari 蓬萊物語

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 17th cent.?

Call Number: PL790.H6

Subject:

Kokon Chomon Shu 古今著聞集

Title: Kokon Chomon Shu 古今著聞集

Author: Tachibana, Narisue 橘成季 

Published: [unknown]:[unknown], [unknown].

Call Number: PL792 .T2

Subject:Japanese prose literature -- 1185-1600. ; Japanese literature -- 1185-1600. ; Japanese fiction -- 1185-1600.

Note: Manuscript  写本

Yamagiwa Collection

Sato no Ikiji 廓意気地

Title: Sato no Ikiji 廓意気地

Author: Jippensha, Ikku 十返舎一九

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1802 享和 2

Call Number: PL791.6 .T7 M29

Subject:

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Eiri Kasen 絵入歌仙

Title:  Eiri Kasen 絵入歌仙

Author: 

Published: Kyoto  京都: Yamamoto, Matabei 山本又兵衛, 1653 承応2

Call Number: PL 758 .K2 1653

Subject: Japanese Poetry

Note: Handwritten note on the value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Shin Hyakunin Isshu 新百人一首

Title:  Shin Hyakunin Isshu 新百人一首 2 v.

Author: Nakanoin, Michimura 中院通村公御 筆

Published: Kyoto 京都: [unknown], 1657 明暦3

Call Number: PL 758.5 .S35 1657

Subject: Japanese poetry--To 1600--Hitory and Criticism

Wakan Roei Shu 和漢朗詠集

Title: Wa-kan Roei Shu 和漢朗詠集 2 v.

Author: Fujiwarano, Kinto 藤原公任 

Published: Kyoto 京都: [unknown], ca. 1630 寛永

Call Number: PL 758.5 .W35 1630

Subject: Japanese poetry--To 1185; Waka; Chinese Poetry.

Note: Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Wakan Roei Shu Chu 和漢朗詠集註

Title:  Wakan roei shu chu 和漢朗詠集註 10 v.

Author: Kitamura, Kigin 北村季吟 

Published: Kyoto 京都: Nakano Shobei 中野小衛門, 1671 寛文11

Call Number: PL 758.5 .W35 N53

Subject: Chinese poetry--Collections

Wakan Roei Shu 和漢朗詠集

Title:  Wakan roei shu  和漢朗詠集 2 v.

Other Titles: Wakan roei shu hiragana-tsuki koshaku iri  和漢朗詠集 平加那付講釈入

Author: Fujiwarano, Kinto  藤原公任; 山崎久作 撰

Published: Edo  江戸: 玉屋久五郎, 1843 天保14  

Call Number: PL 758.5 .W35 Y28

Subject: Japanese poetry--To 1185; Chinese Poetry.

Yamagiwa Collection

Tokai Miyage Tokuhyoejima 渡海苞徳兵衛嶋

Title: Tokai Miyage Tokuhyoejima v. 1-2  渡海苞徳兵衛嶋 上・下

Author: 

Published: [unknown]: [unknown], 1771 明和 8

Call Number: PL793 .T58

Subject:

Note: Ao-hon 青本.  Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Temariuta Sannin Musume 毬唄三人娘

Title: Temariuta Sannin Musume 毬唄三人娘 

Author: Shotei, Kinsui 松亭金水 作; Sansantei Arindo  山々亭有人 補綴

Published: 東都: [unknown], 1862-1865    文久2- 慶応元

Call Number: PL799.S52

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: Ninjo-bon 人情本

Yamagiwa Collection

Shunshoku Edo Murasaki 春色江戸紫

Title: Shunshoku Edo Murasaki 春色江戸紫

Author: Sansantei, Arindo  山々亭有人 著;

            Utagawa, Yoshitora (illus.) 歌川芳虎(猛斎)画

Published: Edo 江戸: 玄永堂, 1864-1871 元治1-明治4

Call Number: PL799 .S23

Subject: Japanese fiction--Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: Ninjo bon 人情本

 Handwritten note on value of the book.

Yamagiwa Collection

Chinsetsu Yumiharizuki 椿説弓張月

Title: Chinsetsu Yumiharizuki v. 1-30 椿説弓張月

Author: Takizawa, Bakin 瀧澤馬琴 著; Katsushika, Hokusai (illus.) 葛飾北斎 画

Published: Edo 江戸: Hirabayashi Shogoro 平林 庄五郎, 1807-1811 文化4-8

Call Number: PL798.4 .C5 1807

Subject: Minamoto, Tametomo 源為朝

Shunshoku Eitai Dango 春色英對暖語

Title: Shunshoku Eitai Dango 春色英對暖語

Author: Tamenaga, Shunsui 為永春水 著; Utagawa, Kuninao (illus.) 歌川國直 画; Seisai, Eiichi (joint illus.) 静斎英一.

Published: [unknown]:[unknown], 1838 天保9.

Call Number: PL798.6 .T3

Subject: Japanese fiction -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Yamagiwa Collection

Myochikurinwa Shichi Henjin 妙竹林話七偏人

Title: Myochikurinwa Shichi Henjin 妙竹林話七偏人

Author: Baitai, Kinga 梅亭金鵞 編次; Umenomoto Osai (illus.) 梅の本 鶯斎 画

Published: Tokyo 東京: Okawa, Jokichi 大川錠吉, 1883 明治16

Call Number: PL799 .B25

Subject: Japanese wit and humor -- Edo period, 1600-1868.

Note: Kokkeibon  滑稽本

Yamagiwa Collection

Sakura Zoshi Gonichi Bundan 櫻荘子後日文談

Title: Sakura Zoshi Gonichi Bundan  櫻荘子後日文談

Author: Namiki, Goryu 並木舎五柳 綴;錦朝棲芳虎画 (illus.)

Published: Edo 江戸: Kinkyodo 錦橋堂, 1861 文久1

Call Number: PL799 .N27

Shinpen Suiko Gaden 新編水滸畫傳

Title:  Shinpen Suiko Gaden 新編水滸畫傳 90v.

Author: Takizawa, Bakin 滝澤馬琴; Katsushika, Hokusai 葛飾北斎;

Takai, Ranzan 高井蘭山 

Published: Osaka 大阪: Kawachiya, Mohe  河内屋茂兵衛, 1807 文化4

Call Number: PL2694.S51807

Subject: Chinese fiction--Translations into Japanese.

Subject Guide

Rare Book and Manuscript Library's picture
Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Contact:
346 Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
217-333-3777
Website
Subjects:Rare Books