Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Education Statistics
This page focuses on statistical sources specific to education. Links to international sources of statistical information are included. Other libraries on campus have additional important sources of statistical information.
National Education Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
Collects, analyzes, and reports complete statistics on the condition of American education; conducts and publishes reports; and reviews and reports on education activities internationally. This site provides access to many reports and publications of the NCES. Publications can be searched by subject, keyword, release date and NCES number. Datasets of surveys can be downloaded, and manipulated using the Data Analysis System (DAS), a Windows application that downloads with the data. Reports include:
120 years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 1993
This statistical source provides data on elementary, secondary and higher education. The earlier data covers only a few areas such as enrollment in public elementary and secondary school, attendance, teachers and their salaries, and high school graduates.
The Chronicle of Higher Education Almanac
Call Number: Q. 378.73 C468
Publication Date: 1988-
Prepared by the editors of the Chronicle of Higher Education, this almanac provides numerous statistics in three sections: nation, states, and enrollment by race. Data from the 2016 Almanac of Higher Education is available here
The Comparative Guide to Elementary and Secondary School 6th ed by
Call Number: LB2817.3 .C66 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
A one-volume guide of evaluative and demographic statistics from every regular public school district in the United States that serves 2,500 or more students. Arranged alphabetically by state, and sub-sorted by counties, the book contains an alphabetical listing of cities in which the school districts' headquarters are found along with contact information for each school. An index of cities is also provided.
The Condition of Education
Call Number: 370.973 N2132c
Publication Date: 1975-
A publication of the National Center for Education Statistics, which is the primary federal entity responsible for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations. Emphasis is on analysis as opposed to simple presentation of statistical data.
Projections of Education Statistics to ...
Call Number: 370.973 Un4p
Publication Date: 1973-
Provides statistics for such factors as enrollment, graduates, classroom teachers, and expenditures for all levels of education through ten years after its publication. While much of the data pertains to national education, select information concerning the state level can supplement projections prepared by individual states. The projections and revisions are based upon the most recent census and projections. Explanatory text introduces each of the tables and graphs. A detailed table of contents is provided.
Annual Survey of School System Finances
This site provides recent Census Bureau information on Public Education Finance Data.
The Chronicle of Higher Education: Data
Provides statistical and survey information for various topics related to higher education including finance, research, student and faculty demographic data, enrollment, and many other topics.
Digest of Education Statistics
Published by the U.S. Office of Education, this source provides statistics on many aspects of education, including schools, enrollments, teachers, finances, and libraries. This should be the first source consulted when looking for U.S. education statistics.
Grapevine: An Annual Compilation of Data on State Tax Appropriations for the General Operation of Higher Education
Includes tables with appropriations per capita, state rankings on percentage changes, and several other categories. A 50-state summary table showing total state tax appropriations for the current year and percent changes over time is also provided.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
IPEDS is a primary resource for postsecondary education statistics. Data available include admissions, tuition rates, enrollment numbers, race/ethnicity of students, graduation rates, and amount of student financial aid. The Data Center provides detailed information on individual institutions and allows comparison between universities.
National Education Association (NEA) Reference Center
Published annually. “Contains up-to-date information on faculty salaries and benefits, the economic conditions in the states, faculty workload, trends in bargaining, and information on non-faculty professionals on campus.”
Produced by the Institute of International Education, the “Open Doors Report” contains data on both foreign students studying in the United States and U.S. students studying abroad. Information included are enrollment numbers, place of origin of international students, source of funds for international students, visa status, sex, and major fields of specialization.
Report Card on American Education
Provides state-by-state trends for the past twenty years and presents written analysis of data and the latest data available for public elementary and secondary schools in each state. Topics include student performance, spending and staffing. Sources for each table are provided.
Salary Explorer (Chronicle of Higher Education)
Explore an interactive database of faculty salaries. The data is based on a national survey conducted by the American Association of University Professors.
State of Illinois Education Statistics
Chicago Public Schools
School test scores and demographic reports from CPS. Data available by individual schools or aggregated citywide.
Illinois State Board of Education
Data on education in Illinois from the Data Analysis and Progress Reporting division of the ISBE. A variety of statistical reports are available in PDF format, covering pre-school, elementary, and secondary education, ACT scores, bilingual education, gifted education programs, and other topics.
International Education Statistics
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
"Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication" from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Includes country profiles and the annual Global Education Digest.