Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About International Statistics
This page refers primarily to selected sources of general statistics in the social sciences, health, and education. Links to international sources of statistical information are also included. Other libraries on campus, particularly Government Information Services and Scholarly Commons have additional important sources of statistical information.
EIU Country Data
Created and maintained by The Economist magazine, this site provides economic and political information and statistical analysis for almost every nation in the world.
Demographic Yearbook - Annuaire Demographique
Annual United Nations compilation of international demographic information for 250 geographic areas of the world. Topics covered include population, natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.
Domestic and International Statistics Resources
A list of statistical agencies or bureaus in many countries, from Algeria to Yugoslavia, compiled by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Links to international organizations are also provided.
An online database maintained by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Contains over 3 million records covering international statistics in areas such as: production, trade, population, agricultural machinery, food aid shipments, land use and irrigation, and forestry products among many others.
Population Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. Full text of Population Index going back to 1937 is also available through JSTOR, although some search functions, such as the ability to search by region, are not available there.
United Nations Peace-Keeping Operations
Provides links organized by location to current and completed missions, demining information and rapid deployment.
United Nations Statistics Division
Start here for international statistics. The UN collects, analyzes and disseminates statistical information from member nations on a wide variety of topics to the general public. Links to information on statistical methods, links to data and reports, and other sources.
World Bank Data and Statistics
Includes demographic and statistical data from countries around the world on topics ranging from agriculture to urban development.
region. There is an instructional introduction, with some notes appended.
World Development Indicators
This World Bank resource includes more than 900 indicators documenting the state of all the world’s economies. The World Development Indicators covers education, health, poverty, environment, economy, trade, etc. For more statistical databases from the World Bank, see their Data Catalog
, which provides access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers
“The "World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers" (WMEAT) series of reports is designed to be a convenient reference on annual military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios. The aim is to provide the arms control and international security community with useful, comprehensive, and accurate data, accompanied by analyses and highlights.” All reports (1964-present) can be found on the current state department website.
World Population Prospects: The 2017 Revision.
Contains population estimates and projections prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Development of the U.N. Secretariat. Includes more developed and less developed regions, major areas, countries, cities and rural areas. Statistics gathered from each country include: population, births, deaths, fertility rate and life expectancy. Special reports included addressing the impact of AIDS and migration due to the Persian Gulf War. Technical aspects of demographic methods are addressed.
Books and Journals
Elections in Asia and the Pacific by
Call Number: 324.95 El252 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
The second installment in the series of election data handbooks published by Oxford University Press, this is the first compendium of electoral data for all the states in Asia and the Pacific since their independence. It provides a systematic and historically complete documentation of elections by region and state. Includes table of contents, glossary and bibliographical references.
Illustrated Book of World Rankings. 5th ed.
Call Number: 907 K96b 2001 Main Reference
Publication Date: 2001
Comparison and ranking of 200 nation-states on a variety of variables within broad topical areas such as race, religion, geography, climate, military power, vital statistics, and education.
The Military Balance
Call Number: 355 L85m
Military power and defense expenditures for countries worldwide are covered in this annual, quantitative assessment. Quantities of equipment and personnel are provided in detail. Published by the IISS, this is the definitive source of its type.
SIPRI Yearbook of World Armaments and Disarmament
Call Number: 341.67 ST6
Provides an analysis of recent trends in military expenditures and an account of attempts at arms control and disarmament. Arms production and the worldwide arms industry are documented.
Women and Men in Europe and North America 2000
Call Number: UN. ECE/S30 Main Stacks
A statistical overview of population and household time use, care of children, education, gainful employment, wages, power and influence, health and lifestyle, and crime and violence from a gendered perspective. Statistics were gathered from 43 member countries of the Economic Commission for Europe and can be found as appendices in Annex 1, 2, and 3. The work also includes a bibliography and explanatory notes.
World Demographic Estimates and Projections, 1950-2025 by
Call Number: UN.ST/ESA/SER.R/79 Main Stacks
Publication Date: 1998
Population and demographic characteristics for 191 countries and geographical areas, for five year intervals beginning in 1950. The data was assembled by the International Labor Organization and the Food and Agricultural Organization of the U.N. Each country receives two (2) full facing pages of tables, which contain the following data: population by geography/society agricultural, urban, rural, school-age population, density, average annual rate of growth, sex ratio, median age, crude birth and death rate, total fertility, life expectancy, infant mortality, and economic activity of the population. Countries are arranged by global geographic region. There is an instructional introduction, with some notes appended.