Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies: MLA

A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region

Modern Language Association International Bibliography

MLA features some of the best retrospective coverage among databases in the social sciences and humanities, indexing a wide range of materials as far back as 1926. Over 1.8 million citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations on modern languages, literature, film and folklore are included. In many cases book reviews can also be found. Translations of literary works are not indexed in MLA.

  • Indexes materials from over 1,000 book publishers and over 7,000 journals and series, which are listed (and individually searchable) via the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
  • Huge number of search options
  • Includes a thesaurus

For a Western database, MLA indexes a massive amount of material on Slavic and East European languages and literatures, and can be extremely useful to researchers. There are over 20,384 MLA records, for example, that have been assigned the descriptor "Ukrainian literature." Thanks to the huge number of search options and MLA's flexible interface, result lists of this size can easily be narrowed to more manageable proportions. Adding "postmodernism" in a Boolean search narrows the field to 21 articles.  Here's what a hit looks like:

 

 

 

The menu at the top of the interface demonstrates the variety of options the database can be mined:

Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website