Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Services and Assistance at the University of Illinois
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) at The Library
Services offered include acquiring data sets needed for teaching and research; locating, downloading and preparing data for secondary analysis; identifying and creating course materials and teaching tools (including customized data sets drawn from various data repositories) and consulting about software problems.
ATLAS is designed to support the teaching and research needs of students and faculty in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS). They provide a range of statistics and GIS services (generally free for LAS faculty and students, fee-based for others).
Allows users to upload any file format to be made visualizable in the browser so that figures, datasets, media, papers, posters, presentations and filesets can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow.
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's repository which is one option for Illinois affiliated faculty, staff, and students needing to deposit their data.
Illinois Data Bank
A public access repository for publishing research data from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
A tool to help identify and locate online repositories of research data.
Online tool that supports the creation of data management plans for numerous funding agencies, including National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, Institute of Museum and Library Services, and others.
Data Management Guide
A guide to help researchers understand the components of good data management and write data management plans.
The collections below all have access to a great deal of statistical data and are excellent resources. Some tools within each collection are restricted to faculty or students of the sponsoring institution.
Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER)
CISER provides a range of services including the maintenance of a searchable and data archive as well as Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists, which is an extensive listing of other data resources for social scientists.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Includes all statistical publications issued by the U.S. government back to 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index, and 1,000 statistical publications of private and state government sources from 1980 forward through CIS' Statistical Reference Index. It also provides database access to the American Statistics Index, the Statistics Reference Index, and the International Index of Statistics. Also, be sure to look at Data-Planet's Statistical Ready Reference.
List of resources with various sets of geospatial data.
The Institute for Quantitative Social Science Dataverse Network
The Institute for Quantitative Social Science Dataverse Network at Harvard University is an online catalog of social science research data which provides free public access to many of the datasets stored in the collection. It’s possible to search studies by keyword or browse by researcher name. Collections of datasets from the same researcher are known as dataverses.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
This is a membership-based organization, which Illinois is a member, that supports and provides access to "the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences." The archive consists of large data sets that can be downloaded and used to generate charts, graphs, and other statistical representations. It is fully searchable, with the interface supporting subject searching and keyword searching in the title and abstract of each data set.
IPUMS is a leading developer of demographic data resources. All IPUMS data is available free over the internet.
NORC, a social sciences research institution, provides reports and data from the United States. Search by specific project or research capability, or look under a broader topic or NORC department. Browse documents and datasets from research on topics including education, welfare services, public health, finances in health institutions, and technology use.
Princeton University Data and Statistical Services
Provides access to abstracts of statistical datasets on a variety of international and U.S. topics, including links to several sets that are accessible online. Some sets are limited to Princeton University faculty and students. Includes Economic Time Series, Census Data, and International Data Sources.
University of Virginia Geospatial Data Portal
The Scholar’s Lab maintains an extremely useful and important collection of geospatial and statistical data. Information contained in this portal is searchable by geography, keyword, and time. Some resources limited to University of Virginia faculty and students.
USDA Geospatial Data Gateway
With the support of partner organizations, NASA presents an online directory of datasets, maps, and other tools used for observing and analyzing global change. Allows organizations to maintain and document data, but also allows scientists from other fields to make use of the data, as well. Access to data is organized into “portals” which group sources under a specific topic, such as atmosphere, cryosphere, land surface, oceans, sun-earth interactions, and research programs and organizations.