Dictionaries
The Library has a large collection of monolingual and bilingual dictionaries for Scandinavian dictionaries. One of the best ways to find them is to conduct a subject search in the library catalog (select "Advanced Search" and then select "Subject" from the drop-down menu). These examples may help you get started:
Norwegian
Books at UIUC
Norwegian: a Comprehensive Grammar by
Norwegian: A Comprehensive Grammar is a complete reference guide to modern Norwegian (the Bokmål standard). The Grammar is an essential source for the serious student of Norwegian, and for students of comparative linguistics. It is ideal for use in colleges, universities and adult classes of all types. The volume is organised to promote a thorough understanding of Norwegian grammar. It presents the complexities of Norwegian in a concise and readable form. Explanations are full, clear and free of jargon. Throughout, the emphasis is on Norwegian as used by present-day native speakers. An extensive index, numbered paragraphs, cross-references and summary charts provide readers with easy access to the information they require.
Call Number: PD2623 .H575 2018ISBN: 9780415831352Publication Date: 2018-04-30- Norwegian-Nynorsk: An Introduction for Foreign Studies byCall Number: PD2927.3 .H35 1983ISBN: 8200057836Publication Date: 1985
Online Resources
- The Language Council of Norway (Språkrådet)Includes pages of language help, language in the state and schools, language politics in Norway, and links to additional language websites. Site in Norwegian (translation link at the bottom of the page).
- Mylanguages.org: NorwegianIncludes vocabulary lists, phrases, etc.
- Norwegian Learning LinksA great collection of more links to Norwegian resources. Includes text and audio resources.
- Norwegian in 5 Minutes a MonthFrom the Sons of Norway organization. Lessons are basically tables of phrases. Paid membership is required for the accompanying audio materials.
General Resources
Books at UIUC
The Languages of Scandinavia by
From fjords to mountains, schools of herring to herds of reindeer, Scandinavia is rich in astonishing natural beauty. Less well known, however, is that it is also rich in languages. Home to seven languages, Scandinavia has traditionally been understood as linguistically bifurcated between its five Germanic languages (Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Icelandic, and Faroese) and its two Finno-Ugric ones (Finnish and Sámi). In The Languages of Scandinavia, Ruth H. Sanders takes a pioneering approach: she considers these Seven Sisters of the North together. While the two linguistic families that comprise Scandinavia's languages ultimately have differing origins, the Seven Sisters have coexisted side by side for millennia. As Sanders reveals, a crisscrossing of names, territories, and even to some extent language genetics--intimate language contact--has created a body of shared culture, experience, and linguistic influences that is illuminated when the story of these seven languages is told as one. Exploring everything from the famed whalebone Lewis Chessmen of Norse origin to the interactions between the Black Death and the Norwegian language, The Languages of Scandinavia offers profound insight into languages with a cultural impact deep-rooted and far-reaching, from the Icelandic sagas to Swedish writer Stieg Larsson's internationally popular Millennium trilogy. Sanders's book is both an accessible work of linguistic scholarship and a fascinating intellectual history of language.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780226493893Publication Date: 2017-11-24
The Syntax of Mainland Scandinavian by
This book explores the syntactic structures of Mainland Scandinavian, a term that covers the Northern Germanic languages spoken in Denmark, Norway, Sweden, and parts of Finland. The continuum of mutually intelligible standard languages, regional varieties, and dialects stretching from southernJutland to eastern Finland share many syntactic patterns and features, but also present interesting syntactic differences. In this volume, Jan Terje Faarlund discusses the main syntactic features of the national languages, alongside the most widespread or typologically interesting features of thenon-standard varieties. Each topic is illustrated with examples drawn from reference grammars, research literature, corpora of various sorts, and the author's own research. The framework is current generative grammar, but the volume is descriptive in nature, with technical formalities andtheoretical discussion kept to a minimum. It will hence be a valuable reference for students and researchers working on any Scandinavian language, as well as for syntacticians and typologists interested in Scandinavian facts and data without necessarily being able to read Scandinavian.
