Demographics and Statistics
Need business data to
- Perfect your presentation?
- Strengthen your paper?
- Punch up your pitch?
Library offers the following databases to locate hard to find statistics and data sets:
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Data-Planet
Data-Planet is an interdisciplinary resource that provides access to a repository of statistical information from public, private, and commercial resources and assembles them in a simple interface. It contains over 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. These powerful tools enable you to download data, create visualizations, identify relationships between different datasets, perform calculations and analysis, and identify trends.
Data-Planet allows you to limit your search to information about a particular geographical region, a time period, and a certain category. Or you can enter some keywords in the yellow search box. For instance, type "China" into the Geography box at the top of the homepage.
For more detailed information and help using the database, see the extensive collection of User Guides created by Data-Planet.
eMarketer
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowContains research articles, reports and statistics on the global digital marketing, social media, e-commerce and emerging technologies. The database publishes over 200 reports each year, covering most important topics of the digital environment. Users can search for over 50,000 charts and data sets gathered and analyzed from about 4,000 sources including IT research firms, academic institutions, company reports, trade associations and others.
(Note: University users cannot get personal account for the mobile app. Mozilla Firefox, Safari, or Chrome are the preferred browsers.)
International Financial Statistics from IMF eLibrary
- IMF e-Library This link opens in a new window
This resource has time-series data for more than 200 countries and areas, exchange rates and fund position for member countries as well as information about national accounts, interest rates, inflation, etc. Maintained by the International Monetary Fund.
From the home page, click Series. Then choose International Financial Statistics.
Proquest Statistical Insight
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (Statistical Universe) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides references to statistical publications issued by federal and state governments, commercial publishers, trade and professional organizations, etc. A good place to start if you need statistical information but don't know where to look.
Click HERE to get one of the database's quick tutorials. NOTE: you must logged in on campus or via proxy server to see the guide.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
- WDI Online This link opens in a new windowWDI Online offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data. The extensive collection of development data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (1960 to present, where data available). The data can be downloaded into spreadsheets.
You can type the keywords in the search box on the top; browse by countries or indicators; see indicators by categories listed on the right side; search indicators in the quick search search box.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail enginlib@library.illinois.edu.