Historical Abstracts provides significant Slavic, East European & Eurasian language coverage, with roughly 5% of their over 1,500,000 sources being in regional languages including: Albanian, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Baltic languages, Belarusian, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Georgian, Hungarian, Kazakh, Macedonian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovene, Turkish, Ukrainian, Uzbek, and Yiddish.​​​​​

Historical Abstracts follows the standard U.S. system (Library of Congress) for transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, without diacritics. 

Historical Abstracts indexes over 1,700 academic historical journals in more than 40 languages back to 1450. The database primarily covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada), but also includes sources from other humanities and social sciences disciplines are included for historical material. All article titles are translated into English, with brief English abstracts.  

Patrons looking for sources on American and/or Canadian history should consult the related database America: History & Life. 

Both databases offer two differentt search interfaces. The classic EBSCO user interface for both Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life offer the following advantages: 

• Exporting 50+ results  

• Combining saved searches 

• Cited reference searching  

Cited reference searching enables you to discover who has cited a specific article, how many times an article has been cited, related articles, and citations of a specific author’s publications more generally.  To perform a cited reference search, open the classic EBSCO interfaces and select “Cited References” in the top orange menu bar.