The Citation Indexes do not consistently use the Library of Congress transliteration system for Russian. Researchers may want to experiment with less common transliteration systems.  

The indexes only include articles for which the author or publisher provides English-language titles, abstracts and keywords -- i.e., out of millions of records, only 58,015 are in Russian – many from non-Russian journals. 

Therefore, neither cited reference searching nor regular document searching through these databases for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian language materials is comprehensive. Searching for materials in English about the region generates more results, but it is important to consider that the Citation Indexes are general databases without particular emphasis on Eastern Europe or the CIS.  

The Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index can both be searched individually as part of the Web of Science Core Collection. The complete Web of Science package also includes sciences citation indexes; to search in either or both the Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index only, make sure that you select the appropriate index(es) under the “Editions” dropdown menu.  

The Social Sciences Citation Index includes retrospective coverage back to 1900, while the Arts & Humanities Citation Index includes retrospective coverage back to 1975.  These collections index the world’s leading social sciences, humanities, and arts journals with selected, relevant items from major journals in other disciplines.

One advantage of Web of Science, including the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, is that it allows users to perform a cited reference search. Cited reference searching enables you to discover who has cited a specific article, how many times an article has been cited, related articles, and citations of a specific author’s publications more generally.  

To perform a cited reference search, on the main search interface page, select “Cited References” tab instead of the default “Documents” tab.  

Or, when viewing the record for an article, the user can click on the number of citations shown in the “Citation Network” panel on the righthand side of the page to view other sources citing the original item.  

Journal Citation Reports may also be accessed from the Web of Science Core Collection. Journal Citation Reports is a publication that provides journal usage information for periodicals in the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities. This includes journals’ total number of citations as well as the Journal Impact Factor, a research metric that measures the citation frequency of a journal’s “average” article. Users can access Journal Citation Reports from the “products” menu in the top right-hand corner in Web of Science.