Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Central Asian Sovereignty in the Face of Massive Dislocation: Migration Guides

This guide is designed for 2010 Junior Scholars Training Workshop. Moderator: Russell Zanca, Ph.D., Northeastern Illinois University, Anthropology

Period of Coverage: 1992-1997

миграция населения в постсоветских государствах. аннотированная библиография российских изданий 1992-1997 гг = Migration of the population in Post-Soviet States: Annotated Bibliography of Russian Publications 1992-1997

Ms. Zhanna Zaionchkovskaia has produced several bibliographies dedicated to the field of migration studies for Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States.  According to the compilers, this bibliography contains "... an annotated list of Russian publications, from the period 1992-1997, which examine the problems of migration in the post-soviet states."  Researchers can best explore this bibliography through the table of contents and the author index (pp. 177-181).  In terms of topical coverage, this bibliography is divided into the following topical sections:  migratsionnoe pravo i migratsionnaia politika; obshchaia kharakteristika migratsionnykh protsessov;  vynuzhdennaia migratsiia; emigratsiia i immigratsiia; trudovaia migratsiia; etnomigratsionnye protsessy; regiony Rossii.  This bibliography should be included in any migration inquiry for CIS States.   

Bibliographies

Migratsii v transformiruiushchemsia obschestve: annotirovannyi bibliograficheskii ukazatel' literatury, izdannoi v stranakh SNG 1992-1999 gg. Tsentr izucheniia problem vynuzhennoi migratsii v SNG. Moskva: Kompleks-Progress, 2000.  Period of Coverage: 1992-1999.  OCLC Accession Number: 48917288.  ISBN: 5893420268.  Locations: Stanford University; Yale University; Harvard University; Columbia University; University of Washington. 


___________________________________________________________________

35 лет исследований в области миграции в центре по изучению проблем народонаселения (1967-2002 гг.): аннотированный библиографический указатель = Migration of population: 35 years of research at the center for population studies of the Moscow State 'Lomonosov University (1967-2002): annotated bibliography.   This bibliography is part of a monographic series, " International migration of population: Russia and the contemporary world."  There are approximately 221 entries for articles, conference papers, monographs, and reports.  The compilers have included a short publicaiton for this monographic series.  Annotations for nine issues are listed.  This is title is No. 7. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

МГУ Кафедра народонаселения:  this is the official website for the Departmetn of Population Studies at Moscow State University.  The center has compiled a list of online resources and publications for migration studies.  You can view the list here

Period of Coverage: 1985-1996

СССР--СНГ--РОССИЯ: ГЕОГРАФИЯ НАСЕЛЕНИЯ И СОЦИАЛьНАЯ ГЕОГРАФИЯ 1985-1996.  АНАЛИТИКО-БИБЛИОГРАФИЧЕСКИЙ ОБЗОР. ISBN: 5-8360-0180-2.  UIUC Call Number: 016

Published in 2001, this bibliography is a giant among migration sources for Russia and Central Asia.  Instead of the traditional bibliography setup, the editors have organized the content into topical sections.  Each section has a bibliography attached to it.  The topical sections include:  Urbanization and urban settlement; Microgeography of cities and urban environment; Rural settlement; Geography of the standards of the living of the population; Recreation and settlement; Population and demogeography; Migrations of the population; Population and problems of employment; The geography of culture and ethnogeography; Ecological problems of the settlement; Selected works in foreign languages; The Soviet and Russian demographic statistics; Review of archival sources.