Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Crime and Justice Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the primary source for the collection, analysis and dissemination of statistics on crime and justice in the United States. This site provides links to reports, data, and a wide variety of publications including Age Patterns of Victims of Serious Violent Crimes; Enforcement Management and Administrative Statistics; and the World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems.
National Archive of Criminal Justice
A data depository maintained by the University of Michigan. Includes datasets from the National Crime Victimization Survey, the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System, and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCJRS is a “federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to further support research, policy, and program development worldwide.” The website provides reports published by NCJRS, reference guides and summaries of criminal justice topics, free access to one of the largest criminal justice abstract databases in the world, and a comprehensive FAQ of criminal justice research questions.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States, displayed in over 600 tables. Tables are sorted into 6 topical sections: Criminal justice characteristics; Public opinion; Crime & victims; Arrests & seizures; Courts, prosecution & sentencing; Parole, jails, prisons; and Death penalty.
Uniform Crime Reporting Program (URC)
Published by the FBI, includes statistics on crime in the United States, including hate crimes.
Violence Against Women Resource Guide
Compiled by the National Archive of Criminal Justice, this guide provides easy access to data on violence against women along with many helpful links.