Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

A Shelf Browsing Guide to the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library

A guide to the printed books collection in the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library, as arranged by Library of Congress Classification System, and a guide to the Library of Congress Call Numbers

Subclass CB: History of Civilization

This class is for general works on the history of civilization. Books in this class tend to be either very general, or to treat the topic theoretically. In either case, the emphasis is on history of civilization, not history of places or people.

  • CB3-151: General works
  • CB195-197: Civilization and race
  • CB203-226: Europe
  • CB245: Western
  • CB251: Eastern and Western
  • CB305-430: By period
    • CB311: Ancient
    • CB351-354: Medieval
    • CB357-411: Early modern
    • CB425-430: 1900 to the present
  • CB440-482: Relation to special topics

Subclasses CC-CR: Archaeology; Diplomatics. Archives. Seals; Technical Chronology. Calendar; Inscriptions. Epigraphy; Heraldry

The HPNL collection is weak in these call number ranges, although we do have small collections in archaeology (subclass CC), archives (subclass CD), and heraldry (subclass CR).

  • CC1-960: Archaeology
    • CC100-101: History of
    • CC135: General works
  • CD1-6471: Diplomatics. Archives. Seals
    • CD921-4279: Archives
      • CD947: Philosophy of. Theory of
      • CD950-971: General works
      • CD1040-4279: Guides, indexes, and finding aids
  • CE1-97: Technical Chronology. Calendar
  • CJ1-6661: Numismatics
  • CN1-1355: Inscriptions. Epigraphy
  • CR1-6305: Heraldry

Subclasses CS-CT: Genealogy; Biography

  • CS1-3090: Genealogy
  • CT21-9999: Biography
    • CT21-22: Biography as an art or literary form
    • CT31-83: History of biographical literature. Lives of biographers
    • CT93-206: General collective biography
    • CT210-3150: National biography
    • CT3200-9999: By subject
      • CT3200-3830: Women (Collective)
      • CT3990: Academicians. Scholars. Savants