Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About United States Statistics
This page refers primarily to selected sources of general statistics in the social sciences, health, and education. Links to international sources of statistical information are also included. Other libraries on campus, particularly Government Information Services and Scholarly Commons have additional important sources of statistical information.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Includes all statistical publications issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index, and 1,000 statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward through CIS' Statistical Reference Index. It also provides database access to the American Statistics Index, the Statistics Reference Index, and the International Index of Statistics. Also, be sure to look at Data-Planet's Statistical Ready Reference.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
American National Election Studies (ANES) provides data sets and reports on voting, public opinion, and political participation that serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists.
ARDA (The Association of Religion Data Archives)
Formerly American Religious Data Archive. Compiles statistics, maps, and directories on religious activities around the world, with an emphasis on the United States.
Economic Research Service (ERS)
The ERS is part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture and provides analysis of economic information on issues relating to agriculture, food, and the environment.
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
The Economic Statistics Briefing Room (ESBR) provides public access to statistics in areas such as Income, Prices, Transportation and Employment.
The go-to source for demographic information about the United States. It’s possible to browse or search for statistics by topic, geographical area, race or ethnic group, or industry code.
FedStats gathers statistics from more than 70 agencies of the United States Federal Government. “The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site to provide easy access to the full range of statistics and information.”
FedWorld Information Network
From the Department of Congress, and managed by the National Technical Information Services (NTIS), FedWorld is a gateway to government information. It is a directory of government departments and information services.
Monitoring the Future Study
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total 50,000-8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed (12th graders since 1975, and 8th and 10th graders since 1991).
Books and Journals
An Atlas of Poverty in America by
Call Number: Q. 362.50973 G463a Map Library
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
Persistant poverty has long been one of America's most pressing and intractable problems. According to some estimates, by 2003, almost twenty-five percent of the America's countries had per-capita incomes below one half the national average, high unemployment, low labour force participation rates, and a high dependency on government transfer payments - all measures of economic distress. An Atlas of Poverty in America shows how and where America's regional development patterns have become more uneven, and graphically illustrates the increasing number of communities falling behind the national economic average. Readers will be able to use this Atlas to see how major events and trends have impacted the scope and extent of American poverty in the past half-century:economic globalization, the rise of the sunbelt, decline of the welfare state, and the civil rights movement. Also includes 195 colour maps.
The Book of States
Call Number: 353.9 B644 Undergraduate Reference
Publication Date: Published biennially.
Provides data on state finances and state services such as education, transportation and welfare among others for all of the 50 states. A useful source for cross-sectional statistics.
County and City Data Book
Call Number: 317.3Un3co
Publication Date: 1949-2007
Compilations of census data for counties and large cities. Includes data on population, employment and income, as well as financial, educational and vital statistics. Discontinued after 2007.
CQ's State Fact Finder
Call Number: Q. 317.3C839 Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2007
This fact finder is divided into 12 sections: Population, Economics, Geography, Government, Federal Impacts, Taxes, Revenues and Finances, Education, Health, Crime and Law Enforcement, Transportation, and Welfare. Each of these sections has many hard to find statistics that are not included in standard government agency reports. Each table gives the reader a ranking of each state. Each section ends with carefully documented source notes that follow the tables in that section. An index is also included.
The Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present by
Call Number: Q. 317 .3H6291 Main Reference
Publication Date: 2006-01-30
Comparative statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States, including population, migration, labor, agriculture and recreation. A useful Time Period index displays the initial year for a statistical table. A comprehensive subject index is also included.
State of the States in Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities : Emerging from the Great Recession by
Call Number: HV1570.5.U65 S74 2015 SSHEL Stacks
Publication Date: 2015
Like its previous editions, the State of the States in Developmental Disabilities seeks to monitor the growth and development in services for the developmentally disabled on a state by state basis. The first part of the book provides an historical and contemporary overview, an analysis of trends, and an explanation of operational definitions used in the study. Part two presents detailed profiles of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The profiles are presented in graphical and statistical formats. The final part of the book is technical notes and a list of the state agencies that were contacted for information. Located at the back of the book is an author and subject index.
Statistical Handbook on the Social Safety Net by
Call Number: Q. 025.06361 P136s
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
This book is useful to students at all levels of research looking for a compendium of statistics relating to the national social safety net. It is also intended for grant writing purposes, providing statistics for socioeconomic data on key indicators. The book is presented in three major sections. The first section discusses the definition of social safety net, the economic health of nations and definitions of poverty. The second section provides narrative and data encompassing traditional safety net programs in the United States and around the world. The third section focuses on women and children’s public safety net issues. Each section has tabular data from a variety of well-documented sources. There is a glossary of terms and index included.
Voter Turnout in the United States by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Includes extensive information about voter turnout. Information can be browsed by office or election type. Advanced search allows you to search by specific date range. Data is downloadable in PDF or Excel.