Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Health Statistics
This page focuses on statistical sources specific to health. Links to international sources of statistical information are included. Other libraries on campus have additional important sources of statistical information.
CDC Wonder, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, provides access to a wide variety of reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. The datasets provide access to a variety of information including: AIDS cases reported by state and local health departments, cancer statistics, disease by classification number, mortality, sexually transmitted disease morbidity, and tuberculosis surveillance.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data and Statistics
Provides access to data and statistics about a variety of topics of public health importance. CDC’s FastStats A to Z also provides access to health statistics.
County Health Rankings
County Health Rankings provides a health status overview of the 3,141 counties in the nation. Community profiles can be displayed on a map or downloaded. County Health Rankings gathers data about various areas of public health including, access to and utilization of healthcare services, birth and death measures, vulnerable populations, risk-factors for premature deaths, communicable diseases, and environmental health.
Health and Retirement Study
The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study surveys more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 years every two years. Supported by the National Institute of Aging and the Social Security Administration, the collects information about income, work, health insurance, disability, physical and mental health, and health care expenditures.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
HCUPnet provides access to national statistics and trends about hospital stays which includes information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS is the federal government’s principal vital and health statistics agency. NCHS provides data on vital events (birth and mortality) as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care. The National Survey of Family Growth
also includes information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.
National Institute of Mental Health
Statistics on the prevalence of various mental illnesses, disability associated with mental illness, suicide and cost of treatment. Also includes international statistics.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
From the Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), SAMHDA collects, analyzes, and disseminates data about behavioral health. The archive provides access to substance abuse and mental health research data and promotes the sharing of this data among researchers, academics, policymakers, service providers, and others.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is the most authoritative source of information for cancer incidence and survival statistics in the United States.
University of Wisconsin Health Statistics Portal
The portal is designed to help find statistics on disorders, diseases, population groups, health trends, hospital utilization, costs, and health related issues.
The World Health Organization has multiple websites, reports and research with health information and data.
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The Global Health Observatory is the World Health Organization’s gateway to health related statistics. It’s possible to view data by topic (HIV/AIDS, immunization, mortality, nutrition, etc.) or by country.
Carolina Population Center
The Carolina Population Center, at the University of North Carolina, is “a community of scholars and professionals collaborating on interdisciplinary research and methods that advance understanding of population issues.” A number of their current research projects
relate to health. The research can also be browsed by theme.
MEASURE DHS: Demographic and Health Surveys
MEASURE DHS assists developing countries in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health and nutrition programs. Demographic and health surveys provide information on family planning, maternal and child health, infant mortality, HIV/AIDS/STIs (sexually transmitted infections), and reproductive health.