Call Number: PD1701 .F33ISBN: 0198817916Publication Date: 2019-05-28- The Scandinavian Languages: A Grammar and Reader byCall Number: Q. 439.5 J268SPublication Date: 1979
Online Resources
- BBC Quick FixBasic phrases for more than 40 less frequently taught languages, including Scandinavian languages.
- The History of Linguistics in Nordic CountriesA scholarly overview with early historical coverage, including 1500-1800
- ScanDiaSynScandinavian Dialect Syntax is an umbrella group for Scandinavian research groups that are documenting Scandinavian dialectical variations. The most interesting feature of the website is the ongoing development of an electronic pan-Scandinavian dialect collection called the Nordic Dialect Corpus.
- Slang PortalIncludes links to sources for Scandinavian slang.
Danish
Books at UIUC
Danish by
A complete reference guide to modern Danish, concentrating on the real patterns in use today. This Grammar will be the standard reference for years to come for the learner and user of Danish, irrespective of level.
Call Number: 439.8182421 Al52dISBN: 0415082064Publication Date: 1995-03-29
Online Resources
Journals: Scandinavian Linguistics
Visit the library's Journal Search to look for additional titles.
Swedish
Books at UIUC
Swedish: a Comprehensive Grammar by
Winner of the Swedish National Language Council's Erik Wellander Prize, 2003 Swedish: A Comprehensive Grammar is an award-winning complete reference guide to modern Swedish grammar. Systematic and accessible, the volume is organised to promote a thorough understanding of Swedish grammar, presenting the complexities of Swedish in a concise and readable form. Explanations are full, clear and free of jargon, and an extensive index, numbered paragraphs, cross-references and summary charts provide readers with easy access to the information they require. Now in its third edition, the text has been comprehensively updated to conform to new standards set in the description of language and to reflect the recommendations of the Language Council of Sweden. It offers an improved layout, completely revised index and more user-friendly paragraph structure. Continuing the tradition of previous editions, the emphasis remains fixed on Swedish in everyday communication, drawing on modern corpus material, the internet and the media to provide high frequency words and expressions. Examples have been modernised throughout and new content takes account of recent trends resulting from the increasing democratisation of written Swedish. Features include: detailed treatment of grammatical structures and parts of speech a wealth of examples from present-day Swedish particular attention to areas of confusion and difficulty for learners Swedish/English contrasts highlighted throughout the book chapters on word formation, orthography and punctuation. Swedish: A Comprehensive Grammar is the most thorough and detailed Swedish grammar available in English and is an essential reference source for the learner and user of Swedish, irrespective of level. It is ideal for use in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types.
Call Number: PD5112 .H66 2013ISBN: 9780415669245Publication Date: 2013-05-03
Colloquial Swedish by
Colloquial Swedish provides a step-by-step course in Swedish as it is written and spoken today. Combining a user-friendly approach with a thorough treatment of the language, it equips learners with the essential skills needed to communicate confidently and effectively in Swedish in a broad range of situations. No prior knowledge of the language is required. Key features include: progressive coverage of speaking, listening, reading and writing skills structured, jargon-free explanations of grammar an extensive range of focused and stimulating exercises realistic and entertaining dialogues covering a broad variety of scenarios useful vocabulary lists throughout the text additional resources available at the back of the book, including a full answer key, a grammar summary and bilingual glossaries Balanced, comprehensive and rewarding, "Colloquial Swedish" will be an indispensable resource both for independent learners and students taking courses in Swedish. Course components: The complete course comprises the book and audio materials. These are available to purchase separately in paperback, ebook, CD and MP3 format. The paperback and CDs can also be purchased together in the great-value Colloquials pack. Paperback: 978-0-415-36275-7 (please note this does not include the audio) CDs: 978-0-415-36273-3 eBook: 978-0-203-01274-1 (please note this does not include the audio, available to purchase from http: //ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/audio_viewbooks.aspx)MP3s: 978-0-415-47050-6 (available to purchase from http: //ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/audio_viewbooks.aspx)Pack: 978-0-415-44871-0 (paperback and CDs)"
Call Number: PD5112 .A45 2007ISBN: 041536275XPublication Date: 2006-12-04
Beginner's Swedish (Audio) by
Provides an introduction to the native language of Sweden that features 10 lessons which are useful for both classroom use and self-study. Each chapter includes dialogues, basic vocabulary and easy-to-follow discussions of grammar. This book also features exercises, cultural information and a comparison of Swedish and English. Includes 2 Audio CDs featuring native speakers.
