Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Popular Culture
Fanning the Flames by A fascinating look at fans of a variety of popular culture phenomena in Japan.
Publication Date: 2004-07-15
A History of Popular Culture in Japan by The phenomenon of 'Cool Japan' is one of the distinctive features of global popular culture of the millennial age. A History of Popular Culture in Japan provides the first historical and analytical overview of popular culture in Japan from its origins in the 17th century to the present day, using it to explore broader themes of conflict, power, identity and meaning in Japanese history.E. Taylor Atkins shows how Japan is one of the earliest sites for the development of mass-produced, market-oriented cultural products consumed by urban middle and working classes. The best-known traditional arts and culture of Japan- no theater, monochrome ink painting, court literature, poetry and indigenous music-inhabited a world distinct from that of urban commoners, who fashioned their own expressive forms and laid the groundwork for today's 'gross national cool.' Popular culture was pivotal in the rise of Japanese nationalism, imperialism, militarism, postwar democracy and economic development.Offering historiographical and analytical frameworks for understanding its subject, A History of Popular Culture in Japan synthesizes the latest scholarship from a variety of disciplines. It is a vital resource for students of Japanese cultural history wishing to gain a deeper understanding of Japan's contributions to global cultural heritage.
Publication Date: 2017-10-19
Consuming Japan by This insightful book explores the intense and ultimately fleeting moment in 1980s America when the future looked Japanese. Would Japan's remarkable post-World War II economic success enable the East Asian nation to overtake the United States? Or could Japan's globe-trotting corporations serve as a model for battered U.S. industries, pointing the way to a future of globalized commerce and culture? While popular films and literature recycled old anti-Asian imagery and crafted new ways of imagining the "yellow peril," and formal U.S.-Japan relations remained locked in a holding pattern of Cold War complacency, a remarkable shift was happening in countless local places throughout the United States: Japanese goods were remaking American consumer life and injecting contemporary globalization into U.S. commerce and culture. What impact did the flood of billions of Japanese things have on the ways Americans produced, consumed, and thought about their place in the world? From autoworkers to anime fans, Consuming Japan introduces new unorthodox actors into foreign-relations history, demonstrating how the flow of all things Japanese contributed to the globalizing of America in the late twentieth century.
Publication Date: 2017-08-31
Graphic Novels by Adding graphic novels to your library collection is a surefire way to boost circulation and build customer loyalty. But with thousands of graphic novels being published annually and no sign of a slowdown, how do you determine which graphic novels to purchase, and which to recommend to teen and adult readers? This guide is intended to help you start, update, or maintain a graphic novel collection and advise readers about the genre. It covers more than 2,400 titles, including series titles, and organizes them according to genre, subgenre, and theme-from super-heroes and adventure to crime, humor, and nonfiction. Reading levels, awards/recognition, and core titles are identified; and tie-ins with gaming, film, anime, and television are noted. Grade 6 through adult. In addition, it will cite resources for learning more about the genre, and provide information on awards. Hundreds of images illustrate the guide.
Publication Date: 2006-12-30
Getting know more about Manga on Youtube
Libguide on Anime and Manga
This resource guide serves to provide an introduction to resources regarding anime and manga available at or through the University of Illinois. This resource guide is divided into three main parts. The "7th Century to Early Modern" section of this libguide provides information about historical manga and cartoons in Japan, with an emphasis on locating primary sources and images. This section of the guide mainly utilizes Japanese-language resources. The "Contemporary Manga and Anime" section is organized thematically, and is intended to provide an introduction to the Japanese and English language materials available at the University of Illinois. Much of the manga available is located in the Undergraduate Library's bottom level. The "Resources on Manga and Anime" section is intended to organize secondary research materials about anime and manga. Books, articles and journals written about manga and anime are located here.
Duke University Research Guide on Manga
Duke's Japanese Studies collection supports scholarly activities across a broad range of disciplines and topics. This provides an introduction to key databases, journals and print sources or specific sources for data, film, images and primary sources.
Pop Culture Universe
Created as part of the ABC-CLIO online resource, this Web site is a database that invites visitors to explore a variety of topics related to American pop culture. Browse through information on American pop culture by decade and more. In addition, learn about the history of music, fashion and entertainment in the United States.
Mechademia is a journal on anime and manga (Full-text available in Project MUSE) Mechademia’s subject area extends from manga and anime to game design, fashion, graphics, packaging, and toy industries, as well as a broad range of fan practices related to popular culture in Japan. We are interested in how the academic and fan communities can provide new possibilities for critical thinking and popular writing. Mechademia appears annually, published by the University of Minnesota Press."
The website provides links to various academic resources of interest to those who study or teach comics in classrooms. Links include dissertations and theses.
Cool Japan (Asahi.com) provides news on Anime and pop culture. This website is provided by Asahi Shinbun, one of the major newspapers in Japan.
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies