Books & Web Resources by Country
Books at UIUC
Search the Library Catalog for additional titles (e.g. "Sweden -- History").
A History of the Swedish People by
Beginning in prehistoric times and culminating with the Dacke rebellion of 1542, renowned novelist Vilhelm Moberg's two-volume popular history of the Swedish people approaches its subject from the viewpoint of the common people, documenting peasants' lives as well as those of the royal families. In this first volume Moberg examines Viking raids, the coming of Christianity, and the Folkungs royal dynasty, whose tyrannical reign lasted from 1250 to the 1360s. He vividly describes the arrival of the Black Death from a ship that docked carrying only dead passengers, and he recounts the reign of Queen Margareta who founded the Kalmar Union, comprising all of Scandinavia. In every chapter, Moberg faithfully imparts how history affected "the whole people" of Sweden.
Call Number: 948.5 M71m:Ea2005ISBN: 0816646562Publication Date: 2005-02-07
Sweden in the Seventeenth Century by
The history of Sweden in the seventeenth century is perhaps one of the most remarkable political success stories of early modern Europe. Little more than a century after achieving independence from Denmark, Sweden - an impoverished and sparsely-populated state - had defeated all of its most fearsome enemies and was ranked amongst the great powers of Europe. In this book, which incorporates the latest research on the subject, Paul Douglas Lockhart: - surveys the political, diplomatic, economic, social and cultural history of the country, from the beginnings of its career as an empire to its decline at the end of the seventeenth century - examines the mechanisms that helped Sweden to achieve the status of a great power, and the reasons for its eventual downfall - emphasises the interplay between social structure, constitutional development, and military necessity Clear and well-written, Lockhart's text is essential reading for all those with an interest in the fascinating history of early modern Sweden.
Call Number: 948.5034 L811sISBN: 0333731565Publication Date: 2004-02-13
Biographies
- Svenskt Biografiskt Lexikon (Journal) Includes long signed articles, bibliographies, and many portraits. Vol. 10 includes a chronological index to the first ten volumes.Call Number: 920.0485 SV21918Publication Date: 1918 - Present
- Vem är det? : Svensk biografisk handbok (Journal)Call Number: 920.0485 V54Publication Date: 1912 - 2001
Country Information
- Sweden.seOfficial gateway.
- Sweden AbroadWebsite for Swedish embassies and consulates.
- Svenska InstitutetWebsite of the Swedish Institute with information on the country, people, language, and culture (in Swedish and English).
US Resources
- Swedish American Historical QuarterlyAcademic journal published continuously since 1950 by the Swedish-American Historical Society.
Books at UIUC
Search the Library Catalog for additional titles (e.g. "Denmark -- History").
A History of Denmark by
In this introductory guide, Knud Jespersen traces the process of disintegration and reduction that helped to form the modern Danish state, and the historical roots of Denmark's international position. Beginning with the Reformation in the sixteenth century, Jespersen explains how the Denmark of today was shaped by wars, territorial losses, domestic upheavals, new methods of production, and changes in thought. Focusing on the interplay between history, politics and economics, this illuminating text offers an insider's view of Danish identity formation over the last centuries. This engaging textbook is an ideal resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses on Danish, Scandinavian or Nordic History. Concise and accessible, it will also appeal to anyone interested in gaining a clear understanding of the development of Denmark.
Call Number: DL148 .J46 2019ISBN: 9781137611796Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Encyclopedias
- Nordisk KonversationsleksikonCall Number: 038 N7582Publication Date: 1960-1969Chiefly short entries, many illustrated with line drawings or photographs. Articles on countries and scientific fields are longer.
- Salmonsens Konversations LeksikonCall Number: 038 SA35Publication Date: 1915-1930Still the standard Danish encyclopedia. Includes bibliographies, maps, city plans, illustrations.
Books at UIUC
Search the Library Catalog for additional titles (e.g. "Norway -- History").
History of Norway by
A distinguished one-volume history of Norway, from the Vikings through the Resistance of World War II. "Full, objective, and thoroughly readable history, rich in content.... The result is a well-rounded treatment of Norwegian life--political, religious, economic, and intellectual--during the long centuries.... Easily the most important history of Norway in the English language since Gjerset."--N. Y. Times Originally published in 1948. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 0691653518Publication Date: 2016-04-19
History of Norway by
Based on exhaustive research, History of Norway is a clear, informative and entertaining description of Norway's history from the earliest cultures of the Stone Age to today's oil and gas economy. Along the way, there are fascinating stories of Vikings, the Sami, kings and queens, farmers and fishermen, merchants and miners, the Black Death, the Hanseatic merchants, the Reformation, independence, emigration from Norway to America, polar explorers, the Nazi invasion and the Norwegian resistance in World War II, and much more
Call Number: DL448 .Y55 2015ISBN: 9781681110240Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Country Information
Biographies
- Norsk biografisk leksikon Substantial, signed articles on ca. 5,000 prominent Norwegians from the earliest times to the mid-twentieth century. Includes bibliographiesCall Number: 920.0481 N81Publication Date: 1921-1983
Encyclopedias
- Aschehoug og Gyldendals Store Norske LeksikonCall Number: 038.82 AS23Publication Date: 1978Well-illustrated modern Norwegian encyclopedia.
Books at UIUC
Search the Library Catalog for additional titles (e.g. "Finland -- History").
A Concise History of Finland by
Few countries in Europe have undergone such rapid social, political and economic changes as Finland has during the last fifty years. David Kirby here sets out the fascinating history of this northern country, for centuries on the east-west divide of Europe, a country not blessed by nature, most of whose inhabitants still earned a living from farming fifty years ago, but which today is one of the most prosperous members of the European Union. He shows how this small country was able not only to survive in peace and war but also to preserve and develop its own highly distinctive identity, neither Scandinavian nor Eastern European. He traces the evolution of the idea of a Finnish national state, from the long centuries as part of the Swedish realm, through self-government within the Russian Empire, and into the stormy and tragic birth of the independent state in the twentieth century.
Call Number: 948.7 K361cISBN: 052183225XPublication Date: 2006-07-13
A Short History of Finland by
This is a second edition of the most successful study of Finland in the English language. It presents the reader - whether tourist, student, specialist, or business person - with a readable and authoritative introduction to the Finns and the present position of their country in the modern world. A Short History of Finland traces the historical development of the country from its settlement by the Finns in the first millennium AD to the present time, exploring Finland's earlier connection with Sweden, the complex relationship with Russia which has dominated Finnish history in the last two centuries, and the post-war achievements of the second republic. This second edition has been revised and updated by Emeritus Professor A. F. Upton, a leading scholar of Scandinavian history, and discusses the impact of the break-up of the Soviet Union and brings events up to Finland's admission to the European Union in 1995.
Call Number: 948.97 Si64s1998ISBN: 0521640695Publication Date: 1998-10-01
A History of Finland by
Henrik Meinander reignites interest in Finland with this brisk and bold portrait, recounting the country's early beginnings as a member of the Swedish kingdom to its later years as an autonomous Grand Duchy within the Russian empire. It concludes with Finland's gradual transformation into a conscious nation and its current flourishing as an independent, modernized state. Meinander concentrates on the Baltic region, connecting his history to major turning points in Europe's social, political, and structural development. He blends politics, economy, and culture to illuminate how other countries have utilized Finland's natural resources and have coopted its cultural heritage and technological innovations. Meinander devotes a large section of his work to the country's contemporary history, reasserting Finland's role in recent Baltic and European history and the impact of these events on the country's future development.
Call Number: 948.97 M477hISBN: 9780231701921Publication Date: 2011-07-05
Country Information
- Finland.fiOfficial gateway.
Books at UIUC
Search the Library Catalog for additional titles (e.g., "Iceland -- History").
Iceland's 1100 Years by
This volume recounts the history of a society on the margin of Europe as well as on the margin of reaching the size and wealth of a proper state - Iceland.
