Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies: Historical Abstracts

A guide to 13 databases with significant content in both English and the languages of the region

Linguistic coverage

Of the current 1,000,000 records in the Historical Abstracts database, about one-ninth are for items written in Slavic, East European & Eurasian languages, as follows:

Russian: nearly 50,000

Polish: over 19,000

Czech: over 9,300

Slovak: over 2,000

Hungarian: almost 8,000

Serbo-Croatian: almost 7,000

Bulgarian: over 4,700

Romanian: over 6,000

Ukrainian: about 5,500

Albanian: over 1,400

Baltic languages: about 2,500

Slovenian: over 3,200

Armenian, Macedonian, Yiddish, and other languages of the region: less than 1,000

Total: almost 120,000

Transliteration

Historical Abstracts follows the standard U.S. system (Library of Congress) for transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, without diacritics.

Articles, dissertations & masters' theses

Historical Abstracts indexes more than 2,600 academic journals in over 40 languages. Subject focus os history, although sources from other disciplines in the humanties, including anthropology, political science and sociology are included for historical material. All article titles are translated into English and brief English abstracts are also provided.

  • "Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present"
  • "Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts has long been recognized as the leading bibliography for historical study in the world...a historical periodical database unmatched in breadth."
  • 1955-present -- further retrospective coverage (i.e., for articles published before 1955) is being added
  • Includes articles, dissertations, & masters' theses
  • Over 770,000 records

 The Cited References feature is one of many ways one can mine the database ina focused manner:

In addition to the general Historical Abstracts database, EBSCO has recently added two specialized databases of full-text materials, one for the United States and one for the rest of the world. The former, "America: History & Life," currently offers 255 journals and 83 monographs. The latter is called "Historical Abstracts with Full-Text," and it currently offers 405 journal titles and 140 digitized monographs.

Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website