Queer Studies in Japan
Queer Japanese by
Abe presents a comprehensive picture of the linguistic strategies employed by Japanese sexual minorities in various social contexts, from magazine advice columns to bars to text messaging on cell phones to private homes.
ISBN: 9780230622364Publication Date: 2010-04-14
Male Homosexuality in Modern Japan by
This book is the first to look at the wide range of contrasting images of the gay male body in Japanese popular culture, both mainstream and gay, and relate these images to the experience of an interview sample of Japanese gay men. In so doing, it touches on a number of important issues, including whether there can be a universal 'gay identity' and whether or not strategies developed for increasing gay and lesbian visibility in western countries are appropriate to the social situation in Japan
ISBN: 070071300XPublication Date: 2000-10-12
Feminism in Modern Japan by
Feminism in Modern Japan is an original and path-breaking book which traces the history of feminist thought and women's activism in Japan from the late nineteenth century to the present. The author offers a fascinating account of those who struck out against convention in the dissemination of ideas which challenged accepted notions of thinking about women, men and society generally. Feminist activism took diverse forms as women questioned their roles as subjects of the Emperor, or explored the limits of citizenship under the more liberal post-war constitution. The story is brought to life through translated extracts of the writings of Japanese feminists. This cogent, carefully documented analysis will be welcomed by students from a range of disciplines including those working on gender studies and feminist history, where nothing comparable is currently available.
ISBN: 0521820189Publication Date: 2003-02-26
Rethinking Japanese Feminisms by
Rethinking Japanese Feminisms offers a broad overview of the great diversity of feminist thought and practice in Japan from the early twentieth century to the present. Drawing on methodologies and approaches from anthropology, cultural studies, gender and sexuality studies, history, literature, media studies, and sociology, each chapter presents the results of research based on some combination of original archival research, careful textual analysis, ethnographic interviews, and participant observation. The volume is organized into sections focused on activism and activists, employment and education, literature and the arts, and boundary crossing. Some chapters shed light on ideas and practices that resonate with feminist thought but find expression through the work of writers, artists, activists, and laborers who have not typically been considered feminist; others revisit specific moments in the history of Japanese feminisms in order to complicate or challenge the dominant scholarly and popular understandings of specific activists, practices, and beliefs. The chapters are contextualized by an introduction that offers historical background on feminisms in Japan, and a forward-looking conclusion that considers what it means to rethink Japanese feminism at this historical juncture. Building on more than four decades of scholarship on feminisms in Japanese and English, as well as decades more on women's history, Rethinking Japanese Feminisms offers a diverse and multivocal approach to scholarship on Japanese feminisms unmatched by existing publications. Written in language accessible to students and non-experts, it will be at home in the hands of students and scholars, as well as activists and others interested in gender, sexuality, and feminist theory and activism in Japan and in Asia more broadly.
ISBN: 9780824866693Publication Date: 2017-12-31
Learning Gender & Sexuality in Japan on Youtube
Helpful Websites
- LibGuide: History 200C: Queer SexualitiesThis guide was created to provide an overview of what Queer Theory is as well as guide you in your search for materials that are in conversation with Queer Theory among the University of Illinois Library's sources and beyond.
- Japanese Special Collections at Yale: LGBTQAlong with the strong LGBTQ collection at Yale, the library has been collecting materials on LGBTQ communities in Japan since 2006.
Additional Helpful Databases
The detailed, full list of over 25 fee-based and open-access databases for Japanese studies is available HERE. Listed below are some excerpts of the databases that we offer.
- JapanKnowledge (Online collection of dictionaries and encyclopedia)Access available from computers with Illinois IP address. Use library’s proxy authentication for off-campus access. Further information and instructions for use can be found on a LibGuide at http://guides.library.illinois.edu/JapanKnowledge
- Yomidasu Rekishikandirect access available from computers with Illinois IP address. Use library’s proxy authentication for off-campus access. Further information and instructions for use can be found on a LibGuide at http://guides.library.illinois.edu/YomidasuRekishikan
- Asahi shinbun kurosu sāchiA database of Asahi shinbun newspapers published from 1879 to the present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
