Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About U.S. Population and Demographics
This page refers primarily to selected sources of general statistics in the social sciences, health, and education. Other libraries on campus, particularly Government Information Services and Scholarly Commons have additional important sources of statistical information.
Census Atlas of the United States
Includes extensive maps about a variety of topics including race, age, language, work and education “A majority of the maps in the Census Atlas present data at the county level, but data also are sometimes mapped by state, census tract (for largest cities and metropolitan areas), and for selected American Indian reservations.”
Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey is a joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Bureau of the Census to collect, analyze and disseminate information on labor force characteristics in the United States for policy makers, legislators, researchers and students. The site is searchable and also provides links to related surveys and supplements.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau should be the first stop for anyone looking for statistics on social, demographic or economic data on a national, state or local level. Information is available from a variety of sources, including the decennial censuses from 1990 to 2010, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.
Books and Journals
The American People by
Call Number: Q. 304.60973021 Am356 and ONLINE
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
This report, issued by the Census Bureau, summarizes the results in three areas of interest from the supplementary questions of the census: economic trends and employment; families, households and children; and immigration and racial groups. Also includes a chapter about the politics and science of census taking and an introduction which contextualizes Census 2000 in relation to previous censuses. All sections include bibliographies and suggestions for further reading. Census statistics are illustrated in tables and graphs throughout the text.
Call Number: 305.896073 B5622 Main Reference
Publication Date: 1990-
Published annually. Provides data and tables focusing on demographics and populace characteristics; vital statistics and health; education; government, elections, and public opinion; crime, law enforcement and corrections; labor and employment; income, poverty, and wealth.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census by
Call Number: 304.60723 En19 2012 Main Reference and ONLINE
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
Leading experts on all aspects of the U.S. census provide 120 concise, authoritative articles on the decennial census and related topics. Subjects covered include: content of the census, how the census is planned, advertised, and conducted, uses of the census, census history and politics of the census. Includes illustrations, glossary, index, bibliographical references and online resources for census information.
Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Source Book.
Call Number: 305.8680021 H629 Main Reference
Publication Date: 1991-
Published annually. Provides statistical data and tables devoted to Hispanic Americans. Covers topics such as demographics, social familial and household characteristics, education, employment, poverty and crime. Two types of information are included in this book: complete count information from census statistics and survey information. The glossary at the end of the book provides definitions of terms, with the index providing table numbers, rather than page numbers, for data accession.