Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books Available in Library
Japan by Japan: History and Culture from Classical to Cool provides a historical account of Japan's elite and popular cultures from premodern to modern periods. Drawing on the most up-to-date scholarship across numerous disciplines, Nancy K. Stalker presents the key historical themes, cultural trends, and religious developments throughout Japanese history. Focusing on everyday life and ordinary consumption, this is the first textbook of its kind to explore both imperial and colonial culture and offer expanded content on issues pertaining to gender and sexuality. Organized into fourteen chronological and thematic chapters, this text explores some of the most notable and engaging aspects of Japanese life and is well suited for undergraduate classroom use.
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
The Tale of Genji by The Tale of Genji was written in the eleventh century by Murasaki Shikibu, a lady of the Heian court. It is universally recognized as the greatest masterpiece of Japanese prose narrative, perhaps the earliest true novel in the history of the world. Until now there has been no translation that is both complete and scrupulously faithful to the original text. Edward G. Seidensticker's masterly rendering was first published in two volumes in 1976 and immediately hailed as a classic of the translator's art. It is here presented in one unabridged volume, illustrated throughout by woodcuts taken from a 1650 Japanese edition of The Tale of Genji.
Publication Date: 1978-07-12
Religion in the Japanese Experience by The author's intention in compiling this anthology is to help the reader see Japanese religion more concretely, as it is found within the history of the tradition and experience of the people. The overall purpose of the selections, which represent various historical periods and schools of thought, is to show what religion means in the Japanese experience.
Publication Date: 1996-10-07
A Companion to Japanese History by A Companion to Japanese History provides an authoritativeoverview of current debates and approaches within the study ofJapan?s history. Composed of 30 chapters written by an international group ofscholars Combines traditional perspectives with the most recentscholarly concerns Supplements a chronological survey with targeted thematicanalyses Presents stimulating interventions into individualcontroversies
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Japanese History & Literature on Youtube
The detailed, full list of over 25 fee-based and open-access databases for Japanese studies is available HERE. Listed below are some excerpts of the databases that we offer.
JapanKnowledge (Online collection of dictionaries and encyclopedia)
Access available from computers with Illinois IP address. Use library’s proxy authentication for off-campus access. Further information and instructions for use can be found on a LibGuide at http://uiuc.libguides.com/JapanKnowledge
direct access available from computers with Illinois IP address. Use library’s proxy authentication for off-campus access. Further information and instructions for use can be found on a LibGuide at http://uiuc.libguides.com/YomidasuRekishikan
Kikuzo II Visual
The Kikuzo II Visual is an online database of the Asahi Newspaper company, featuring articles, advertisements, and images. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies