Skip to Main Content
Interdisciplinary and General Methods Texts
What Is Qualitative Research? by
This book invites readers to explore the nature of qualitative research, and to recognise the varied and conflicting forms it can take. It examines how these contrast with quantitative work, as well as how they differ from journalism and imaginative literature. The book describes various methodological philosophies that have shaped qualitative work, as well as different types of orientation to be found within it today. It offers clear definitions of key terms and concepts, and also a detailed exploration of recent disputes among qualitative researchers, with a view to showing how differences in practice relate to underlying commitments. This book will be a vital resource for both new and experienced researchers.
Publication Date: 2013
Constructing Methodology for Qualitative Research by
This book explores the webs of vulnerability in methodological decision-making that illustrate the deceptive strength of qualitative research. Each chapter will resonate with readers differently as they read themselves into the tensions and tangles of qualitative research when confronted with the challenges of establishing methodological frameworks for educational and social enquiry. The authors are postgraduate, early career researchers and supervisors who analyse their methodological encounters with the nimble, fluid, messy and iterative processes of qualitative research. The book flows structurally from positioning the researcher within these processes to the manoeuvring of self across necessarily selective social science disciplines in education, arts and humanities. It rejuvenates the pioneering spirit, the sense of mission and innovativeness of qualitative research.
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. The contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers in the field as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching tool suitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field. The first two sections explore the history of the field, ethics, and philosophical/theoretical approaches. The next three sections focus on the major methods of qualitative practice as well as newer approaches (such as arts-based research and internet research); area studies often excluded (such as museum studies and disaster studies); and mixed methods and participatory methods (such as community-based research). The next section covers key issues including data analysis, interpretation, writing and assessment. The final section offers a commentary about politics and research and the move towards public scholarship.
Publication Date: 2014
Fundamentals of Qualitative Research by
This book is the road map to proficiency and development in the field of qualitative research. Borrowing from a wealth of experience teaching introductory qualitative research courses, author Kakali Bhattacharya lays out a dynamic program for learning different paradigms of inquiry, empowering students to recognize the convergence of popular research methodologies as well as the nuances and complexities that set each of them apart. Her book: supplements the readings and activities in a qualitative methods class, exposing students to the research process and the dominant types of qualitative research; introduces a variety of theoretical perspectives in qualitative research, including positivism and postpositivism, interpretivism, feminism, symbolic interactionism, phenomenology, hermeneutics, critical theory, and Critical Race Theory; identifies and summarizes the three dominant methodological approaches in qualitative research: narrative inquiry, grounded theory, and ethnography; provides interactive activities and exercises to help students crystallize their understanding of the different topics in each chapter.
Publication Date: 2017
Qualitative Research in Marketing and Management by
This is a practical and accessible, yet sophisticated introduction to interpretive methods for doing qualitative research projects and dissertations. Bringing together concepts of qualitative research from ethnography, phenomenology, critical discourse analysis, semiotics, literary analysis, postmodernism and poststructuralism this textbook offers an accessible and comprehensive introduction to the subject. Utilising a uniquely pragmatic approach, it bridges the gap between advanced, specialised books on research traditions with more general introductory business research books. This new edition has been fully updated to include new examples, explorations of the field, and an improved pedagogy with better exposition of key issues and concepts, as well as more schematics and diagrams to aid understanding. The first half of the book considers the practicalities of research and writing a research project, including the craft of academic writing, the critical literature review, the role of the independent research project as part of university courses, suggested projected structures, standards of academic scholarship, and the main techniques for gathering qualitative data. The book's second half deals with abstract concepts and advanced theory by looking at key theoretical traditions that guide the interpretation of qualitative data. It is perfect for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students of marketing, management, consumer behaviour and research methods. It will also be useful as a primer for practitioners in qualitative research.
Publication Date: 2020
Qualitative Research Methods in Mental Health and Psychotherapy by
This book provides a user-friendly introduction to the qualitative methods most commonly used in the mental health and psychotherapy arena. Chapters are written by leading researchers and the editors are experienced qualitative researchers, clinical trainers, and mental health practitioners Provides chapter-by-chapter guidance on conducting a qualitative study from across a range of approaches Offers guidance on how to review and appraise existing qualitative literature, how to choose the most appropriate method, and how to consider ethical issues Demonstrates how specific methods have been applied to questions in mental health research Uses examples drawn from recent research, including research with service users, in mental health practice and in psychotherapy
Publication Date: 2012
Disability and Qualitative Inquiry by
This groundbreaking text makes an intervention on behalf of disability studies into the broad field of qualitative inquiry. Ronald Berger and Laura Lorenz introduce readers to a range of issues involved in doing qualitative research on disabilities by bringing together a collection of scholarly work that supplements their own contributions and covers a variety of qualitative methods: participant observation, interviewing and interview coding, focus groups, autoethnography, life history, narrative analysis, content analysis, and participatory visual methods. The chapters are framed in terms of the relevant methodological issues involved in the research, bringing in substantive findings to illustrate the fruits of the methods. In doing so, the book covers a range of physical, sensory, and cognitive impairments. This work resonates with themes in disability studies such as emancipatory research, which views research as a collaborative effort with research subjects whose lives are enhanced by the process and results of the work. It is a methodological approach that requires researchers to be on guard against exploiting informants for the purpose of professional aggrandizement and to engage in a process of ongoing self-reflection to clear themselves of personal and professional biases that may interfere with their ability to hear and empathize with others.
Publication Date: 2016
Qualitative Methods in Migration Studies by
Moving away from the quantitative and empiricist-positivist approaches that have often characterised migration research, Qualitative Methods in Migration Studies explores in a concise but comprehensive way the key issues involved in researching migratory phenomena in a qualitative manner. It addresses themes including the basic characteristics of contemporary migration, qualitative research into social processes related to migration, and the relationship between theory, research design and practice and will be of interest to students and researchers in migration across the social sciences.
Publication Date: 2011