Scandinavian News
A great overview written about media in Scandinavia is available in the Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications. The pertinent article is entitled "Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland and Iceland, Status of Media in."
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by
Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0123876702Publication Date: 2003-05-17
Online Gateways
General Media
- Nordic ReachArticles about lifestyle, fashion, design, etc. in all five Scandinavian countries. The resources page also includes links to shop for Scandinavian products (food, jewelry, furniture, etc.)
- NordstjernanSwedish newspaper in America (English).
News: Norway
- Norwegian Broadcasting CorporationNational public radio service.
- DR OnlineWebsite of Danish national broadcaster; audio and video clips (in Danish).
- Jyllands-PostenA top newspaper from Denmark. Also available partially in English
- PolitikenNewspaper in Danish.
News: Iceland/Faroe Islands
- MorgunblaoioLeading Icelandic newspaper.
- RUVIcelandic broadcaster.
- Iceland ReviewIcelandic news in English.
News Databases
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to over 700 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The PressReader App is available for reading papers on tablet devices. Formerly Library PressDisplay.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Print Media
- Sesam: nyhetstidning på lätt svenskaCall Number: Q. 439.705 SEPublication Date: 1999 -Sesam is an easy-to-read Swedish newspaper for non-native speakers. The articles are on general topics. Home: http://www.sesam.nu/
News: Sweden
- Dagspress.seInformation about the Swedish Newspaper Publishers' Association. In Swedish and English.
- SverigesRadioSwedish public radio service. Also has an international page for English news.
- Sveriges TelevisionSwedish TV (public service)
- Dagens NyheterDaily newspaper in Swedish.
- AftonbladetSwedish tabloid.
- The LocalA new English-language source for Swedish news.
News: Finland
- Helsingin SanomatHelsinki newspaper in Finnish.
- Helsingin Sanomat's International EditionFinnish news in English
- YLE 24 NewsRadio, TV, and podcast news from Finnish national broadcast company.
- NewsRoom FinlandNews from the Finnish press agency STT