Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Religion & Spirituality
The Essence of Shinto by In The Essence of Shinto, revered Shinto master Motohisa Yamakage explains the core values of Shinto and explores both basic tenets and its more esoteric points in terms readily accessible to the modern Western reader. He shows how the long history of Shintoism is deeply woven into the fabric of Japanese spirituality and mythology--indeed, it is regarded as Japan's very spiritual roots--and discusses its role in modern Japan and the world. He also carefully analyzes the relationship of the spirit and the soul, which will provide informed and invaluable insight into
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Kamakura by The Kamakura period (1185-1333) is considered a pinnacle of Japanese artistic expression, often described as a renaissance in Buddhist art. This catalogue is the first in over two decades to examine the exquisite sculpture of this period, artwork characterized by an intense corporeal presence, naturalistic proportions, a sense of movement, realistic drapery, and lifelike facial expressions animated by eyes made of inlaid crystal. The sculptures played an important role in the practice of Buddhism during these years, as the vivid representations facilitated an immediate communion between deity and worshipper. The custom of placing sacred relics, texts, and even miniature icons into the sculptures' hollow interiors further enlivened the works and invested them with spiritual significance. Essays by noted scholars explore the sculptures' arresting exteriors and powerful interiors, examining the technical and stylistic innovations that made them possible, and offering new context for their ritual and devotional uses. They demonstrate that the physical beauty and technical brilliance of Kamakura statues are profoundly associated with their spiritual dimension and devotional functions.
Publication Date: 2016-02-23
The Category of 'Religion' in Contemporary Japan by This book critically examines the term 'religion' (shūkyō) as a social category within the sociological context of contemporary Japan. Whereas the nineteenth-century construction of shūkyō has been critically studied by many, the same critical approach has not been extended to the contemporary context of the Japanese-language discourse on shūkyō and Temple Buddhism. This work aims to unveil the norms and imperatives which govern the utilization of the term shūkyō in the specific context of modern day Japan, with a particular focus upon Temple Buddhism. The author draws on a number of popular publications in Japanese, many of which have been written by Buddhist priests. In addition, the book offers rich interview material from conversations with Buddhist priests. Readers will gain insights into the critical deconstruction, the historicization, and the study of social classification system of 'religion', in terms of its cross-cultural application to the contemporary Japanese context. The book will be of interest to students and scholars across a range of disciplines including Japanese Studies, Buddhology, Religious Studies, Social Anthropology, and Sociology.
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Learning Buddhism & Shinto on Youtube
Encyclopedia of Shinto
The website is a searchable encyclopedia that covers wide range of Shinto concepts, practices, and briefs, including deities, economics, architecture, objects of worship, rituals, performing arts, and folk religion.
Shinto Articles in Translation
The website provides about a dozen articles on Shinto tranlated from Japanese to English, and vice-versa.
Images of Shinto: A Beginner's Pictorial Guide
The website provides briefs explanations for Shinto terms, such as shrine architecture and life cycle rituals.
Buddhism in Japan
This website briefly yet comprehensively provides introduction to Buddhism in Japan. It's a good page to start with before you use any database or specialized resources.
Japanese Buddhist Art in European Collections
JBAE - Japanese Buddhist Art in European Collections, is a database jointly built by a team of the Research Center of International Japanese Studies of the Hosei University and the Institute of Asian and Oriental Studies of the University of Zurich.
Japanese Buddhism and Related Religions by University of British Columbia
This provides various links to database, articles, and dictionaries that are specific to Japanese Buddhism.
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies