Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can search for articles several ways using the library website:
- For beginning stages of research OR if you already know the title of what you want to read: use the EasySearch box on the Library home page. Type your search or copy/paste your title into the box (click the gray journal tab first if you are looking for a journal).
- For subject-specific research: use the department libraries' webpages or the A-Z Database list to find databases for your discipline.
- For tracking down an article/journal you have a full or partial citation for: use the Journal and Article Locator.
Several useful databases have also been linked elsewhere on this guide.
Scandinavian Studies Journals
An electronic journals library with a collection of Scandinavian materials.
Dissertations are excellent sources for your own bibliography, as doctoral candidates need to summarize the scholarly literature in their field. Browse these resources to find relevant dissertations.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
PQDT is a comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.
Illinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship (IDEALS)
IDEALS collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Faculty, staff, and graduate students can deposit their research and scholarship - unpublished and, in many cases, published - directly into IDEALS. Departments can use IDEALS to distribute their working papers, technical reports, or other research material.
Recently discontinued, but provides a list of links to research databases for Danish universities.