Call Number: 949.12 G956iISBN: 1850654204Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Viking Age Iceland by
Medieval Iceland was unique amongst Western Europe, with no foreign policy, no defence forces, no king, no lords, no peasants and few battles. It should have been a utopia yet its literature is dominated by brutality and killing. The reasons for this, argues Jesse Byock, lie in the underlying structures and cultural codes of the islands' social order. 'Viking Age Iceland' is an engaging, multi-disciplinary work bringing together findings in anthropology and ethnography interwoven with historical fact and masterful insights into the popular Icelandic sagas, this is a brilliant reconstruction of the inner workings of a unique and intriguing society.
Call Number: 949.1201 B995vISBN: 0140291156Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Country Information
- Government.isOfficial gateway.
History, Newspaper & Philosophy
The History, Newspaper & Philosophy Library also has resources for Scandinavian history.
Archival Documents
- Eurodocs: Online Sources for European HistorySelected transcriptions, facsimiles, and translations of European documents from 1995-2015.
- Archives & Primary SourcesA collection of resources from UC Berkeley.
- World Digital Library: EuropeThe Europe section of the World Digital Library provides access to digitized materials from various European countries.
General Resources
Books at UIUC
Visit the Library Catalog to search for books on Scandinavian history (e.g. by the subject search "Scandinavia -- History.") Some sample books are also listed here; hover over the information icon for descriptions.
The Cambridge History of Scandinavia by
This volume presents a comprehensive exposition of both the prehistory and medieval history of the whole of Scandinavia. The first part of the volume surveys the prehistoric and historic Scandinavian landscape and its natural resources, and tells how man took possession of this landscape, adapting culturally to changing natural conditions and developing various types of community throughout the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages. The rest - and most substantial part of the volume - deals with the history of Scandinavia from the Viking Age to the end of the Scandinavian Middle Ages (c. 1520). The external Viking expansion opened Scandinavia to European influence to a hitherto unknown degree. A Christian church organisation was established, the first towns came into being, and the unification of the three medieval kingdoms of Scandinavia began, coinciding with the formation of the unique Icelandic 'Free State'.
Call Number: 948 C144ISBN: 0521472997Publication Date: 2003-09-04
Scandinavia by
Tony Griffiths' Scandinavia is a compact, sharp, and accessible introduction to the history, politics and culture of Sweden, Finland, Norway, and Denmark, from the Napoleonic era to the present. His lively narrative brings to life the modern history of the region, demolishing national stereotypes in the process. No other book illuminates so tellingly the salient events and personalities of modern Scandinavia, including artists, musicians, and intellectuals such as Ibsen, Bergman, Kierkegaard, Munch, and Sibelius. This combination of a detailed look at Scandinavian culture and politics within a concise and thorough history makes this book the first and only of its kind, and unravels the mysteries and misunderstandings of this region and its people.
Call Number: 948.05 G875sISBN: 1403967539Publication Date: 2004-10-15
Online Resources
- Nordic CouncilAn intergovernmental council fostering collaboration and innovation in public policy in the Nordic Region. Features rich collections of data, statistics, and texts.
- Nordic Culture FundA Denmark-based agency advancing awareness of Nordic culture.
- National Nordic MuseumMuseum dedicated to sharing Nordic culture and serving the Seattle area's Nordic community.
- Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian StudyNorth America's principal scholarly society for Nordic studies.
Biographies
- Scandinavian Biographical Archive by Divided into section A. Denmark, Iceland, and Norway and B. Finland and Sweden. Excludes some of the major biographical dictionaries but brings together many smaller and more obscure sources.Call Number: MFICHE 920.048 SCA63Publication Date: 1989
- Scandinavian Biographical Index by Index to Scandinavian Biographical Archive in one alphabetical index. Gives dates and a brief identification of each person includedCall Number: Q. 920.048 SCA63APXPublication Date: 1994
History Databases
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowThe Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies are multidisciplinary bibliographies of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. The bibliographies comprise 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Early European Books Collection II This link opens in a new windowEarly European Books Collection II contains early printed volumes from the
Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (the National Central Library of Florence). The selection of works focuses on four collections of particular historic and bibliographic importance within the library’s holdings from this period: The Nencini Aldine Collection, Marginalia, Incunabula, and Sacred Representations.