Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies: Sociological Abstracts

A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region

Articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, & conference papers

Like Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts is offered through ProGuest (previously CSA Illumina interface) and is one of the most extensive collections of materials in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. SA "provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database extending the depth of the backfile." It enables Cited Reference Linking for certain records (namely those entered since 2002 from so-called "key" sociological journals), includes browsable indexes, and uses an in-house classfication scheme. In addition to basic and advanced search options, there is a search mechanism for figures and tables. Searching can be refined to focus only on peer reviewed journals, by language, subject, document type, etc.

  • Over 900,000 records
  • Articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, and conference papers, all with abstracts
  • 1,947 journals indexed
  • 1952-present -- UIUC's subscription only goes back to 1960
  • Updated monthly, with approximately 30,000 new records each year
  • Also available in print

 

Searching for "family structure" AND "Russia"  gives the following result:

Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website