Call Number: PD5112 .M45 2006ISBN: 0781811570Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Swedish (Audio) by
Compact Swedish, a stand-alone 10-lesson (5 hours) program, teaches beginning language strategies for essential communication and traveling needs, plus an introduction to reading. HEAR IT, LEARN IT, SPEAK IT® What is the Pimsleur® difference? The Pimsleur Method provides the most effective language-learning program ever developed. The Pimsleur Method gives you quick command of Swedish structure without tedious drills. Learning to speak Swedish can actually be enjoyable and rewarding. The key reason most people struggle with new languages is that they aren't given proper instruction, only bits and pieces of a language. Other language programs sell only pieces -- dictionaries; grammar books and instructions; lists of hundreds or even thousands of words and definitions; audios containing useless drills. They leave it to you to assemble these pieces as you try to speak. Pimsleur enables you to spend your time learning to speak the language rather than just studying its parts. When you were learning English, could you speak before you knew how to conjugate verbs? Of course you could. That same learning process is what Pimsleur replicates. Pimsleur presents the whole language as one integrated piece so you can succeed. With Pimsleur you get: * Grammar and vocabulary taught together in everyday conversation, * Interactive audio-only instruction that teaches spoken language organically, * The flexibility to learn anytime, anywhere, * 30-minute lessons designed to optimize the amount of language you can learn in one sitting. Millions of people have used Pimsleur to gain real conversational skills in new languages quickly and easily, wherever and whenever -- without books, written exercises, or drills.
Call Number: CDISC PD5112.5ISBN: 0743550560Publication Date: 2005-12-26
Online Resources
- SpeakLanguages: SwedishIncludes phrases and vocabulary.
- Björn Engdahl's (Basic) Swedish CourseNo-cost beginner lessons.
Icelandic
Books at UIUC
Colloquial Icelandic by
Colloquial Icelandic is easy to use and completely up to date! Specially written by experienced teachers for self-study or class use, the course offers a step-by-step approach to written and spoken Icelandic. No prior knowledge of the language is required. What makes Colloquial Icelandic your best choice in personal language learning? Interactive - lots of exercises for regular practice Clear - concise grammar notes Practical - useful vocabulary and pronunciation guide Complete - including answer key and reference section By the end of this rewarding course, you will be able to communicate confidently and effectively in Icelandic in a broad range of everyday situations. These two CDs are an invaluable component of the Colloquial Icelandic course. Recorded by native Icelandic speakers it complements the book and will help you develop your pronunciation and listening skills. Course components: The complete course comprises the book and audio materials. These are available to purchase separately in paperback, ebook, CD and MP3 format. The paperback and CDs can also be purchased together in the great-value Colloquials pack. Paperback: 978-0-415-20706-5 (please note this does not include the audio) CDs : 978-0-415-28690-9 eBook: 978-0-203-99545-7 (available to purchase from http://ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/audio_viewbooks.aspx. Please note this does not include the audio) MP3s: 978-0-415-47084-1 (available to purchase from http://ebookstore.tandf.co.uk/audio_viewbooks.aspx) Pack : 978-0-415-42707-4 (paperback and CDs)
Call Number: PD2413 .N45 2004ISBN: 9780415207065Publication Date: 2001-08-09
Online Resources
- Icelandic OnlineFree online courses in Icelandic.